5,593,458 Members 36,497 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Switching SD Cards

Tip us?
 
vrundmc
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default Switching SD Cards

Hello everyone,

I am new to the hero and just rooted my phone using kitchen. I wanted to get an 8GB card and wanted to know what the process was. I didn't want to mess anything up so how do I change micro sd cards. I did a search but was unable to find the answer.
 
thedudejdog
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 1,965
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kansas City Mo

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you using apps 2 sd?

If yes there is a guide

If no, then copy your data to your pc.. unmount the card(or turn the phone off) .. insert new card, format... then copy stuff back.
Quote:
Originally Posted by decalex View Post
lol good thing ICS is not dependent on you for testing
 
vrundmc
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jan 2010
cool, never used apps 2 sd. Thanks! Will wait to get a new rom after.
 
thedudejdog
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 1,965
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kansas City Mo

 
DONATE TO ME
Just remember its a mounted filesystem, if you just took it out that would be like unhooking your computer's hard drive. Probably going corrupt some data.
Quote:
Originally Posted by decalex View Post
lol good thing ICS is not dependent on you for testing
 
vrundmc
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jan 2010
So just make sure the phone is off before switching cards?
 
lv2bll
Old
(Last edited by lv2bll; 19th January 2010 at 06:31 PM.)
#6  
lv2bll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 279
Join Date: Nov 2009
i just made that mistake last night, burnt up an 8gb card, make sure phone is off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Phone-- T Mobile Galaxy S IV
Recovery--
Rom--

Retired: HTC Hero(phone was tough as nails too)
Epic 4G Touch
Epic 4G
these devs do so much work for the community,
so show your support by donating a lil bit,
to anyone else you aren't owed anything so
don't bitch and moan about what they haven't done.
 
jonnythan
Old
#7  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Oct 2008
You don't need to turn the phone off. Right in SD Card and Storage Settings, there's a button to unmount the SD card. Hit that button, eject the card, then put the new one in and copy all the data back on via USB.
 
posguy99
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 775
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by lv2bll View Post
i just made that mistake last night, burnt up an 8gb card, make sure phone is off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You shouldn't have been able to burn a card doing that. Maybe confuse the filesystem on it. If worse comes to worst, reformat the sdcard.
 
vrundmc
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jan 2010
What items on the SD card are necessary? I did the root and there are two recovery images on there. I haven't done anything else besides rooting the phone.

Sorry dumb question, rooting doesn't change when changing cards right?
 
Esclav0
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2009
Since there is an SDcard discussion. Every time I play music the songs glitch at the beginning of the track and sometimes mid song..but always at the start UNLESS the phone is awake, then it plays fine.

Could it be the class of the card or that the phone wakes up after the end of every track and glitches? I still have the stock 2 gig card and was looking to get a higher class / more capacity to swap if that is the case. if not I'll just stick to my ipod shuffle.. bleh.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more

HTC Sense 6 Ported to the Nexus 5

The Google Nexus 5 is regarded as having everything an Android user needs or wants: timely updates, … more