Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

"No Location information contained in this image."

OP elenaran

2nd February 2010, 05:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
I had previously posted this on the Cyanogen bug tracker, but apparently I'm the only one with the issue. I'll paste my description of the problem from there:

What steps will reproduce the problem?
1.Open Google Maps and ensure the phone has a solid GPS lock
2.Press the Camera button to go to the Camera viewer
3.Take a picture
4.View the picture just taken
5.Press Menu and select "Show on Maps"

What do you see?
"No Location information contained in this image."
What did you expect to see?
The location of my photo shown in Google Maps.

Please include the following info from FASTBOOT mode

MODEL?
DREA100 PVT 32B
HBOOT?
HBOOT-0.95.0000
RADIO?
RADIO-2.22.19.26I

Which version of CyanogenMod?
4.2.14.1
Did you wipe before flashing?
Yes (tried on multiple occasions)
Have you tried running fix_permissions?
Yes
Have you tried rebooting?
Yes
Apps2sd / partition type/size?
Yes. ext3/500MB
What size/class sD card?
16GB kingston


I've tried starting maps first, starting camera first then switching to maps
and back and still no location. Could it be that there is some permissions issue with my phone (akin to the occasional permissions issue people sometimes have with wpa_supplicant.conf)?

Any ideas at all? I have no problems with the GPS or the camera individually, but would be nice to be able to use them together...
2nd February 2010, 05:31 AM   |  #2  
Ace42's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 1,187
 
9,301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
If its googgles or your doing the geotag thing, your location might be unavilable by the GPS.
2nd February 2010, 05:38 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
No, read above, I open Maps first and ensure that I've got a solid GPS lock, only then do I go to Camera and take a picture. I've even tried going back and forth between Camera & Maps. No dice.

I'm not even using Google Goggles.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes