Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Do you run android from NAND?
Yes 314 54.61%
No 261 45.39%
Voters: 575. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Closed

[Android] KaiserDroid eclair 2.1 WIFI, GPS NAND/HaRET also for Vogue, Polaris Beta1.1

OP slm4996

18th February 2010, 02:58 AM   |  #1  
slm4996's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
First off this would not be possible without the work of many devs in many places. Some of the builds that have really helped get this done:

The base build I started with:
[Android] Eclair 2.1 by mssmison

Builds/Devs that helped me get this far:
polymod 2.1 alpha 4 by polyrhythmic that is itself is based on openeclair 1.1.5
dzo, wesgarner, ctso, many more who have contributed to openeclair

Please try both of these and My build and post your results, I want to know what works and what doesn't. It also will help to know what works better on whose build.

Here it is folks Android running from NAND on your kaiser/tilt!

What works:
WIFI - you no longer need a calibration file from Windows Mobile.
GPS
Phone
Sleep
Battery - See here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=126

What doesn't:
Bluetooth? I have random results still
Camera
Youtube
Jbed - read thread for working install and instructions

I am in no way liable for whatever may happen to you or your phone!
This will erase/replace windows mobile.

How to get it:

Step one:
If you do not have the latest nbh get dzo's from here:
http://it029000.massey.ac.nz/vogue/files/?C=M;O=D
or vilord's
http://sourceforge.net/projects/androidhtc/files/
and flash it to your phone.

Step two:
Perform a hard reset on the phone, then remove the battery.

Step three:
Download my package and place the androidinstall.tar in the andboot folder on the root of your sd card.
Old link for reference only -Version 1.0
Old link for reference only -Version 1.1 Update Patch
Pre-Patched Version 1.1
Place your sd card in your phone put the battery back in and power it on.
Watch the screen and once it tells you to press and hold the D-Pad center button (do it fast!).
Choose the install option and answer "Yes" when it asks to clear your data.

Step four:
Choose quit and wait for the big green android!
If you get a second google account setup screen after entering your info once just hit the home button or reboot.

*notes*
Starting wifi during the initial setup works but the setup app FC's and goes back to the start wifi screen. The wifi actually does start but you cannot choose a network until you complete setup.

You must have a sd card to boot (not with vilord's kernel)

LCD density is set to 160 as I believe with a 320x480 nbh yields the best usability and market selection.

I the screen flips the wrong way instead of going back to portrait mode open "spare parts" and uncheck "launcher rotation"
(you can also go to Settings "Sound and Display" and uncheck Orientation")

(Works on polaris and vogue as well)

To report, view, and track bugs with KaiserDroid just go to http://bugs.homecncfun.com . You can either Signup for an Account (preferred) or Login Anonymously

If you like my work consider donating to my Gadget Fund:
DONATE
Last edited by slm4996; 26th February 2010 at 06:36 PM. Reason: Version 1.1
18th February 2010, 03:06 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Typo in your link, looks like it's missing the "h" at the beginning (thanks to your sig for the clue haha). I'm downloading it now, going to try it out and report back with the results.
18th February 2010, 03:36 AM   |  #3  
slm4996's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqtrans

Typo in your link, looks like it's missing the "h" at the beginning (thanks to your sig for the clue haha). I'm downloading it now, going to try it out and report back with the results.

Thanks got it fixed, let me know how it goes.
18th February 2010, 03:55 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Just got it setup, some things I've noticed so far:
  • Setup Wizard got stuck in an infinite loop right after setting up my Google Account. It signed me in, started syncing just fine, but the next screen asked me to setup a Google Account again. Signing in led me to another Google Account setup page. A reboot fixes this though.
  • Might want to note that your build.prop has the lcd.density set to 160, most NAND builds I've ran have had it set to 120 or 113 or had a choice.
  • So far it's been a lot faster than other Eclair builds I've tried! Awesome work!
18th February 2010, 04:03 AM   |  #5  
slm4996's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqtrans

Just got it setup, some things I've noticed so far:

  • Setup Wizard got stuck in an infinite loop right after setting up my Google Account. It signed me in, started syncing just fine, but the next screen asked me to setup a Google Account again. Signing in led me to another Google Account setup page. A reboot fixes this though.
  • Might want to note that your build.prop has the lcd.density set to 160, most NAND builds I've ran have had it set to 120 or 113 or had a choice.
  • So far it's been a lot faster than other Eclair builds I've tried! Awesome work!

Thanks for the feedback, I'll add some more notes to the 1st post.
I don't normally have a sim in until after I get it setup and tested so I just skip the initial setup so i must have missed that.
18th February 2010, 04:13 AM   |  #6  
dcarr622's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 142
 
1,613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
How does the speed of this build compare to polyrhythmic's? I tried that and unfortunately it was unbearably slow even off NAND. I guess it's back to WinMo for a little while
18th February 2010, 04:18 AM   |  #7  
slm4996's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chambo622

How does the speed of this build compare to polyrhythmic's? I tried that and unfortunately it was unbearably slow even off NAND. I guess it's back to WinMo for a little while

I may be a little biased but I would use this as my only phone, comparable to openeclair on my mytouch without the swap turned on.
18th February 2010, 04:19 AM   |  #8  
slm4996's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
screen rotation
I the screen flips the wrong way instead of going back to portrait mode do this:

open "spare parts" uncheck "launcher rotation"
18th February 2010, 04:23 AM   |  #9  
loserskater's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag East Stroudsburg, PA
Thanks Meter: 3,318
 
1,851 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slm4996

I the screen flips the wrong way instead of going back to portrait mode do this:

open "spare parts" uncheck "launcher rotation"

Or Settings/Sound & Display/ Uncheck Orientation
18th February 2010, 04:27 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag austin TX
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
you didn't say weither tha camra works or doesn't

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, gps, kaiser, vogue, wifi
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes