Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How bad are the Radio (3G) issues I hear about the N1?

OP silverkiller

28th February 2010, 04:29 AM   |  #1  
silverkiller's Avatar
OP Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 0
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
On the fence between the N1/HD2/Droid/Waiting for this new Dell tablet thing.

The only thing thats really keeping me from pulling the trigger on a N1 is that I keep hearing that the radio sucks for 3g, and now also wifi.

Now I like to assume these people are just n00bs and don't know how to get the best out of their phones like us xda geeks do.

So how true are they? Any regrets here on the boards?

P.S I'm in London,UK.
28th February 2010, 04:41 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Tempe Arizona!
Thanks Meter: 32
 
744 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
ive yet to have a problem, and i think its more of a US based problem than a UK one and I am in the US... get the N1 and dont look back, its a solid phone... the droid is a step down in my opinion
28th February 2010, 04:43 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 6
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
just got mine
I was thinking the same thing you where, I just went for it and order one. I have no issues with the 3G. The N1 is fantastic, and it is very fast. I think the early issues people have complained about must have been from an earlier batch of phone in the beginning stages on the release.


PS: in NYC
Last edited by mikesm1234; 28th February 2010 at 04:48 AM.
28th February 2010, 04:51 AM   |  #4  
JoshHart's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 0
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Had no problems with 3G or wifi
28th February 2010, 04:54 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 89
 
3,509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
I honestly think the 3G issues is exacerbated here in the U.S. on T-mobile's network where they don't have "deep" coverage. In larger cities, such as Chicago (where I've tested my theory), no amount of covering the lower back portion of the phone caused me to drop off 3G. I went from 4 bars to 3, and that's about it. Here in Toledo, Ohio, T-mobile hasn't saturated the area with 3G, and covering the phone while indoors drops me to Edge. Outdoors I'm still fine.
28th February 2010, 05:06 AM   |  #6  
ericc191's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Davis, CA
Thanks Meter: 119
 
1,990 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
0 WiFi problems here. On ATT, so I can't comment on 3G, but reception has been strong for voice.
28th February 2010, 05:12 AM   |  #7  
galaxys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas & Cosmos
Thanks Meter: 631
 
8,279 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Had no problems with 3G or wifi for almost 2 months with this speedster!
28th February 2010, 05:36 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 89
 
3,509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxys

Had no problems with 3G or wifi for almost 2 months with this speedster!

Las Vegas = 3G saturation

Damn you big city dwellers...
28th February 2010, 05:46 AM   |  #9  
galaxys's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vegas & Cosmos
Thanks Meter: 631
 
8,279 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uansari1

Las Vegas = 3G saturation
Damn you big city dwellers...

Just a lucky roll af the dice
28th February 2010, 06:27 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Tempe Arizona!
Thanks Meter: 32
 
744 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uansari1

I honestly think the 3G issues is exacerbated here in the U.S. on T-mobile's network where they don't have "deep" coverage. In larger cities, such as Chicago (where I've tested my theory), no amount of covering the lower back portion of the phone caused me to drop off 3G. I went from 4 bars to 3, and that's about it. Here in Toledo, Ohio, T-mobile hasn't saturated the area with 3G, and covering the phone while indoors drops me to Edge. Outdoors I'm still fine.

haha, toledo... i grew up in sylvania and all i can say is i am glad i am out of that **** hole of a city... and yes the 3g there is weaksauce... but that is a "verizon town"... i literally think 80% of the pop has verizon in toledo

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes