Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,540 Members 38,299 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Please choose the most accurate description of yourself:
I have a VGA Windows phone but don't use Swype 14 43.75%
I have a VGA Windows phone but use another/newer version of Swype 3 9.38%
I have a VGA Windows phone and use Swype 11 as my main keyboard 2 6.25%
I DON'T have a VGA Windows phone but I use this (or another) version of Swype 7 21.88%
None of the above I'm just looking 6 18.75%
Voters: 32. You may not vote on this poll

[VGA/Portrait] [UPDATED! Jan 25/11] Swype Keyboard Chopped 'n Screwed

Tip us?
 
waterproof125
Old
(Last edited by waterproof125; 26th January 2011 at 04:39 AM.) Reason: update
#1  
waterproof125's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 205
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default [VGA/Portrait] [UPDATED! Jan 25/11] Swype Keyboard Chopped 'n Screwed

For whoever is interested,

I made my own skin for the Swype keyboard that looks like the HTC android keyboard but its only VGA portrait. I have no clue what will happen on a non-VGA phone. In landscape it is the original Swype skin because I don't need the landscape version.

BRAND NEW DESIGN! NOW WITH 2x THE AWESOME!
After a short experience with xdandroid I'm back in Winmo. Here's what's new, I'm calling it Swype 11 due to the new year:

To-Do:
- Finish Editing page
- minor tweaks/more colour

Jan 25th UPDATE

- More colour
- Finished Calculator page and almost finished Edit page
- the ^ on the symbols page was incorrect. I was actually a period (who knew?) so I fixed that

Jan 23/11 UPDATE

- I've decided to go a more colourful route, to help differentiate the buttons
- the two number/symbol pages are now done
- minor adjustments here and there

Jan 22/11 UPDATE:

- Using the 2.0 version because of previous preference and smaller size.
- I've totally revamped the previous version
- Both letters and symbols have increased in size, the ' is still pretty hard to see though
- Only small case, shift, and caps are done so far.
- I've improved my technique so I should crank out there rest relatively soon.
- I'm not gonna lie, it looks pretty damn good comparing the two

29-03 UPDATE:

My progress with the updated 2.0 version has been posted. The editing and calculator pages of the skin are not yet finished so my original skin is used for those.

25-03 UPDATE:

I've now started to update the keyboard and skin to the newer version (3.9.10.10.5032). I got the keyboard from PPCGeeks (cheers to jj62mtp, the second post). I know there have been issues but apparently this one does not cause any and it has worked flawlessly on my Telus HTC Diamond running MightyROM6. This skin isn't even close to being finished but again I'll only be doing the VGA Portrait version. Here's a taste of what I've got so far.

Files Below -
  • Swype 2.0 (complete original 'android' skin): Android-Like Swype Keyboard.cab
  • Jan 25/11 UPDATE: Swype 11 Colour.cab

IF YOU DOWNLOAD THIS, PLEASE FILL OUT THE POLL! THANKS

Enjoy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Swype 2.0 original.jpg
Views:	972
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	301080   Click image for larger version

Name:	SwypeRef_PT_Standard_wBlue_VGA.png
Views:	332
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	497331   Click image for larger version

Name:	SwypeRef_PT_Blue_VGA.png
Views:	275
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	498160  
Attached Files
File Type: cab Android-Like Swype Keyboard.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.70 MB, 1076 views)
File Type: cab Swype 11 Colour.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.99 MB, 371 views)
HTC Touch DIAM500 (Telus) + Original Windows 6.1 ROM

 
cyanide911
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 818
Join Date: Jun 2009
Hey, can you tell me briefly how to skin for Swype? Maybe I can complete this skin/ make other ones.
 
waterproof125
Old
(Last edited by waterproof125; 23rd February 2010 at 02:25 PM.)
#3  
waterproof125's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 205
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanide911 View Post
Hey, can you tell me briefly how to skin for Swype? Maybe I can complete this skin/ make other ones.
Hey yea sure, all you do is open the .cab with a cab editor (I've used WinCe Cab Manager, but to download it's only a 30 day trial). In the files you then extract all the .bmp files, and then just edit them to this skin (lol I've been using paint so far). After they are skinned, replace the old skin .bmps in the cab and save it.

thanks for the help

ps. if you or anyone knows how to play with the programming for the swype keyboard could you let me know? I wanna change some of the 'hold' symbols, possibly add smileys and play with the button sizes.
 
jamb
Old
#4  
jamb's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 63
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Islamabad
Mate does this thing works on I-mate Jam with Cotulla wm6.5 rom??
 
waterproof125
Old
#5  
waterproof125's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 205
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamb View Post
Mate does this thing works on I-mate Jam with Cotulla wm6.5 rom??
Um... well my diamond whose resolution is 480x640 is running on mightyrom wm 6.5 and your resolution is 240x320 so if this program can adjust the skin for the size the ratio is still the same... the buttons might be a little small for you. but honestly you'll have to try it to find out. worst comes to worst i dont think it will crash your phone so no harm there (but dont quote me)
 
pixine786
Old
#6  
pixine786's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 382
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: ||\|[)|@
what about an WVGA res ? (480x800)

Love your work
 
rfarrah
Old
#7  
rfarrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 327
Posts: 2,688
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OKC
WQVGA???
 
waterproof125
Old
#8  
waterproof125's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 205
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixine786 View Post
what about an WVGA res ? (480x800)

Love your work
thanks I appreciate that um so I don't have a wvga phone around so im not quite sure what I need to do for all other resolutions. can you run the skin I provided? is it too small?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfarrah View Post
WQVGA???
ditto for you... im not quite sure what i need to do to make it wqvga. if you guys know i can sure try to skin it
 
waterproof125
Old
#9  
waterproof125's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 205
Join Date: Nov 2008
Skin updated to 3.9 version of keyboard (check 1st post)
 
waterproof125
Old
#10  
waterproof125's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 205
Join Date: Nov 2008
Updated work posted

Tags
android, swype, vga
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes