Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

[APP] NubDial - Smart Dialer for Android

6th February 2010, 05:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
1,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Hi all,

This project started out as my basic mod of SpellDial (by Lawrence Greenfield, thanks for making it open-source) initially, but I've since made quite a number of changes to it.

It is now able to search by both name and number, and you can always use the "#" key to denote a space. Most of the other changes I made are under the hood, but I've attached a few screenshots so you know what you're getting.



Lastly, there are a couple of bugs, among them I believe it only works properly with Nexus One. I've yet to finish up all the mdpi images, and I've also not updated the code for SDK3/4 and below (Cupcake, Donut).

Download: Search "NubDial" on the Android Market.
Source: http://code.google.com/p/nubdial/

Request/Help Needed:
I hope that this will become a community project (but I doubt I'll be able to do much since sch's getting really bz), and would appreciate if someone could come up with a nicer design that still fits the Android look . If you have, please post your mock-up or send them to me , actual 9-patch/images will be awesome.

Change Log:
1.82:
Added patch by seidler2547 to support accented characters.
Added patch by qingcai to speed up performance (I changed the delay slightly).
Should not show up on Donut/Cupcake Markets anymore.

1.81:
Fixed another FC bug. Thanks to xiutian for running the test version and providing me with logs !

1.8:
Fixed a FC bug when searching for some contacts.

1.7:
Added pref to auto-hide the dialpad on fling action .
Also, fling up/down on the dialpad to show/hide it.

1.6:
QuickContacts picture

1.51:
Fixed hyphen bug again.

1.5:
Added "Add to contacts" to Menu options
Highlighting now works across dashes (Please report)
Able to set as default Dial app now (Tested with SMS widget)
Enabled fast scroll for the contacts list (similar to default contacts, you've the fat tab to hold and drag down)

1.4:
Fixes a regression bug with name matching
*Should* fix hyphen bug

1.3:
Added preference to match any number sequence, not just from the start

1.2:
Bug fixes

1.1/1.0:
I forgot :P

To Do:
Add menus to go Contacts/Logs/Favourites
Add 2-sec pause/etc.
Implement features to Donut/Cupcake (Low-priority)

Known Bugs:
Long pressing on menu for the soft keyboard messes up the layout. Any ideas?
Last edited by Wysie; 19th March 2010 at 01:21 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Wysie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2010, 06:02 AM   |  #2  
jabbawalkee's Avatar
Senior Member
Chevy Chase, MD
Thanks Meter: 175
 
2,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Looks awesome!! Where's the download link? Thanks for your work
6th February 2010, 06:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
1,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
You're fast. I normally post once when there's a lot of stuff already before I edit it to add more :P. Link's up .
6th February 2010, 06:13 AM   |  #4  
jabbawalkee's Avatar
Senior Member
Chevy Chase, MD
Thanks Meter: 175
 
2,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wysie

You're fast. I normally post once when there's a lot of stuff already before I edit it to add more :P. Link's up .

Haha I actually JUST happened to be checking the forums (which I don't check so often). Looking good and I just tested it out on the Market. Smooth so far, but after a call ends it unfortunately does not go back to the app, but instead it goes to the stock Dialer. I know that's probably difficult to intertwine and you're aware, but just thought I'd post about it!
6th February 2010, 06:19 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
a good start
Wysie,

I've been following your development of the contacts apk and now this t9 dialer is adds function not currently available on stock dialer. A good start.

Is there any way to merge this dialer into the stock nexus one phone app?

Jonathan
6th February 2010, 07:40 AM   |  #6  
AC!D's Avatar
Member
Flag Erlangen
Thanks Meter: 0
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
^^ yes this would be cool
6th February 2010, 07:56 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag KunShan, JiangSu, PRC
Thanks Meter: 25
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Nice idea. I would like to see this tool rolled into your Wycontacts Eclair apk.

Some quick feedback - I am getting FC when searching for a number/contact that either begins with 2 (ABC) or 6 (MNO). This is repeatable and happens every time. I have rebooted and still get FC whenever the 2 or 6 are entered first. Searching with the other keys works as expected. Can I send you any log files that might help in remedying this? My sig has the ROM and kernel details for reference.
6th February 2010, 09:07 AM   |  #8  
stian230's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Penguin land,way up north.
Thanks Meter: 1,185
 
1,218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
Thank-you
works just fine. It wod be cool the app open by dobbel tap on tracbal
6th February 2010, 10:03 AM   |  #9  
MrADeveci's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 127.0.1.1
Thanks Meter: 3
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Great work .... but can you do the following?

1) Change the icon to represent the standard Dialler Icon?
2) Have the option within the dialler to goto the other tabs, or better still implement this into the standard dialler?

Thanks for your work !
6th February 2010, 04:57 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
1,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Hi guys, thanks for the support and comments.

Integrating into the system Contacts app is definitely possible, but I'm afraid I lack the time to do that. Moreover it's not high on my priority list.

I made the icon, so nope, not gonna change it :P. Sorry.

Check out my to do for what's coming next, as well as currently known bugs (would be good if someone can propose a fix).

That's all. Updated a new version to Market which fixes some minor bugs.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes