Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,957 Members 38,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP]BGSwitchPPC - Change Today Screen Background Image Automatically

Tip us?

Graymi
Old
(Last edited by Graymi; 20th February 2010 at 01:41 PM.)
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default [APP]BGSwitchPPC - Change Today Screen Background Image Automatically

This is my first ever smartphone app, but it's based on a full-fledged windows app of mine that I've been using for a few years now.

Basically, I like to change my desktop background alot, each time I log on in fact. So I wanted something similar for my phone. Also, I wanted a way of having an appropriately dimensioned image for when the keypad was open/closed as I own an Xperia X1.

So I've created this little app for my X1.

What it does is choose a random image from a preset directory (different directory for portrait/landscape images - to allow for correct dimensions - can be the same dir if you're not fussed) and sticks it in as your Today Screen background image.

Current Features
Random Background Selection
Supports any resolution device
Different Image For Portrait/Landscape mode
Supports Different Directories To Select Portrait/Landscape Iamge From
Preview Backgrounds In The Config Util
Scheduling Support
Timer Support
New Background After Hard Reset Option

Current Wishlist:
Automatic image resizing/scaling etc
New Background After Suspend

Current Known Bugs
Hard Reset update seems buggy - but could just be my phone taking a while to load up! You might get a very scary error, but your phone won't be borked! I promise.

BGSwitchPPC.zip V0.5

Installation notes:
Copy the .exe file to wherever you want it on your WinMo device
Run the exe

Please download it and have a play. Any/All feedbacks, criticism and requests more than welcome. Let me know if you like it too