Should You Get Wear? Wearer’s Practical Observations

Wear is said to not offer enough for mass adoption, even though its been in … more

SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

SlimRoms’ website has been experiencing technical difficulties for the last month or so, but … more

Your Favorite Wireless Charger?

Wireless charging is becoming more and more common as many OEMs are now starting to include this feature … more

ASUS US Invites Developers at XDA to Special Event

ASUS has built a solid name over the years for their computer components, but in the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Another non-root request.. GenieWidget...

11th January 2010, 12:30 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Back over in the Dream section, someone got an earlier (pre Nexus) verison of the GenieWidget going on the Dream... then someone else posted a shot of a transparent version ...



But no one ever followed up on it. Could some genius and incredibly talented person (puts smoke machine away) cook this up for the Nexus? Replaces the existing one or "Clear News & Weather"???
11th January 2010, 01:03 AM   |  #2  
Casao's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilanad

Back over in the Dream section, someone got an earlier (pre Nexus) verison of the GenieWidget going on the Dream... then someone else posted a shot of a transparent version ...



But no one ever followed up on it. Could some genius and incredibly talented person (puts smoke machine away) cook this up for the Nexus? Replaces the existing one or "Clear News & Weather"???

Replacing the existing one without root is impossible, I'm not sure how much it would take to make a separate APK that coexists, but it's as simple as editing a .png file.

It should be easily doable with Metamorph, if/when it works with the Nexus One/2.1
11th January 2010, 01:11 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 164
 
3,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
Its insanely easy with root access. Doubt anything can be done easily without root access.
11th January 2010, 01:31 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Springytown
Thanks Meter: 4
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
It might work without root. Just open up the .apk (from a system dump somewhere), and edit the .png's to be transparent. Then repack the .apk, and try installing it with Astro. I doubt it will work, being that it's a system app... but hey, give it a shot.

Is the one on your screenshot from a metamorph theme? If it is, link me to it, and if I have any time soon I will see about theming the one for the Nexus (not the Dream port) with the same .png's, and upload it here.
11th January 2010, 01:36 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by david1171

Its insanely easy with root access. Doubt anything can be done easily without root access.

I wasn't sure, was thinking the way Google Maps got replaced by the new version in the market.. but a different name would work, just a second one (we gots a little ram to play with now).
11th January 2010, 01:37 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnegie0107

Is the one on your screenshot from a metamorph theme? If it is, link me to it, and if I have any time soon I will see about theming the one for the Nexus (not the Dream port) with the same .png's, and upload it here.

No idea, the person that posted the screenshot it never responded with people asked for it.
11th January 2010, 03:31 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 164
 
3,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
To get the transparent background, just open up the .apk, go to the drawable-hdpi folder, and make the 3 appwidget_dark_by.9.png transparent. At least I think that is the name of them. To install on /data/app/ it will have to be resigned and I still don't know if it will install to there with you still having the one in system/app/ because you can't rm it without root access.
11th January 2010, 07:48 AM   |  #8  
Carloswithac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pacific Beach
Thanks Meter: 8
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
http://www.mediafire.com/?yzlmjwmktdo
That's the transparent version. (I Pm'd him)

Whenever I try to install it on the N1 it says unable to replace.
11th January 2010, 02:28 PM   |  #9  
Pfeffernuss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wassenaar
Thanks Meter: 882
 
3,295 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carloswithac

Whenever I try to install it on the N1 it says unable to replace.

Deinstalled the non-transparant version, installed this one and it worked perfectly (on a MT3G). Thanks for the link!!
11th January 2010, 05:57 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 164
 
3,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Donate to Me
the one that worked for the mt3g probably will not replace the images on the n1 because for the mt3g the widget background images are in drawable-mdpi, not hdpi. also, the easiest (well if you are comforable with adb) way to install is
Quote:

adb remount
adb push AppName.apk /system/app/AppName.apk


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes