Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,547 Members 45,634 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REQ] Flashing Cooked ROMs from SD Card

Tip us?
 
vichet007
Old
(Last edited by vichet007; 6th January 2010 at 01:20 AM.) Reason: Typo
#1  
vichet007's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default [REQ] Flashing Cooked ROMs from SD Card

HSPL is released by bepe here but there is limitation of flashing ROM from SD Card if the cooked ROM image includes SPL.

Now Question and Request:

I am wondering if SPL can be removed from cooked ROM image. If yes, I would suggest to ALL CHEFS to remove SPL from the ROM image, so that everyone can flash all cooked ROM from SD Card without overwriting HSPL.

Anyone, any idea?
Hit "Thanks" if you like my post.
 
harky
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Singapore
gd.. so it wont create confuse
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
 
band27
Old
(Last edited by band27; 5th January 2010 at 05:07 AM.)
#3  
band27's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1,371
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Guys, when I was clarifying in bepe's thread regarding this, I think it was only a NO, NO, with having stocked Roms in the SD card as Stocked Roms would contain the SPL package.

Cooked Roms don't have this thus SD flashing should be fine...
Can I have a chef please confirm this so that this confusion can be put to rest.
 
vichet007
Old
#4  
vichet007's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by band27 View Post
Guys, when I was clarifying in bepe's threading regarding this, I think it was only a NO, NO, with having stocked Roms in the SD card as Stocked Roms would contain the SPL package.

Cooked Roms don't have this thus SD flashing should be fine...
Can I have a chef please confirm this so that this confusion can be put to rest.
You may be right.

Yeah, it would be great to have some chef confirming this so that we feel safe when flashing cooked ROM from SD card.
Hit "Thanks" if you like my post.
 
band27
Old
(Last edited by band27; 5th January 2010 at 12:39 PM.)
#5  
band27's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1,371
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Ok, I have confirmation from Xannytech, SPL's are included in chef's Rom so at this stage in the development......

NEVER FLASH YOUR DEVICE USING THE SD CARD UNLESS IT"S SPECIFIED BY THE CHEF THAT ITS SAFE TO DO SO.
.

CHEFS should mentioned on their First page as they usually do, the Best way to Flash their Rom.

Perhaps in the future Roms maybe SD Flash Friendly, but at this stage they are NOT. Well some are but not to make matters confusing, just simple use your PC-USB way of flashing.
 
xvx45
Old
#6  
xvx45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 396
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Quote:
Originally Posted by band27 View Post
Ok, I have confirmation from Xannytech, SPL's are included in chef's Rom so at this stage in the development......

NEVER FLASH YOUR DEVICE USING THE SD CARD UNLESS IT"S SPECIFIED BY THE CHEF THAT ITS SAFE TO DO SO.
.

CHEFS should mentioned on their First page as they usually do, the Best way to Flash their Rom.

Perhaps in the future Roms maybe SD Flash Friendly, but at this stage they are NOT. Well some are but not to make matters confusing, just simple use your PC-USB way of flashing.
I don't really understand why to include SPL.nb to custom ROM... I never see this in other phone model. I'll take a look to a part of actual ROM but I really don't understand. I think to have ONLY OS.nb and some time a RADIO.nb is sufficient (and less dangerous) [SPL flash can brick the device but not OS].
So I haven't coocked with new style kitchen (old-style coocking ) I'll take a look to this.
HTC Typhoon (2005) > HTC Prophet (2007) > HTC Prophet (12/2007) > HTC Artemis (05/2008) > HTC Diamond White (11/2008) > HTC Leo (11/2009) > HTC Shubert (12/2010)
 
djet
Old
(Last edited by djet; 5th January 2010 at 04:17 PM.) Reason: typo
#7  
djet's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 166
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moscow
Quote:
Originally Posted by xvx45 View Post
I don't really understand why to include SPL.nb to custom ROM... I never see this in other phone model. I'll take a look to a part of actual ROM but I really don't understand. I think to have ONLY OS.nb and some time a RADIO.nb is sufficient (and less dangerous) [SPL flash can brick the device but not OS].
So I haven't coocked with new style kitchen (old-style coocking ) I'll take a look to this.
Same for me, I wonder why one would include SPL.
 
vichet007
Old
#8  
vichet007's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Guys, I had flashed two ROMs (Topix 1.1.2 and SONE 1.1) from SD card without any problem. HSPL was not overwritten.

However, it would be very helpful for chef to mention if their ROM includes SPL in their post.
Hit "Thanks" if you like my post.
 
Darkyy
Old
#9  
Darkyy's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2970
Posts: 2,002
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Winterthur

 
DONATE TO ME
I still don't understand HOW TO FLASH FROM SD-CARD after i applied the HSPL patch?

I read the HSPL thread but i still don't know it. Help appreciated
 
el_rob
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkyy View Post
I still don't understand HOW TO FLASH FROM SD-CARD after i applied the HSPL patch?

I read the HSPL thread but i still don't know it. Help appreciated
From [TUT] How to change from one official ROM to another:

Quote:
6 (normal): Put your Favourite OFFICIAL Rom on the Leo
--a:Right click on your exampleOFFICIALrom.exe and Extract it to a folder
--b:From the extracted file locate RUU_signed.nbh and rename it LEOIMG.nbh
--c:Copy the LEOIMG.nbh file to your MicroSD card
--d: Make sure your phone is charged at least 80% then power it off
--e: Press and hold the VOLUME DOWN then Press POWER button
--f: A menu will appear select (usually the power button) to continue to write the ROM
--g:After 5-10 minutes the phone should tell you the ROM was successfully written and the bar is full. You can now press reset (the small Red button beside the battery, use a pen)
Instead of the official ROM, copy and rename the cooked ROM of your choice...

Cheers!
Rob

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more