Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Feature/Mod.] Transparent bars for WM6.1 and WM6.5! [builds >= 20757]

OP Ham3r

16th March 2010, 10:33 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Poland
Thanks Meter: 13
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
Transparent Sotfkeys and Task Bars for WM builds higher than 20757 or equal (6.1, 6.5..)
tested on 20757, 20764, 21014, 21015, 21042, 21502, 28544 and 19588!
  • Method

    I show that on screenshot:


    Althought is not always the same place in code.

    sooo..

    ------------

    Open .data sector (S001) in shell32.exe module, search a same hex code:

    Quote:

    FF 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF

    Selected fragment is a value of taskbar transparency.
    In below screenshot is at the 0x9A0 offset

    ------------

    Similarly for aygshell.dll
    Open .data sector (S001) in aygshell.dll module, search a hex code:

    Quote:

    FF 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF

    Selected fragment is a value of softkeys transparency.
    In below screenshot is at the 0x750 offset.

    ------------

  • Transparency Value

    We can adjust transparency from 0x00 to 0xFF, where 0x00 is a maximum transparency (shell don't show bars),
    0xFF is a no transparency (normal);
    0x80 is a medial level of transparency, when bars looks exactly as those in Cotulla Magican ROMs.


  • Results


WM 6.1:





WM 6.5.5:



That method is mainly for ROMMakers and advanced users.
Requires ROM dump.



This feature is used in my beta ROM called "H3r4":
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=646217


Please don't copy text and screenshot's without my permission.
by Ham3r

Enjoy!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_method.jpg
Views:	644
Size:	21.6 KB
ID:	294709   Click image for larger version

Name:	_screenshots.jpg
Views:	812
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	294710  
Last edited by Ham3r; 23rd May 2010 at 04:50 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ham3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2010, 12:43 AM   |  #2  
thingonaspring's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 220
 
428 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
That's genius, nice work!
17th March 2010, 01:17 AM   |  #3  
cchr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
pretty cool, but i cannot seem to be able to copy shell32.exe from my device, tried to open it from current location, and again i get an access denied message
any instructions?
17th March 2010, 04:29 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
where are the exact location of these 2 files?
17th March 2010, 04:41 AM   |  #5  
cchr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by camper

where are the exact location of these 2 files?

\Windows folder

but as i said, i havent been able to copy or access these files
17th March 2010, 05:16 AM   |  #6  
bilbobrian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag big D
Thanks Meter: 48
 
854 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
it looks like you have to hex edit the modules....can't just pull them out of your windows folder.
17th March 2010, 05:26 AM   |  #7  
cchr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
yeah, i know, but the hex editor wont open the file, thats where i got the access denied..
17th March 2010, 09:00 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Poland
Thanks Meter: 13
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchr

yeah, i know, but the hex editor wont open the file, thats where i got the access denied..

That mod require dumping ROM.. and flash it. Without flashing it's doesn't work.. (shell doesn't start).
17th March 2010, 02:26 PM   |  #9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 105
 
860 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
..so you decided to tell them method, ham3r...
(jak widzisz, panowie nawet nie wiedzą, ze to info dla kucharzy...)

btw, it's not applicable for testing with samWMEmuKitchen v0.2b and dumped emu rom's, interesting, there are 00's there.

upd: do not use vistahidebatterygauge with that mod, it will make glitched pixels around icons on taskbar.
Last edited by pupakota; 17th March 2010 at 09:44 PM.
17th March 2010, 03:13 PM   |  #10  
mwalt2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,498
 
2,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Are the taskbars still transparent when running manila?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes