FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

HD2 adhoc wifi connection - NOT WLAN-Router!

33 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By ScruffR, Member on 7th March 2010, 01:40 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

I've searched the forum but always found the wrong direction - how to use the mobile internet connection with a laptop. Answer of choice: "Use the WLAN-Router software on the HD2". That might work for others, but I need the opposite way.

I've got a Lenovo T500 with most recent WLAN drivers and the HD2 (OS 5.2.21869, Manila 2.5.19211619.0, ROM 1.66.407.1 (76641) GER) and I want to use the internet connection of my notebook (at work ;)) with the phone.

So I thought I'd set up an adhoc wifi connection between those two.

But it doesn't work. Both devices see each other but none of them can connect. For the notebook I can set a static IP 192.168.1.xxx for the WLAN card, but how do I set this on the HD2. I've tried setting static IPs for all the network adapters listed under Settings -> Menu -> More -> Connections -> WLAN -> Advanced -> General -> network adapters -> network adapters ... (on my german OS: Einstellungen -> Menü -> Mehr -> Verbindungen -> WAN -> Erweitert -> Netzwerkkarten -> Netzwerkkarten ...). But on the "Advanced" tab next to "General" I get "Status: Connected to network, MAX: ........, IP 0.0.0.0". When I tap the WiFi symbol in the top status bar, it says: "Wi-Fi: not connected ...".

I'm lost! Can anybody help please?
 
 
7th March 2010, 01:59 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Hmmmm I would assume that the HD2 Wi Fi App emits an Ad-Hoc Wi Fi connection type....which is like a PC TO PC network connection right? Same happened to me, however in this case my PS3 didn't see my HD2 wifi network...so yes, it may not ever work..unless there's a hack someone develops
7th March 2010, 02:05 PM |#3  
OP Member
Flag Salzburg
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Talking
Thanks for the reply, but that's odd.
I have no problem connectiong to my WLAN router at home (infrastructure mode). DHCP works perfect on that.
But at work my only way would to ad-hoc connect to my notebook and use its LAN connection from there on.
It seems a bit dumb to offer an ad-hoc mode and then not support it properly - so I still hope for some more feedback.
7th March 2010, 02:10 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So is the Connection to your laptop a wired connection?

If so you can either connect your phone to your laptop via a cable and WMDC, or if you want wireless you can right click on your wired connection and go to the properties, you should be able to share the connection with your wireless card. the PC will handle the DHCP and IP Allocation. but you need to create a Ad-hoc network for your wireless card.
7th March 2010, 02:11 PM |#5  
the_ape's Avatar
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
all you need to do is turn the router on on the hd and connect to it e with windows, you need to set windows to be able to see adhoc networks though, should be in the advanced wifi settings.
7th March 2010, 02:20 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_ape

all you need to do is turn the router on on the hd and connect to it e with windows, you need to set windows to be able to see adhoc networks though, should be in the advanced wifi settings.

No he's wanting to use the Laptops LAN connection if I'm reading it right instead of the phones data connection, ie Internet>Laptop>Phone if you turn on the wifi Router the internet connection will be coming from the phone not to the phone
7th March 2010, 04:37 PM |#7  
kilrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
On the PC right-click on your LAN connection, choose share, select the WLAN connection as the interface you want to share on. Create an ad-hoc network on the PC, then connect to it with the HD2.
Or use ActiveSync/WMDC via cable or bluetooth.
7th March 2010, 08:39 PM |#8  
the_ape's Avatar
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 243
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilrah

On the PC right-click on your LAN connection, choose share, select the WLAN connection as the interface you want to share on. Create an ad-hoc network on the PC, then connect to it with the HD2.
Or use ActiveSync/WMDC via cable or bluetooth.

Aaaah Gotya, if that's the case, try Connectify on the laptop to create a WiFi hotspot, and let it deal with the DHCP'd client for you. Works fine for me.
8th March 2010, 05:48 PM |#9  
OP Member
Flag Salzburg
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Talking
Thanks for all the suggestions so far!
I'll try them out and report back if any of it worked for me.
22nd April 2010, 04:10 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Olsztyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorry for digging out this thread but I have the same problem (I can connect to ad-hoc with my notebook but I don't have internet on HD2) and any solutions in web didn't help me. Sorry for bad english Please - any suggestions?
22nd April 2010, 06:36 PM |#11  
xeebot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I was having problems with ad-hoc connection as well. The only thing that fixed it was to delete the settings for my other networks and then the ad-hoc started working. I don't know if this will help everyone, but it worked for me.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes