Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Mytouch 3g 3.5mm 32A

OP SuperMiguel

8th March 2010, 06:03 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Can some one help me understand this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/index.php/Full_Update_Guide_-_G1/Dream/Magic32A_Firmware_to_CyanogenMod

CAUTION: Rooting the new MyTouch3G Fender LE or MyTouch 1.2 (phones with a 3.5mm headphone jack on top) requires a different process. Be careful not to mistake flashing instructions for regular 32As which do not take into account this new hardware (these devices appear to be hybrid 32A/32B boards, thus ordinary methods will result in the touchscreen not working). It is possible to get root, but there are no custom ROMs as of February 2010. Two threads at XDA here and here explain the situation further. This is an evolving issue; please be patient with developers.
For standard 32As, 'rooting' usually doesn't rely on any exploit per se, because most 32A Magics are shipped with a fastboot compatible SPL installed. If you see the "3 skateboarding Androids" screen when you boot to fastboot (Volume Down + Power), you should be able to do the following:

I have the 3.5mm 32A but i also see the "3 skateboarding androids.. so can i follow this steps or not?
8th March 2010, 06:17 PM   |  #2  
civicsi89's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag KCMO
Thanks Meter: 4
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel

Can some one help me understand this:



I have the 3.5mm 32A but i also see the "3 skateboarding androids.. so can i follow this steps or not?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=623141
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=622530
These will tell you what you need to do.

Here are a few ports that have been made.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=641429
8th March 2010, 06:17 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 88
 
453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel

Can some one help me understand this:



I have the 3.5mm 32A but i also see the "3 skateboarding androids.. so can i follow this steps or not?

Quote:

CAUTION: Rooting the new MyTouch3G Fender LE or MyTouch 1.2 (phones with a 3.5mm headphone jack on top) requires a different process.

Read what you quoted. On any phone with Android (ANY PHONE), they have the 'skating' droids. Don't think just because that picture is there that the process is the same.
8th March 2010, 06:28 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 1
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
nope you cant
Nope you can't follow that guide as far as I understand what the person is trying to say is that if you have the 32a with 3.5mm on top than you need to use a different method to root evebthough you might see the Android on skateboard as the person described this is a hybrid of 32a and we all noe that 32a spl is the one with fastboot enabled which is the Android on skateboard
8th March 2010, 10:33 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
well by reading those links there isnt a need to root the new mytouch..
9th March 2010, 01:10 PM   |  #6  
Binary100100's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Detroit, Mi
Thanks Meter: 1,123
 
5,455 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel

well by reading those links there isnt a need to root the new mytouch..

I think that you need to search and read more.

I have the MyTouch with 3.5 mm jack and now I'm running a ported version of Stokes 2.1 Eclair rom. Not only that but I also have it themed. There are a few things that aren't working but I certainly prefer having eclair with no bluetooth and video than stock. But that's just me.
9th March 2010, 09:25 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
how well/bad does 2.1 work on the mytouch?
10th March 2010, 02:33 AM   |  #8  
Binary100100's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Detroit, Mi
Thanks Meter: 1,123
 
5,455 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperMiguel

how well/bad does 2.1 work on the mytouch?

As I said, it isn't 100% yet but I'm using it and it has rebooted my phone a couple of times (literally like twice). Bluetooth doesn't work, 3D doesn't work, Launcher2 doesn't work, live wallpapers don't work (some third party from Market does), a2sd doesn't work (but you don't really need it) and swap didn't work for me without adding a script to phoneprioritizer.

Other than all of that Stokes Eclair 2.1 runs beautifully on my MyTouch and I average 13000 or so on BenchmarkPi.
10th March 2010, 02:51 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
mine does it in 17905
Last edited by SuperMiguel; 10th March 2010 at 03:05 AM.
10th March 2010, 03:29 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,150
 
3,537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Cool
ok so can someone please post a link or something on how to root the new mytouch with the 3.5mm 32a with the correct instructions starting from stock?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes