Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to configure Android's *internal* taskkiller

OP androcheck

30th January 2010, 11:50 AM   |  #101  
HomerSp's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 240
 
448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmszabo

hmmm.. a newbies question (with an not-rooted Hero); is there any chance of making this great idea applicable for not rooted Hero's as well.. or is it one of those it-is-just-not-possible thingies?

I'm guessing it's not possible as you need to make changes to a system file.
30th January 2010, 01:43 PM   |  #102  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
I used this settings:

echo "1536,3072,4096,21000,23000,25000" > /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/minfree

But after a while (2 days) i noticed that at least 1 program andFTP was giving me a FC on start.

Trying different settings now.
30th January 2010, 04:30 PM   |  #103  
Tikerz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 341
 
1,865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
Those who have disabled Compcache, do you still show a swap file when you type:

Code:
# free
?

I commented out all the lines for Compcache and rebooted, but I'm still showing I have a swap file of 48976KB. I remember before I enabled on Compcache it always showed 0KB in that row.
30th January 2010, 04:32 PM   |  #104  
Tikerz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 341
 
1,865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by an0therus3r

I used this settings:

echo "1536,3072,4096,21000,23000,25000" > /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/minfree

But after a while (2 days) i noticed that at least 1 program andFTP was giving me a FC on start.

Trying different settings now.

Are you using this with Compcache enabled or disabled?

Edit: What I'm finding is with Compcache enabled the swap file is not being used because the internal task killer doesn't allow the memory to dip below the threshold to actually use the compcache swap file. Other than claiming that space back by disabling compcache, I'm curious to know if it would be beneficial to configure the internal task killer thresholds or compcache (swappiness setting) to actually use the compcache swap on occasion?
Last edited by Tikerz; 30th January 2010 at 04:52 PM.
30th January 2010, 05:28 PM   |  #105  
androcheck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool73

Hi everyone,

This seems to work quite well for me too, so I've created a very simple app to help testing, it's in the market place called 'MinFreeManager' or you can search for my nic 'oldskool73' to find it also.
...

Hi oldskool73!

Thanks for the work!

Unfortunately I also cannot find it in the market. Is it possible that you declared the app using SDK level 1.6 or higher?
If so, would it be possible to redeploy it using sdk 1.5? Otherwise it will not be found by users of 1.5 ROMs in the market.
30th January 2010, 05:35 PM   |  #106  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
had no trouble finding in app store, using kagudroid 1.1.4, on telus in canada
The Following User Says Thank You to fwers For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2010, 05:54 PM   |  #107  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Don't want to hijack this thread, so anyone having trouble finding MinFreeManager in the store or wanting to give feedback etc should hop over to my blog post about it where you can find the APK for download and leave comments....

(sorry, just joined to can't leave external links yet...)
www dustypixels com/blog/2010/01/30/android-app-minfreemanager/

Yeah, it is 1.6+ I'm afraid, it was just created on a whim in one night and I started building it for 2.1 because that's what I'm on, didn't give it much thought. I later tried stepping down the SDK's but it wouldn't build on 1.5, not sure why yet. As you can see on the pic on my blog post, it was 6.30am by then so I just put it up as is. Sorry about that for anyone on 1.5, will take another look when I get a chance.
The Following User Says Thank You to oldskool73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2010, 06:00 PM   |  #108  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Need an app similar to the overclocking widgets for this.
30th January 2010, 07:04 PM   |  #109  
chocmatic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
699 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljmeli

Modaco Kernal: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=623308

Thanks! I added a custom file to that directory. However it doesn't seem to load my settings after reboot.
Last edited by chocmatic; 30th January 2010 at 09:25 PM.
30th January 2010, 07:37 PM   |  #110  
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 9
 
261 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool73

Don't want to hijack this thread, so anyone having trouble finding MinFreeManager in the store or wanting to give feedback etc should hop over to my blog post about it where you can find the APK for download and leave comments....

(sorry, just joined to can't leave external links yet...)
www dustypixels com/blog/2010/01/30/android-app-minfreemanager/

Yeah, it is 1.6+ I'm afraid, it was just created on a whim in one night and I started building it for 2.1 because that's what I'm on, didn't give it much thought. I later tried stepping down the SDK's but it wouldn't build on 1.5, not sure why yet. As you can see on the pic on my blog post, it was 6.30am by then so I just put it up as is. Sorry about that for anyone on 1.5, will take another look when I get a chance.

Just wanna say great work and it sucks it doesnt work for 1.5 right now but I was thinking if you could add a default option to your app where it inserts the default values 1536,2048,4096,5120,5632,6144 back to the minfree.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
guide, how to
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes