Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,122 Members 40,953 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HD2 adhoc wifi connection - NOT WLAN-Router!

Tip us?
 
ScruffR
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Salzburg
Default HD2 adhoc wifi connection - NOT WLAN-Router!

Hi,

I've searched the forum but always found the wrong direction - how to use the mobile internet connection with a laptop. Answer of choice: "Use the WLAN-Router software on the HD2". That might work for others, but I need the opposite way.

I've got a Lenovo T500 with most recent WLAN drivers and the HD2 (OS 5.2.21869, Manila 2.5.19211619.0, ROM 1.66.407.1 (76641) GER) and I want to use the internet connection of my notebook (at work ;)) with the phone.

So I thought I'd set up an adhoc wifi connection between those two.

But it doesn't work. Both devices see each other but none of them can connect. For the notebook I can set a static IP 192.168.1.xxx for the WLAN card, but how do I set this on the HD2. I've tried setting static IPs for all the network adapters listed under Settings -> Menu -> More -> Connections -> WLAN -> Advanced -> General -> network adapters -> network adapters ... (on my german OS: Einstellungen -> Menü -> Mehr -> Verbindungen -> WAN -> Erweitert -> Netzwerkkarten -> Netzwerkkarten ...). But on the "Advanced" tab next to "General" I get "Status: Connected to network, MAX: ........, IP 0.0.0.0". When I tap the WiFi symbol in the top status bar, it says: "Wi-Fi: not connected ...".

I'm lost! Can anybody help please?
 
Elemental_Fire
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 272
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Hmmmm I would assume that the HD2 Wi Fi App emits an Ad-Hoc Wi Fi connection type....which is like a PC TO PC network connection right? Same happened to me, however in this case my PS3 didn't see my HD2 wifi network...so yes, it may not ever work..unless there's a hack someone develops
 
ScruffR
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Salzburg
Thanks for the reply, but that's odd.
I have no problem connectiong to my WLAN router at home (infrastructure mode). DHCP works perfect on that.
But at work my only way would to ad-hoc connect to my notebook and use its LAN connection from there on.
It seems a bit dumb to offer an ad-hoc mode and then not support it properly - so I still hope for some more feedback.
 
graememk
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2008
So is the Connection to your laptop a wired connection?

If so you can either connect your phone to your laptop via a cable and WMDC, or if you want wireless you can right click on your wired connection and go to the properties, you should be able to share the connection with your wireless card. the PC will handle the DHCP and IP Allocation. but you need to create a Ad-hoc network for your wireless card.
 
the_ape
Old
#5  
the_ape's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 686
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
all you need to do is turn the router on on the hd and connect to it e with windows, you need to set windows to be able to see adhoc networks though, should be in the advanced wifi settings.
Ashleigh

Phones : Note 3 9005 / Galaxy S3 i9300 & i9305 / S3 Mini i8190N / Nokia Lumia 920 / SanDiego / iPad 3G / HP ElitePad 900
OS's : 4.3 / 4.3 / 4.3 / 4.1.2 / Amber / 4.1 / 7.0.4JB / Win 8.1

Galaxy S3 i9300 Blocking Mode icon Remover - Dead Project
Galaxy S3 i9300 Smart Rotate enabler - Dead Project
Note 3 Touchwiz Launcher 5x4


If I've helped in any way, why not click the thanks button, cheers
 
graememk
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_ape View Post
all you need to do is turn the router on on the hd and connect to it e with windows, you need to set windows to be able to see adhoc networks though, should be in the advanced wifi settings.
No he's wanting to use the Laptops LAN connection if I'm reading it right instead of the phones data connection, ie Internet>Laptop>Phone if you turn on the wifi Router the internet connection will be coming from the phone not to the phone
 
kilrah
Old
#7  
kilrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 1,696
Join Date: Sep 2005
On the PC right-click on your LAN connection, choose share, select the WLAN connection as the interface you want to share on. Create an ad-hoc network on the PC, then connect to it with the HD2.
Or use ActiveSync/WMDC via cable or bluetooth.
Samsung Galaxy S5 G900F 16GB, Stock 4.4.2 (NE2), rooted
Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 16GB, Stock 4.4.2 (NC4), rooted
 
the_ape
Old
#8  
the_ape's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 686
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilrah View Post
On the PC right-click on your LAN connection, choose share, select the WLAN connection as the interface you want to share on. Create an ad-hoc network on the PC, then connect to it with the HD2.
Or use ActiveSync/WMDC via cable or bluetooth.
Aaaah Gotya, if that's the case, try Connectify on the laptop to create a WiFi hotspot, and let it deal with the DHCP'd client for you. Works fine for me.
Ashleigh

Phones : Note 3 9005 / Galaxy S3 i9300 & i9305 / S3 Mini i8190N / Nokia Lumia 920 / SanDiego / iPad 3G / HP ElitePad 900
OS's : 4.3 / 4.3 / 4.3 / 4.1.2 / Amber / 4.1 / 7.0.4JB / Win 8.1

Galaxy S3 i9300 Blocking Mode icon Remover - Dead Project
Galaxy S3 i9300 Smart Rotate enabler - Dead Project
Note 3 Touchwiz Launcher 5x4


If I've helped in any way, why not click the thanks button, cheers
 
ScruffR
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 29
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Salzburg
Thanks for all the suggestions so far!
I'll try them out and report back if any of it worked for me.
 
FaZa09
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Olsztyn
Sorry for digging out this thread but I have the same problem (I can connect to ad-hoc with my notebook but I don't have internet on HD2) and any solutions in web didn't help me. Sorry for bad english Please - any suggestions?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...