FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

custom Hosts file | 3/6/2010 | 14,714 ads, banners, 3rd party Cookies GONE!!

16 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By phiqtion, Junior Member on 6th March 2010, 11:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
What it does..

The Hosts file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. This file is loaded into memory at startup, then Android checks the Hosts file before it queries any DNS servers, which enables it to override addresses in the DNS. This prevents access to the listed sites by redirecting any connection attempts back to the local (your) phone. Another feature of the HOSTS file is its ability to block other apps from displaying ads (not all).

How to install..
unzip..
transfer hosts file to the tools folder of your sdk installation
open terminal with android connected and adb drivers installed
cd C:\android-sdk-windows\tools
adb remount
adb push hosts /system/etc
exit

..or simply use Root Explorer

You are now protected against 14,714 ads, banners, sites and 3rd party Cookies

works on any 1.5 ROM, not sure if 1.6, 2.0 or 2.1 since i only use cupcake
Attached Files
File Type: zip hosts.zip - [Click for QR Code] (105.6 KB, 1500 views)
Last edited by phiqtion; 7th March 2010 at 12:22 AM. Reason: file upload!
 
 
6th March 2010, 11:15 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag The Colony, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Awesome! I will test it out on 2.1 right now!

EDIT: There's no download link though lol. As soon as there is one, I will test it out on 2.1!
6th March 2010, 11:26 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregalous

Awesome! I will test it out on 2.1 right now!

EDIT: There's no download link though lol. As soon as there is one, I will test it out on 2.1!

sorry for that, file is now uploaded! let us know if it works on 2.1. I'm not sure if 2.1 stores the hosts file in system/etc still.
7th March 2010, 12:05 AM |#4  
derekstory's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cartersville, GA
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Installed on quietcblongs AOSP 1.6 and it installed without a hitch. went to popupcheck.com and it passed all the popup test. So it seems to be working on my end.

edit: Also blocks ads on some of my apps
Last edited by derekstory; 7th March 2010 at 12:07 AM.
7th March 2010, 12:27 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekstory

Installed on quietcblongs AOSP 1.6 and it installed without a hitch. went to popupcheck.com and it passed all the popup test. So it seems to be working on my end.

edit: Also blocks ads on some of my apps

were these test failing before using my custom hosts file?
7th March 2010, 02:45 AM |#6  
athlet1c's Avatar
Senior Member
City Near You
Thanks Meter: 25
 
Donate to Me
More
Not sure wish I had of tested before installed for the popup blocker. I do know some apps still have adds where it appears 1 doesn't
7th March 2010, 02:47 AM |#7  
Member
Flag Easton
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
can i still surf the 18+ sites with this shiz?
7th March 2010, 03:42 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Tip:If you open the hosts file with notepad you can see all of the blocked stites
7th March 2010, 02:18 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by auxny

can i still surf the 18+ sites with this shiz?

Yes you can, it only blocks ads and risky sites. Those sites you mentioned are full of ads, so with this file they will actually load faster.
7th March 2010, 02:26 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Is there anyway to use this to change what DNS is used? I'd like to set it to OpenDNS.
7th March 2010, 03:20 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zswilkinson

Is there anyway to use this to change what DNS is used? I'd like to set it to OpenDNS.

Seconded.
/10 chars.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes