FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Xperia x2 gps

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By ivan_pp, Junior Member on 1st March 2010, 03:44 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi Guys!

Does anybody have experience with X2 GPS.
I can't make it work with TomTom or iGO.
It works fine with Google and GPS Test, but TomTom and iGO say GPS not found.

Any ideas?
 
 
1st March 2010, 03:49 PM |#2  
jogrr1989's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
What TOMTOM version do you use? In 7.9 there's an option called Other NMEA Receiver, when you select that it should detect your GPS automatically, and how long do you wait after selecting the device? Have you downloaded quickfix update?..sometimes it takes a while before it gets a signal..you can check if tomtom recognizes your GPS if the yellow/black ball is spinning at your GPS config
1st March 2010, 04:55 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It seems that the Copilot live works properly. I have the same issue with TomTom and Igo. I tried to change SYS on Igo, forcing COM4 port but seems disconnected.
If you select in TomTom the other NMEA GPS and set up the UART Serial Port, seems that the GPS work but it disconect each second...

Any Ideas??
1st March 2010, 05:36 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_pp

Hi Guys!

Does anybody have experience with X2 GPS.
I can't make it work with TomTom or iGO.
It works fine with Google and GPS Test, but TomTom and iGO say GPS not found.

Any ideas?

GPSGate solves the problem!
2nd March 2010, 02:34 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I installed the GpsGate 2.6 but once I start the phone, it seems that is working, but sometimes the apps crash and you need to restart the X2. I tried too in Safe Mode, but the result was negative.......... Some Idea??
2nd March 2010, 02:50 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazsikar

GPSGate solves the problem!

I couldn't get it to work yesterday.
Today I installed the latest update from SonyEricsson, i then installed GpsGate 2.6.
After this it worked.
2nd March 2010, 03:33 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have the update applied too, but seems the app crash..... I have the battery level down now, I will try to restart the service once I finish the charge. Until the crash, the GpsGate and Nvigation software (TomTom and IGO) works properly.
Thanks....
2nd March 2010, 05:33 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jogrr1989

What TOMTOM version do you use? In 7.9 there's an option called Other NMEA Receiver, when you select that it should detect your GPS automatically, and how long do you wait after selecting the device? Have you downloaded quickfix update?..sometimes it takes a while before it gets a signal..you can check if tomtom recognizes your GPS if the yellow/black ball is spinning at your GPS config

Thx for the advise!
Yes, the version is 7.9 and I have tried both built-in GPS and Other NMEA Receiver (with proper COM port) - no success!
I have waited long enough - I tried with Google and it was OK, plus I know how long it may take - I was using same version of TomTon on HTC Diamond, so...

Thanks anyway.
2nd March 2010, 05:41 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elpro

I installed the GpsGate 2.6 but once I start the phone, it seems that is working, but sometimes the apps crash and you need to restart the X2. I tried too in Safe Mode, but the result was negative.......... Some Idea??

I tried the GPSGate and it seems that this might be the solution BUT... You need to run it manualy (not to run after soft reset) - in this case it seems that it works. This applies to version 2.5 since this is what I have.

Will continue testing.
3rd March 2010, 03:44 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Wink igo8 on x2
to make igo8 work you have to edit sys.txt file


[device]
type="alias_xperia"

[gps]
source="virtserial"

good luck
3rd March 2010, 04:11 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_pp

I tried the GPSGate and it seems that this might be the solution BUT... You need to run it manualy (not to run after soft reset) - in this case it seems that it works. This applies to version 2.5 since this is what I have.

Will continue testing.

in settings -> advanced there is an option "Start GPSGate after soft reset"

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes