Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,386 Members 51,442 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Ubuntu 9.04 port [Updated 27JUN10] New build by Rhobuntu team.

Tip us?
 
JesusFreak316
Old
(Last edited by JesusFreak316; 6th November 2010 at 08:12 PM.) Reason: Updated again!
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 503
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Ubuntu 9.04 port [Updated 27JUN10] New build by Rhobuntu team.

New build (27/6/10): http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=640785 Thanks Rhobuntu team! Check the linked thread for download and changelog. Fyi, for it to boot, assuming you have a touch pro or fuze, RAPH100 or RAPH110, you must change the mtype is startup.txt to 1910.

Working:
  • Touchscreen and Calibration
  • Keyboard
  • Screen rotation (press end call)
  • Sound (at least partly; phh got alsa working)
  • Simple 3G setup: first start Menu -> Network -> Configure 3G, after that run Menu -> Network -> Activate 3G and wait about 40 secs for the Dialog to appear
  • Sleep and power button (Works on Rhodium though)
  • Charging (Might require to be plugged in in Winmo before booting ubuntu.)
  • Wifi should be painless now.
  • Cpu throttling for better battery life
  • Framebuffer (Slowly though)

Not working:
  • Bluetooth
  • Video acceleration
  • Capacitive buttons
  • Radio
  • GPRS
  • Brightness control (Works on Rhodium but might work if you use shift+4 and shift+5 and disable auto-backlight in WM)
  • Gsensor
  • Proximity sensor
  • Stylus removal detection

I'm working on it when I get the chance. I'm a college student learning electrical engineering so I don't have much time to work on this.
Device history:
Bunch of dumbphones
Samsung SCH-I760
HTC Fuze (Raph 110) O2 Wireless prepaid to avoid paying for data
HTC HD2 Running Americanandroid and YukiXDA WP7
HP Touchpad 32GB (Got it for $150 )

My projects:
Rockbox VGA port
 
driftoz
Old
#2  
driftoz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide
and how do we install it? im downloading the file now does it run with haret same as android off a SD card or does it need to be flashed?
HTC Touch Pro Raph100
★ Energy 'Leo' (23529/21892) ★ |Feb.16| Sense 2.5 !
XDANDROID [android.eclair.2.0.1][feb.08]
 
JesusFreak316
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 503
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by driftoz View Post
and how do we install it? im downloading the file now does it run with haret same as android off a SD card or does it need to be flashed?
Same as Android. Just put the folder and ubuntu.img in root and change your mtype.
Device history:
Bunch of dumbphones
Samsung SCH-I760
HTC Fuze (Raph 110) O2 Wireless prepaid to avoid paying for data
HTC HD2 Running Americanandroid and YukiXDA WP7
HP Touchpad 32GB (Got it for $150 )

My projects:
Rockbox VGA port
 
driftoz
Old
#4  
driftoz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide
ok thanks i seen the img file and was hoping i didnt have to flash cbf re flashing again and having to re-setup my old OS
HTC Touch Pro Raph100
★ Energy 'Leo' (23529/21892) ★ |Feb.16| Sense 2.5 !
XDANDROID [android.eclair.2.0.1][feb.08]
 
driftoz
Old
#5  
driftoz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide
ive just extracted the folder and img file to the root of my mem card and changed the mtype to the same number as it says for raph 1910 when using android i booted haret and all i got is a white screen it hasnt changed for last 5 mins.
HTC Touch Pro Raph100
★ Energy 'Leo' (23529/21892) ★ |Feb.16| Sense 2.5 !
XDANDROID [android.eclair.2.0.1][feb.08]
 
JesusFreak316
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 503
Join Date: Aug 2009
Tell me how it goes. Specifically, try using the command line. My / key won't register, whether with hardware or software keyboard, which makes console commands all but impossible.
Device history:
Bunch of dumbphones
Samsung SCH-I760
HTC Fuze (Raph 110) O2 Wireless prepaid to avoid paying for data
HTC HD2 Running Americanandroid and YukiXDA WP7
HP Touchpad 32GB (Got it for $150 )

My projects:
Rockbox VGA port
 
Wil Badger
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 842
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Salt Lake
I think mine is currently building a data image. Not sure it's compiling something in Haret.
 
driftoz
Old
(Last edited by driftoz; 20th February 2010 at 03:36 AM.)
#8  
driftoz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide
sorry i just found out when i saved the start up txt in the zip file it didnt save i just changed the mtype on the mem card and haret booted, but its stoped at msmfb_start_dma 6321.563 ms after vsync request but all the numbers on the screen keep changing been like this for 5 mins or so.

now the screen has gone black and have a little blue square on the top left of the screen, is it still loading or dont know ?
HTC Touch Pro Raph100
★ Energy 'Leo' (23529/21892) ★ |Feb.16| Sense 2.5 !
XDANDROID [android.eclair.2.0.1][feb.08]
 
Wil Badger
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 842
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Salt Lake
Mine is doing the samething. I opened the keyboard and closed it again and the text came back still doing the same thing.
 
driftoz
Old
#10  
driftoz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wil Badger View Post
Mine is doing the samething. I opened the keyboard and closed it again and the text came back still doing the same thing.
yep same here center lights now flashing and liths r on but screen still isnt doing anything
HTC Touch Pro Raph100
★ Energy 'Leo' (23529/21892) ★ |Feb.16| Sense 2.5 !
XDANDROID [android.eclair.2.0.1][feb.08]

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes