Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Speech to Text Tips & Tricks

OP Paul22000

9th February 2010, 08:54 PM   |  #1  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
3,476 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
So for the past few weeks I've been using the speech to text, speaking slowly and enunciating every word as much as I can so that it gets it perfectly. But it always messes up. Hmm.

Well, the past few days I've started speaking faster, and I've noticed that it comes out with better accuracy. Even if I speak sometimes really fast, it still gets it perfectly. Anyone else have similar results?

What about some other tips and tricks for using the speech to text?

(One is of course swipe the keyboard left to right to bring up the voice input.)

Also, you can say "period" and "exclamation mark". What else is there?

And how do you do capital letters?
9th February 2010, 09:20 PM   |  #2  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 286
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
It must be caching your previous STT (speech to text) files, so that could explain why it seems to get better.
10th February 2010, 12:15 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
another n00b question

this feature requires data services right? from what i've heard your voice is sent to google's servers for processing, is that correct?
10th February 2010, 12:22 AM   |  #4  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
3,476 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by britoso

It must be caching your previous STT (speech to text) files, so that could explain why it seems to get better.

Nope, I just said buzz.google.com for the first time and it got it perfectly
10th February 2010, 02:33 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 0
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by creepinshadow

another n00b question

this feature requires data services right? from what i've heard your voice is sent to google's servers for processing, is that correct?

Yep. In my case, I never use 3g. I use the service when connected to wifi
10th February 2010, 05:15 AM   |  #6  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 286
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul22000

Nope

Nope what?
10th February 2010, 07:08 AM   |  #7  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
3,476 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by britoso

Nope what?

No it's not caching and just repeating what I said previously, because it's getting things perfectly that I've never said before.
10th February 2010, 05:13 PM   |  #8  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 286
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul22000

No it's not caching and just repeating what I said previously, because it's getting things perfectly that I've never said before.

If its caching, its for things you've spoken before....not for things you speak for the first time. Thats what caching means. It could also be part of the intelligence code on Google's side.
10th February 2010, 05:15 PM   |  #9  
Paul22000's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
3,476 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by britoso

If its caching, its for things you've spoken before....not for things you speak for the first time. Thats what caching means. It could also be part of the intelligence code on Google's side.

That was my point, that it's NOT caching. I know what caching is. Re-read the last few replies; your confusion on the "nope" mixed you up badly.
10th February 2010, 06:01 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
698 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Does anyone know whether Google's voice recognition software does in fact cache things, i.e. you can "train" it into understanding you better over time? I'm asking this because my accent's not exactly standard American, so I haven't made much use of the feature (it does get many of the things I say admirably, though).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes