FORUMS

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more

Android’s Consistency and The User Experience

This is a site of power users, and it is fair to say that most of us are more … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Speech to Text Tips & Tricks

9th February 2010, 07:54 PM |#1  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
Donate to Me
More
So for the past few weeks I've been using the speech to text, speaking slowly and enunciating every word as much as I can so that it gets it perfectly. But it always messes up. Hmm.

Well, the past few days I've started speaking faster, and I've noticed that it comes out with better accuracy. Even if I speak sometimes really fast, it still gets it perfectly. Anyone else have similar results?

What about some other tips and tricks for using the speech to text?

(One is of course swipe the keyboard left to right to bring up the voice input.)

Also, you can say "period" and "exclamation mark". What else is there?

And how do you do capital letters?
 
 
9th February 2010, 08:20 PM |#2  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 287
 
Donate to Me
More
It must be caching your previous STT (speech to text) files, so that could explain why it seems to get better.
9th February 2010, 11:15 PM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
another n00b question

this feature requires data services right? from what i've heard your voice is sent to google's servers for processing, is that correct?
9th February 2010, 11:22 PM |#4  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by britoso

It must be caching your previous STT (speech to text) files, so that could explain why it seems to get better.

Nope, I just said buzz.google.com for the first time and it got it perfectly
10th February 2010, 01:33 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by creepinshadow

another n00b question

this feature requires data services right? from what i've heard your voice is sent to google's servers for processing, is that correct?

Yep. In my case, I never use 3g. I use the service when connected to wifi
10th February 2010, 04:15 AM |#6  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 287
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul22000

Nope

Nope what?
10th February 2010, 06:08 AM |#7  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by britoso

Nope what?

No it's not caching and just repeating what I said previously, because it's getting things perfectly that I've never said before.
10th February 2010, 04:13 PM |#8  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 287
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul22000

No it's not caching and just repeating what I said previously, because it's getting things perfectly that I've never said before.

If its caching, its for things you've spoken before....not for things you speak for the first time. Thats what caching means. It could also be part of the intelligence code on Google's side.
10th February 2010, 04:15 PM |#9  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 150
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by britoso

If its caching, its for things you've spoken before....not for things you speak for the first time. Thats what caching means. It could also be part of the intelligence code on Google's side.

That was my point, that it's NOT caching. I know what caching is. Re-read the last few replies; your confusion on the "nope" mixed you up badly.
10th February 2010, 05:01 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Does anyone know whether Google's voice recognition software does in fact cache things, i.e. you can "train" it into understanding you better over time? I'm asking this because my accent's not exactly standard American, so I haven't made much use of the feature (it does get many of the things I say admirably, though).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes