5,597,871 Members 38,406 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SDHC card doesnt work on hero?

Tip us?
 
jtmercutio
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 102
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default SDHC card doesnt work on hero?

bought a 4gb SDHC card... arent these bad boys supposed to work on the hero?? Or, not so much?? lol
 
Kcarpenter
Old
#2  
Kcarpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 3,343
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clinton, TN
What do you mean doesn't work?

You say SDHC But I assume you mean Micro-SD HC
-----------------
-HTC EVO LTE - Stock ATM
Google+: Karl Carpenter
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/kcarpenter5407
Twitter: @KCarpenter528
 
jonnythan
Old
#3  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Oct 2008
SDHC cards won't work because they're too big and won't fit.

You want a MicroSD or Micro SDHC. These work fine with the Hero, up to the 16GB maximum currently available. Supposed to be compatible with the upcoming 32GB cards as well.
 
tkirton
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 2,036
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Katy Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtmercutio View Post
bought a 4gb SDHC card... arent these bad boys supposed to work on the hero?? Or, not so much?? lol
Micro SDHC cards do work...I have a 16GB Class 6 Micro SDHC card in mine and it works perfectly.

If you have a Micro SDHC card, what's not working? Perhaps it's something simple that I (or someone else) can help you with?
 
Nanan00
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 252
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtmercutio View Post
bought a 4gb SDHC card... arent these bad boys supposed to work on the hero?? Or, not so much?? lol
You might need to format the micro-sdhc card.

Menu > Settings > SD card & phone storage > Format SD card



I am using a 16gb micro-sdhc cl6 card just fine, I even partitioned 2gb to ext2/4/swap for the ap2sd functionality.
 
jtmercutio
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 102
Join Date: Apr 2008
sorry about the delayed response. Whenever I plug it into my phone, it says "This card is either blank or using an unsupported filesystem." and gives me the option to format it. then doesnt do anything, let me snap pics, or anything.
 
Kcarpenter
Old
#7  
Kcarpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 3,343
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clinton, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtmercutio View Post
sorry about the delayed response. Whenever I plug it into my phone, it says "This card is either blank or using an unsupported filesystem." and gives me the option to format it. then doesnt do anything, let me snap pics, or anything.
Gotcha...so at least it fits in the phone lol.
You'll need to put it in a card reader, something other than the phone. At this point the phone won't even mount it to format it from Windows.

Once you have it in a card reader, you can format it, make sure you format it as FAT16.

You MIGHT be able to format it in Recovery from the Format SD option. I assume you will be doing this anyways for Apps2sd.
-----------------
-HTC EVO LTE - Stock ATM
Google+: Karl Carpenter
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/kcarpenter5407
Twitter: @KCarpenter528
 
jonnythan
Old
#8  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtmercutio View Post
sorry about the delayed response. Whenever I plug it into my phone, it says "This card is either blank or using an unsupported filesystem." and gives me the option to format it. then doesnt do anything, let me snap pics, or anything.
You need to format it.

If your phone has trouble formatting it, stick it in your computer and format it there.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more