Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,799 Members 37,731 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Haret.exe Android Install and Boot from Windows Mobile

Tip us?

umbilicalbungee
Old
(Last edited by umbilicalbungee; 19th March 2010 at 06:34 PM.) Reason: no longer relevant
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Default Haret.exe Android Install and Boot from Windows Mobile

*Update: These instructions now seem to be outdated. I will started an updated thread here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=648045
------------
(sorry I tried to post some live links, but the forum won't allow them cause I'm a new user, so this may not be as helpful as I hoped...)

I just spent some hours wading through the forums to find complete instructions for installing the newer android builds using the WM haret.exe linux booter (rather than flashing the entire phone and loosing WM) on my touch Vouge.

I am a bit of a newb, but since I did not find complete instructions, and had to figure some things out using trial and error I thought I would post what I did figure out here in hopes of helping others.

First ignore the install instructions here. sourceforge.net/apps/trac/androidhtc/wiki/HowToInstall . They are old and need to be updated.
  • Erase all previous android files from your sd card
  • Go here: sourceforge.net/projects/androidhtc/files/
  • haretinstall.zip
  • open the zip and place the andboot folder and all its contents on the / directory of your SD card
  • then download eclair252_androidinstall.zip
  • unzip eclair252_androidinstall.zip to get androidinstall.tar
  • copy androidinstall.tar to your sdcard /andboot folder
    (unnecessarily steps deleted - see below)
  • Then on your phone's file explorer run haret.exe from /andboot folder on you sd card
  • click run and immediately hold the volume switch up as linux boots
  • the boot menu appears. choose install