Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,073 Members 41,082 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rogers Mandatory Update

Tip us?
 
darvo
Old
#21  
darvo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 209
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sherbrooke, Québec
Well... looks like they will shut down our data until we upgrade. I'm wondering if a cooked ROM will do the tricks.
 
Dazog
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 155
Join Date: Sep 2009
ro.build.display.id=CUPCAKE.eng.u70000.20100114.19 1317
ro.build.version.release=1.5
ro.build.date=Thu Jan 14 19:14:51 CST 2010


Rogers apk's are present.
 
Teletran
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2009
The big questions is whether or not this update will remove root accessibility.

I really would rather not update if that is the case.
 
DaMonk
Old
#24  
DaMonk's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazog View Post
ro.build.display.id=CUPCAKE.eng.u70000.20100114.19 1317
Engineering SPL perhaps ?? due to Rogers rushing this release out
Samsung SGH-I727R
Stock Rogers Jellybean 4.1.2
 
dreckis604
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 114
Join Date: May 2008
how do we upgrade to this rogers version if we are running a custom rom??? i dont wanna screw up my phone?? im running the hofo rom can i just upgrade directly to this?
 
psyminion
Old
#26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default total newb question

Will we lose the ability to flash a new Rom? Ie. does the perfected SPL remove the ability of the recovery?
 
daeshawn
Old
#27  
daeshawn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 864
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMonk View Post
Engineering SPL perhaps ?? due to Rogers rushing this release out
hmmm interesting ..if it is engineering SPL then we might be in luck
Current Device: NEXUS 4 (Current provider FIDO) - NEXUS OR NOTHING. END OF CONVERSATION
 
DaMonk
Old
#28  
DaMonk's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Sep 2009
Hmmm I just got the Rogers Update text message and is was only in French.
Samsung SGH-I727R
Stock Rogers Jellybean 4.1.2
 
Taknarosh
Old
(Last edited by Taknarosh; 23rd January 2010 at 03:50 AM.)
#29  
Taknarosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 320
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by smlt View Post
I just phoned in and asked about the update. The fella didn't seem TOO savvy about it at all - he didn't know what a custom rom was.

He did, however, say that rogers is able to check what version you have through your "IP when you connect", and he wasn't 100% sure about what would happen to custom roms.

Frankly I'd take it with a grain of salt.
Yeah, IPs are given out by the service provider. In this case Rogers. Not the other way around.

It can't be a hardware or hard coded based identification (MAC address, IMEI).
The only way I can think of Rogers knowing if you upgraded or not by the Build Number (not to sure how).

I suppose theoretically, if someone can get a dump of the build, hotweiss or redglasses, and patch it into their ROMs and we upgrade to them and Rogers sees the build #. Then our 3G connection should be restored.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMonk View Post
Hmmm I just got the Rogers Update text message and is was only in French.
You'll get it in English soon after.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreckis604 View Post
how do we upgrade to this rogers version if we are running a custom rom??? i dont wanna screw up my phone?? im running the hofo rom can i just upgrade directly to this?
If you enjoy installing Custom ROMs you might want to hold of upgrading. There is confusion whether it's shipped with a perfected SPL.
 
kassemalaa
Old
#30  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 81
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal
Default is it possible to root it?

will it be possible to root the phone (eg. 1-click method)?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung Gear Live Stock Firmware Image Pulled, Temp Root

Just yesterday,XDA Recognized Developer and TV ProducerAdamOutlertore apart … more

Draw a Line and Let Your Device Do the Rest with LineitApp

Over the years, since evenbefore Android entered the scene, we have striven to … more

[APK] Chrome Beta 37 Brings First Traces of Material Design

With Android L on the horizon, it’s no surprise that Google’s … more

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more