FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Feature/Mod.] Transparent bars for WM6.1 and WM6.5! [builds >= 20757]

387 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By Ham3r, Senior Member on 16th March 2010, 09:33 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Transparent Sotfkeys and Task Bars for WM builds higher than 20757 or equal (6.1, 6.5..)
tested on 20757, 20764, 21014, 21015, 21042, 21502, 28544 and 19588!
  • Method

    I show that on screenshot:


    Althought is not always the same place in code.

    sooo..

    ------------

    Open .data sector (S001) in shell32.exe module, search a same hex code:

    Quote:

    FF 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF

    Selected fragment is a value of taskbar transparency.
    In below screenshot is at the 0x9A0 offset

    ------------

    Similarly for aygshell.dll
    Open .data sector (S001) in aygshell.dll module, search a hex code:

    Quote:

    FF 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF

    Selected fragment is a value of softkeys transparency.
    In below screenshot is at the 0x750 offset.

    ------------

  • Transparency Value

    We can adjust transparency from 0x00 to 0xFF, where 0x00 is a maximum transparency (shell don't show bars),
    0xFF is a no transparency (normal);
    0x80 is a medial level of transparency, when bars looks exactly as those in Cotulla Magican ROMs.


  • Results


WM 6.1:





WM 6.5.5:



That method is mainly for ROMMakers and advanced users.
Requires ROM dump.



This feature is used in my beta ROM called "H3r4":
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=646217


Please don't copy text and screenshot's without my permission.
by Ham3r

Enjoy!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_method.jpg
Views:	662
Size:	21.6 KB
ID:	294709   Click image for larger version

Name:	_screenshots.jpg
Views:	828
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	294710  
Last edited by Ham3r; 23rd May 2010 at 03:50 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ham3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
16th March 2010, 11:43 PM |#2  
thingonaspring's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 221
 
More
That's genius, nice work!
17th March 2010, 12:17 AM |#3  
cchr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
pretty cool, but i cannot seem to be able to copy shell32.exe from my device, tried to open it from current location, and again i get an access denied message
any instructions?
17th March 2010, 03:29 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
where are the exact location of these 2 files?
17th March 2010, 03:41 AM |#5  
cchr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by camper

where are the exact location of these 2 files?

\Windows folder

but as i said, i havent been able to copy or access these files
17th March 2010, 04:16 AM |#6  
bilbobrian's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag big D
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
it looks like you have to hex edit the modules....can't just pull them out of your windows folder.
17th March 2010, 04:26 AM |#7  
cchr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
yeah, i know, but the hex editor wont open the file, thats where i got the access denied..
17th March 2010, 08:00 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Poland
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchr

yeah, i know, but the hex editor wont open the file, thats where i got the access denied..

That mod require dumping ROM.. and flash it. Without flashing it's doesn't work.. (shell doesn't start).
17th March 2010, 01:26 PM |#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
..so you decided to tell them method, ham3r...
(jak widzisz, panowie nawet nie wiedzą, ze to info dla kucharzy...)

btw, it's not applicable for testing with samWMEmuKitchen v0.2b and dumped emu rom's, interesting, there are 00's there.

upd: do not use vistahidebatterygauge with that mod, it will make glitched pixels around icons on taskbar.
Last edited by pupakota; 17th March 2010 at 08:44 PM.
17th March 2010, 02:13 PM |#10  
mwalt2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,519
 
More
Are the taskbars still transparent when running manila?
17th March 2010, 03:28 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Poland
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwalt2

Are the taskbars still transparent when running manila?

Yes, without chome too

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes