FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Switching SD Cards

200 posts
Thanks Meter: 17
 
By vrundmc, Senior Member on 19th January 2010, 04:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello everyone,

I am new to the hero and just rooted my phone using kitchen. I wanted to get an 8GB card and wanted to know what the process was. I didn't want to mess anything up so how do I change micro sd cards. I did a search but was unable to find the answer.
 
 
19th January 2010, 04:54 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City Mo
Thanks Meter: 264
 
Donate to Me
More
Are you using apps 2 sd?

If yes there is a guide

If no, then copy your data to your pc.. unmount the card(or turn the phone off) .. insert new card, format... then copy stuff back.
19th January 2010, 05:10 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
cool, never used apps 2 sd. Thanks! Will wait to get a new rom after.
19th January 2010, 05:17 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City Mo
Thanks Meter: 264
 
Donate to Me
More
Just remember its a mounted filesystem, if you just took it out that would be like unhooking your computer's hard drive. Probably going corrupt some data.
19th January 2010, 06:00 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
So just make sure the phone is off before switching cards?
19th January 2010, 06:12 PM |#6  
lv2bll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
i just made that mistake last night, burnt up an 8gb card, make sure phone is off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited by lv2bll; 19th January 2010 at 06:31 PM.
19th January 2010, 06:45 PM |#7  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
You don't need to turn the phone off. Right in SD Card and Storage Settings, there's a button to unmount the SD card. Hit that button, eject the card, then put the new one in and copy all the data back on via USB.
19th January 2010, 06:51 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lv2bll

i just made that mistake last night, burnt up an 8gb card, make sure phone is off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You shouldn't have been able to burn a card doing that. Maybe confuse the filesystem on it. If worse comes to worst, reformat the sdcard.
19th January 2010, 07:05 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
What items on the SD card are necessary? I did the root and there are two recovery images on there. I haven't done anything else besides rooting the phone.

Sorry dumb question, rooting doesn't change when changing cards right?
19th January 2010, 07:07 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Since there is an SDcard discussion. Every time I play music the songs glitch at the beginning of the track and sometimes mid song..but always at the start UNLESS the phone is awake, then it plays fine.

Could it be the class of the card or that the phone wakes up after the end of every track and glitches? I still have the stock 2 gig card and was looking to get a higher class / more capacity to swap if that is the case. if not I'll just stick to my ipod shuffle.. bleh.
19th January 2010, 07:07 PM |#11  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vrundmc

What items on the SD card are necessary? I did the root and there are two recovery images on there. I haven't done anything else besides rooting the phone.

Sorry dumb question, rooting doesn't change when changing cards right?

Nothing on the SD card is strictly necessary. Rooting and applying ROMs does not affect the SD card.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes