FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Rogers Mandatory Update

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By j.lai, Junior Member on 23rd January 2010, 02:06 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
23rd January 2010, 03:33 AM |#21  
darvo's Avatar
Senior Member
Sherbrooke, Québec
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Well... looks like they will shut down our data until we upgrade. I'm wondering if a cooked ROM will do the tricks.
 
 
23rd January 2010, 03:35 AM |#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
ro.build.display.id=CUPCAKE.eng.u70000.20100114.19 1317
ro.build.version.release=1.5
ro.build.date=Thu Jan 14 19:14:51 CST 2010


Rogers apk's are present.
23rd January 2010, 03:38 AM |#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
The big questions is whether or not this update will remove root accessibility.

I really would rather not update if that is the case.
23rd January 2010, 03:39 AM |#24  
DaMonk's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazog

ro.build.display.id=CUPCAKE.eng.u70000.20100114.19 1317

Engineering SPL perhaps ?? due to Rogers rushing this release out
23rd January 2010, 03:39 AM |#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
how do we upgrade to this rogers version if we are running a custom rom??? i dont wanna screw up my phone?? im running the hofo rom can i just upgrade directly to this?
23rd January 2010, 03:42 AM |#26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
total newb question
Will we lose the ability to flash a new Rom? Ie. does the perfected SPL remove the ability of the recovery?
23rd January 2010, 03:42 AM |#27  
daeshawn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMonk

Engineering SPL perhaps ?? due to Rogers rushing this release out

hmmm interesting ..if it is engineering SPL then we might be in luck
23rd January 2010, 03:46 AM |#28  
DaMonk's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hmmm I just got the Rogers Update text message and is was only in French.
23rd January 2010, 03:46 AM |#29  
Taknarosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smlt

I just phoned in and asked about the update. The fella didn't seem TOO savvy about it at all - he didn't know what a custom rom was.

He did, however, say that rogers is able to check what version you have through your "IP when you connect", and he wasn't 100% sure about what would happen to custom roms.

Frankly I'd take it with a grain of salt.

Yeah, IPs are given out by the service provider. In this case Rogers. Not the other way around.

It can't be a hardware or hard coded based identification (MAC address, IMEI).
The only way I can think of Rogers knowing if you upgraded or not by the Build Number (not to sure how).

I suppose theoretically, if someone can get a dump of the build, hotweiss or redglasses, and patch it into their ROMs and we upgrade to them and Rogers sees the build #. Then our 3G connection should be restored.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaMonk

Hmmm I just got the Rogers Update text message and is was only in French.

You'll get it in English soon after.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreckis604

how do we upgrade to this rogers version if we are running a custom rom??? i dont wanna screw up my phone?? im running the hofo rom can i just upgrade directly to this?

If you enjoy installing Custom ROMs you might want to hold of upgrading. There is confusion whether it's shipped with a perfected SPL.
Last edited by Taknarosh; 23rd January 2010 at 03:50 AM.
23rd January 2010, 03:50 AM |#30  
Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
is it possible to root it?
will it be possible to root the phone (eg. 1-click method)?
23rd January 2010, 03:50 AM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I just wanted to post a link to a thread on another forum where a user mentioned the following:
"I just called Rogers and told them what if I didn't want to update or I was running a custom rom. and they said if my internet is turned off just give them a call and they will turn it back on. "

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes