Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

anybody has the APK for Gesture Search?

OP yozpalang

4th March 2010, 01:40 AM   |  #1  
yozpalang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
491 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
it says here for android 2.0 and up but we might be able to get to work on 1.6 .
4th March 2010, 03:04 AM   |  #2  
mttmllns's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I'd like to see this, too. Curious if it'll run on CyanogenMod.
4th March 2010, 04:22 AM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 193
 
3,848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
here you go,
got it off the market just this min.
Attached Files
File Type: apk com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.apk - [Click for QR Code] (594.2 KB, 1585 views)
4th March 2010, 05:10 AM   |  #4  
yozpalang's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
491 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firerat

here you go,
got it off the market just this min.


Thanks 10char
4th March 2010, 05:28 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firerat

here you go,
got it off the market just this min.

Thank you very much.
4th March 2010, 09:43 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
is there a way to port it back for g1?
4th March 2010, 09:48 AM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 193
 
3,848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralpho

is there a way to port it back for g1?

its working on my g1
but I have eclair rom ( CaNNoN Complete 1.2 )

I'm guessing you have a cupcake, donut

make yourself a sig
click/tap edit my sig , in my sig
4th March 2010, 09:53 AM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 193
 
3,848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
been using since this morning, its not bad.

I often get frustrated scrolling through the app draw, but now with a gestures icon on home screen I can just open it up and start 'writing'

it is a little slow between letters, but I imagine it will get better as it is developed and it is still faster than messing about in the app draw.

gets a thumbs up from me
10th March 2010, 01:42 PM   |  #9  
mttmllns's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Welp, I was so eager to get this working on CyanogenMod I dove in and spent the last few hours trying to figure it out :
  1. Installed VirtualBox and Ubuntu
  2. Installed the SDK, apktool, and other various required bits
  3. Decoded the APK
  4. Edited the AndroidManifest.xml to change minSdkVersion from 5 to 4
  5. Rebuilt the APK
  6. Set up a keystore and resigned the APK with my key (this part took awhile and I still don't really know what other options I have if any...)
  7. INSTALLED THE APP SUCCESSFULLY

Bad news though. Although the app opens and starts giving you the opening wizard, it seems the service that "Queries data sources" in the background freaks out and requires a force close. The logcat:

Code:
I/ActivityManager(  100): Starting activity: Intent { act=android.intent.action.MAIN cat=[android.intent.category.LAUNCHER] flg=0x10100000 cmp=com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch/.GShell }
I/ActivityManager(  100): Start proc com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch for activity com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch/.GShell: pid=12360 uid=10097 gids={3003}
W/InputManagerService(  100): Window already focused, ignoring focus gain of: com.android.internal.view.IInputMethodClient$Stub$Proxy@43f2f048
I/ActivityThread(12360): Publishing provider com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.history: com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.data.QueryHistoryProvider
I/ActivityThread(12360): Publishing provider com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.index: com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.data.IndexProvider
W/dalvikvm(12360): VFY: unable to resolve static field 26 (CONTENT_URI) in Landroid/provider/ContactsContract$Data;
D/dalvikvm(12360): VFY: replacing opcode 0x62 at 0x0025
D/dalvikvm(12360): Making a copy of Lcom/google/android/apps/gesturesearch/search/SearchItemView;.setIcon code (440 bytes)
D/dalvikvm(12360): GC freed 1792 objects / 184456 bytes in 175ms
I/ActivityManager(  100): Displayed activity com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch/.GShell: 2116 ms (total 2116 ms)
W/dalvikvm(12360): VFY: unable to resolve static field 25 (CONTENT_URI) in Landroid/provider/ContactsContract$Contacts;
D/dalvikvm(12360): VFY: replacing opcode 0x62 at 0x0003
D/dalvikvm(12360): Making a copy of Lcom/google/android/apps/gesturesearch/search/DataMultiContacts;.queryPhoneNumbers code (128 bytes)
W/dalvikvm(12360): VFY: unable to resolve static field 25 (CONTENT_URI) in Landroid/provider/ContactsContract$Contacts;
D/dalvikvm(12360): VFY: replacing opcode 0x62 at 0x0016
D/dalvikvm(12360): Making a copy of Lcom/google/android/apps/gesturesearch/search/DataMultiContacts;.prepare code (140 bytes)
W/dalvikvm(12360): threadid=15: thread exiting with uncaught exception (group=0x4001e180)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360): Uncaught handler: thread AsyncTask #1 exiting due to uncaught exception
E/AndroidRuntime(12360): java.lang.RuntimeException: An error occured while executing doInBackground()
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at android.os.AsyncTask$3.done(AsyncTask.java:200)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerSetException(FutureTask.java:273)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.setException(FutureTask.java:124)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(FutureTask.java:307)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:137)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.runWorker(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1068)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:561)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:1096)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360): Caused by: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: android.provider.ContactsContract$Contacts
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.search.DataMultiContacts.prepare(DataMultiContacts.java:68)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.search.IndexingTask.doInBackground(IndexingTask.java:126)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.search.IndexingTask.doInBackground(IndexingTask.java:23)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at android.os.AsyncTask$2.call(AsyncTask.java:185)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(FutureTask.java:305)
E/AndroidRuntime(12360):        ... 4 more
I/Process (  100): Sending signal. PID: 12360 SIG: 3
I/dalvikvm(12360): threadid=7: reacting to signal 3
I/dalvikvm(12360): Wrote stack trace to '/data/anr/traces.txt'
These logs are a little above my head, though, and beyond my research capabilities at the moment (feeling a little defeated and TIRED ). Do they look like a result of my modification of the app or a framework limitation of CM's 1.6?

I'd appreciate any feedback, even if it's a "NO, STOP TRYING TO MAKE THIS WORK AND JUST SWITCH TO ECLAIR ALREADY" I attached the modified APK if anyone wants to play with it.
Attached Files
File Type: apk gesturesearchfor1.6.apk - [Click for QR Code] (597.0 KB, 93 views)
Last edited by mttmllns; 23rd April 2010 at 01:16 AM.
10th March 2010, 01:58 PM   |  #10  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 336
 
1,467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mttmllns

Do they look like a result of my modification of the app or a framework limitation of CM's 1.6?

Second one.

Code:
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: android.provider.ContactsContract$Contacts
http://developer.android.com/intl/de....Contacts.html

It was added in API level 5 (Android 2.0) and apparently it wasn't ported to CM1.4.x .

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes