View Poll Results: Please choose the most accurate description of yourself:
I have a VGA Windows phone but don't use Swype 14 43.75%
I have a VGA Windows phone but use another/newer version of Swype 3 9.38%
I have a VGA Windows phone and use Swype 11 as my main keyboard 2 6.25%
I DON'T have a VGA Windows phone but I use this (or another) version of Swype 7 21.88%
None of the above I'm just looking 6 18.75%
Voters: 32. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[VGA/Portrait] [UPDATED! Jan 25/11] Swype Keyboard Chopped 'n Screwed

OP waterproof125

23rd February 2010, 02:18 AM   |  #1  
waterproof125's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
For whoever is interested,

I made my own skin for the Swype keyboard that looks like the HTC android keyboard but its only VGA portrait. I have no clue what will happen on a non-VGA phone. In landscape it is the original Swype skin because I don't need the landscape version.

BRAND NEW DESIGN! NOW WITH 2x THE AWESOME!
After a short experience with xdandroid I'm back in Winmo. Here's what's new, I'm calling it Swype 11 due to the new year:

To-Do:
- Finish Editing page
- minor tweaks/more colour

Jan 25th UPDATE

- More colour
- Finished Calculator page and almost finished Edit page
- the ^ on the symbols page was incorrect. I was actually a period (who knew?) so I fixed that

Jan 23/11 UPDATE

- I've decided to go a more colourful route, to help differentiate the buttons
- the two number/symbol pages are now done
- minor adjustments here and there

Jan 22/11 UPDATE:

- Using the 2.0 version because of previous preference and smaller size.
- I've totally revamped the previous version
- Both letters and symbols have increased in size, the ' is still pretty hard to see though
- Only small case, shift, and caps are done so far.
- I've improved my technique so I should crank out there rest relatively soon.
- I'm not gonna lie, it looks pretty damn good comparing the two

29-03 UPDATE:

My progress with the updated 2.0 version has been posted. The editing and calculator pages of the skin are not yet finished so my original skin is used for those.

25-03 UPDATE:

I've now started to update the keyboard and skin to the newer version (3.9.10.10.5032). I got the keyboard from PPCGeeks (cheers to jj62mtp, the second post). I know there have been issues but apparently this one does not cause any and it has worked flawlessly on my Telus HTC Diamond running MightyROM6. This skin isn't even close to being finished but again I'll only be doing the VGA Portrait version. Here's a taste of what I've got so far.

Files Below -
  • Swype 2.0 (complete original 'android' skin): Android-Like Swype Keyboard.cab
  • Jan 25/11 UPDATE: Swype 11 Colour.cab

IF YOU DOWNLOAD THIS, PLEASE FILL OUT THE POLL! THANKS

Enjoy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Swype 2.0 original.jpg
Views:	973
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	301080   Click image for larger version

Name:	SwypeRef_PT_Standard_wBlue_VGA.png
Views:	333
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	497331   Click image for larger version

Name:	SwypeRef_PT_Blue_VGA.png
Views:	276
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	498160  
Attached Files
File Type: cab Android-Like Swype Keyboard.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.70 MB, 1082 views)
File Type: cab Swype 11 Colour.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.99 MB, 372 views)
Last edited by waterproof125; 26th January 2011 at 04:39 AM. Reason: update
23rd February 2010, 07:55 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Hey, can you tell me briefly how to skin for Swype? Maybe I can complete this skin/ make other ones.
23rd February 2010, 02:23 PM   |  #3  
waterproof125's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanide911

Hey, can you tell me briefly how to skin for Swype? Maybe I can complete this skin/ make other ones.

Hey yea sure, all you do is open the .cab with a cab editor (I've used WinCe Cab Manager, but to download it's only a 30 day trial). In the files you then extract all the .bmp files, and then just edit them to this skin (lol I've been using paint so far). After they are skinned, replace the old skin .bmps in the cab and save it.

thanks for the help

ps. if you or anyone knows how to play with the programming for the swype keyboard could you let me know? I wanna change some of the 'hold' symbols, possibly add smileys and play with the button sizes.
Last edited by waterproof125; 23rd February 2010 at 02:25 PM.
24th February 2010, 12:51 AM   |  #4  
jamb's Avatar
Member
Flag Islamabad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Mate does this thing works on I-mate Jam with Cotulla wm6.5 rom??
24th February 2010, 02:40 AM   |  #5  
waterproof125's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamb

Mate does this thing works on I-mate Jam with Cotulla wm6.5 rom??

Um... well my diamond whose resolution is 480x640 is running on mightyrom wm 6.5 and your resolution is 240x320 so if this program can adjust the skin for the size the ratio is still the same... the buttons might be a little small for you. but honestly you'll have to try it to find out. worst comes to worst i dont think it will crash your phone so no harm there (but dont quote me)
1st March 2010, 06:56 PM   |  #6  
pixine786's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ||\|[)|@
Thanks Meter: 35
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
what about an WVGA res ? (480x800)

Love your work
1st March 2010, 07:24 PM   |  #7  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 331
 
2,701 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
WQVGA???
1st March 2010, 08:55 PM   |  #8  
waterproof125's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixine786

what about an WVGA res ? (480x800)

Love your work

thanks I appreciate that um so I don't have a wvga phone around so im not quite sure what I need to do for all other resolutions. can you run the skin I provided? is it too small?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfarrah

WQVGA???

ditto for you... im not quite sure what i need to do to make it wqvga. if you guys know i can sure try to skin it
25th March 2010, 06:50 AM   |  #9  
waterproof125's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Skin updated to 3.9 version of keyboard (check 1st post)
29th March 2010, 11:28 PM   |  #10  
waterproof125's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
205 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Updated work posted

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, swype, vga
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes