XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

[APP]Location Aware myRadar for Tilt 2

1st January 2010, 09:20 PM   |  #1  
Sleuth255's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 39
 
3,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
myRadar is a location aware radar application that makes use of Wunderground and Accuweather US webservices to show real-time, animated Radar Images of your local area regardless of where in the US you might be. This application requires myLocation services to function automatically.

Note: the ROM based HTML viewer control that myRadar uses to pull web service data is broken in cooked WM6.5 builds from mid 23xxx up to 28205 (which tested good when I built for Raphael). The problem renders the viewer unable to "go online". No 21xxx ROMs are affected tmk. This includes all shipping WM6.5 builds & derivatives. Hopefully we'll get to the root problem itnf and it won't require a re-flash to correct

The myLocation service installer can be found here.

The program will install to \Program Files\myRadar. A custom png Icon is also located there for those who may wish to install it in Titanium or Manilla.

Have fun with it!

Changelog:

v1.1
Added gesture capability when loaded in landscape mode. changed pathing logic.
Todo: resize window when device is switched to landscape mode during display.

v1.2
Improved pathing logic. myRadar now looks for myRadar.html in the same folder.
Window will auto-resize when landscape mode is selected. Whether it shows the Map or a background "loading" display is sporadic however. I'm still tracking this bug.
White screen issue isn't fixed yet. I believe I know where the problem lies however.

v1.3
Auto-resize issues corrected. The shown map resizes correctly.
HTC G-Sensor enabled. Simply orient your device for the view you prefer.
Re-boot after installing to activate G-Sensor changes.

v1.4
I removed the Accuweather feed. Using the Wunderground Feed only. Buttons now allow zoom in/out in 120 mile radius increments.

Attached Files
File Type: cab myRadarInstallerv1.4.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (92.2 KB, 243 views)
Last edited by Sleuth255; 6th July 2010 at 10:06 PM. Reason: v1.4
1st January 2010, 09:51 PM   |  #2  
ai6908's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Land of Lincoln
Thanks Meter: 266
 
3,605 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
I love radar, thanks, will test this baby out!
2nd January 2010, 02:12 PM   |  #3  
aruppenthal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Parkersburg
Thanks Meter: 6
 
3,677 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Awesome Sleuth... Now we need to get showacos titanium weather to work with it lol.
2nd January 2010, 04:10 PM   |  #4  
Sleuth255's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 39
 
3,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Already have Radar working. I'll be working on his mortscript for the weather panels itnf. I took a cursory glance a few weeks ago and it's no big deal. I'm hoping to see a lat/long->zipcode myLocation plugin itnf from irus. That will make coding changes a breeze.
3rd January 2010, 02:36 AM   |  #5  
teorouge's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Trento
Thanks Meter: 202
 
2,166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Please don't keep it US and WVGA only as your mylocation "awareness" keeps getting better! At least, the non-radar part (radar's US only, isn't it?)!
3rd January 2010, 05:11 AM   |  #6  
Sleuth255's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 39
 
3,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
lol, guess I deserved that.

If you can give me some web URLs that return international radar images, I'd be happy to work custom HTML scripts into the application and let everybody choose which ones to use.

myRadar is really a customized browser that displays a page from myRadar.html. That HTML file contains the coded wunderground/accuweather info. I can link to any site that can return an animated gif when you give it a lat/long.
3rd January 2010, 09:27 AM   |  #7  
pietropizzi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 37
 
212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
as an Example Vienna/Austria:
the animatet GIF here
the radar Site here
It's listed as International Site beta but maybe it's usable.
3rd January 2010, 02:56 PM   |  #8  
Sleuth255's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 39
 
3,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
hmmm... nice site! Let me play with it a bit.
4th January 2010, 10:15 PM   |  #9  
Sleuth255's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 39
 
3,543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
thread moved to Rhodium Themes, Applications and Software since it is mostly relevant to this device.
5th January 2010, 12:59 AM   |  #10  
p51d007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Mo
Thanks Meter: 166
 
1,428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Sweet!
I always love new radar apps! Nice find!

Installed, my location is working properly.
When I click on the radar app, I get a banner in the toolbar with the name, but
a blank white screen where the radar app should be?
Last edited by p51d007; 5th January 2010 at 01:15 AM. Reason: not working

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes