Fix Lollipop Memory Leak – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Unfortunately there was a memory leak in Android 5.0.x Lollipop. Thankfully it was … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Moto G (2014)

After the release of Android 5.1, the CyanogenMod 12.1 madness continues. The Moto G (2014) … more

Would The LG G4 Fare Well With The Snapdragon 808?

The LG G4 has a lot to prove, given that last year’s LG G3 was among the best … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Ubuntu running on HTC Pure

10th March 2010, 05:50 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
A few minutes ago I grabbed the files for Ubuntu and Haret at the Xda-forums under a thread called "Ubuntu on Rhodium- 04/03/10 screen calibration now works!!! Need devs for wifi fix" (The forums would not let me post the link) and extracted them to my sd card to run Ubuntu on my HTC Pure. Also to make this boot correctly you cant use the same boot script for android to boot Ubuntu. You need to modify the Startup.TXT that came with the Ubuntu.zip folder and set the correct mtype for your device. Note it is possible to setup your sd card to boot Android and Ubuntu from the root of the SD card by modifying the boot script which is a six step process.

1. open the boot script named Startup.txt and rename it to Ubuntu.TXT
2. change the mtype so it is correct for your device
2. change the Set Kernel line so it looks like set KERNEL zImageUbuntu
3. Change the Set initrd line so it looks like set initrd initrdUbuntu.gz
4. rename the Zimage file to zImageUbuntu
5. rename the initrd file to initrdUbuntu.gz
6. Open Haret and type in Ubuntu.txt and press run button
7. This should be it and you should be running Ubuntu on your Phone
10th March 2010, 06:13 AM |#2  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 422
 
2,180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Really!
What??? Are you serious!
10th March 2010, 08:22 AM |#3  
smadger's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bedford, UK
Thanks Meter: 292
 
489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
What version?
I know this has limited uses, but still, this sounds amazing!!

So you're saying you have Ubuntu running on your Pure, what about keyboard and stuff? What version of Ubuntu did you use?
10th March 2010, 08:23 AM |#4  
ceo.mtcl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Paul, MN
Thanks Meter: 422
 
2,180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
It works!!!
Wow! It works!

I just did it in the way you said and it works!

But there is no keypad? Cant type or open files...
10th March 2010, 12:58 PM |#5  
madman_cro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 101
 
1,005 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
i will try this today, and i bet there is virtual keyboar4d in ubuntu
10th March 2010, 02:06 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Hello!

Thank you for the info!
I don't understand exactly where can I find the files?

Can someone post a direct link?

Thanks a lot,

Flop!

TOPAZ with HTC WinMo6.5 and Xandroid for TOPAZ
10th March 2010, 02:08 PM |#7  
Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 6
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Here You are: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JZ4HEZE4
10th March 2010, 02:18 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Thank you!!!

I will try this OS soon!
Have a nice day,

Flop!
10th March 2010, 02:43 PM |#9  
Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 6
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
It's working fine on Topaz
10th March 2010, 02:56 PM |#10  
mastawindu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
187 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Can we have screen caps ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc, htc pure, topaz, ubuntu
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes