Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HD2 In Car Cradle

OP gwinn

8th February 2010, 03:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Does anyone know what magnet positioning the HTC Car Cradle uses to activate the Navipanel?

I have a Brodit incar cradle but I have spoken to HTC about getting the Navipanel to launch automaticaly and they say that it can't be done as the HTC cradle has magnets in it which cause the Phone to launch Navipanel when it is proximity with the magnetic field and also running on mains power
20th February 2010, 11:58 PM   |  #2  
shthpnz's Avatar
Member
Flag Madurodam
Thanks Meter: 0
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
I believe the activation of Navipanel has nothing to do with magnetism. It is the connection with the mains that triggers the app.

Why do I think so? Because I ordered the 'Motorola mini usb to micro usb adapter'. When I connected this adapter to the 12 V car charger of my old HD, the navi-app on my HD2 came on, the screen tilted 90 degrees and the speakerphone switched on. So I got rid of that Motorola adapter in the car .
Other adapters don't have this behavior.

So believe the feature has to do with the wiring in the connector.

Regards,
21st February 2010, 08:56 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shthpnz

I believe the activation of Navipanel has nothing to do with magnetism. It is the connection with the mains that triggers the app.

Why do I think so? Because I ordered the 'Motorola mini usb to micro usb adapter'. When I connected this adapter to the 12 V car charger of my old HD, the navi-app on my HD2 came on, the screen tilted 90 degrees and the speakerphone switched on. So I got rid of that Motorola adapter in the car .
Other adapters don't have this behavior.

So believe the feature has to do with the wiring in the connector.

Regards,

Same to me, but why did you get rid of the adapter??

You can easily turn off the landscape feature from your HD2!!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes