Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Remove built-in apps from ROM

OP sagementor

12th January 2010, 07:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 2
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
A lot of people suggest removing built-in apps by deleting apk files in /system/app in terminal (su) or using root explorer. However I wonder whether it is a clean uninstallation. I know apps create data and cache in /data/data, /data/dalvik-cache if no other locations. Simply deleting apk files does not remove the data and cache, and the entries in packages.xml. There will be error when running fix_permissions.

Can anyone suggest a proper command to fully uninstall built-in apps?
The Following User Says Thank You to sagementor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th January 2010, 07:39 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 2
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagementor

A lot of people suggest removing built-in apps by deleting apk files in /system/app in terminal (su) or using root explorer. However I wonder whether it is a clean uninstallation. I know apps create data and cache in /data/data, /data/dalvik-cache if no other locations. Simply deleting apk files does not remove the data and cache, and the entries in packages.xml. There will be error when running fix_permissions.

Can anyone suggest a proper command to fully uninstall built-in apps?

I finally find the proper way to uninstall the system apps.

Step #1 - Find the package names of the apps (e.g. IM.apk=com.android.im)
In console, type
su
pm list packages -f

Step #2 - Delete the apk files from /system/app
In console, type
su
mount -o remount,rw /system
rm /system/app/IM.apk

Step #3 - Uninstall the package
In console, type
su
pm uninstall com.android.im
The Following User Says Thank You to sagementor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th March 2010, 10:15 AM   |  #3  
marlopainter's Avatar
Senior Member
Milwaukee, WI
Thanks Meter: 23
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
mount -o remount,rw /system

mount -o rw,remount /system

Those 2 ways are found in numerous places
around the internet. Each one of those
does NOT accomplish anything in terminal.

I kept receiving a usage message explaining the syntax....

After searching, trying, searching, trying...
I just decided to try this, and it worked...

mount -o,remount rw /system

Just thought I would share.
I'm running Dwang's latest, if that matters to anyone.
31st January 2011, 04:31 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
This works great. You don't have start fresh-n-clean with your device by reinstallaing original rom, just get rid of the stuff you don't want that your service provider wants you to want.
26th December 2012, 10:44 AM   |  #5  
Waledac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Home
Thanks Meter: 140
 
291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
EDIT
Last edited by Waledac; 10th July 2013 at 07:49 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes