5,599,911 Members 46,037 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

process com.android.vending has stopped unexpectedly

Tip us?
 
HERNANDEZ4LIFE
Old
#1  
HERNANDEZ4LIFE's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 82
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default process com.android.vending has stopped unexpectedly

Im getting this error and force close on one of my Heros when I try installing any of my apps on any of the 2.1 roms. Im coming from Fresh 1.1 and following the same procedure I used on my other Hero on which the market is fully functional. Ive wiped everything over and over and cleared data on anything that looked like it at to do with the market. I also tried fix apk mismatches from recovery. Short of RUU which Id like to avoid if at all possible Ive tried everything else I can think of. In searching I have come across this error code on other android phones, but nothing on the hero and nothing specific to trying to install apps. So has anyone else seen this? And would RUU do anything a full data wipe didnt already?
 
wcgbmd
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 83
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reading instructions has its benefits grasshopper...

Download the latest recovery and throw it onto your SD Card, boot into the old version of recovery and flash the new recovery as a .zip update, reboot into recovery again and then wipe your phone again, then install android 2.1, don't reboot yet, make sure your rom either has it's own custom kernal or download one for 2.1 and flash it, open up adb and clear dalvik cache and boot cache, then reboot your phone and you should load without any problems.
 
HERNANDEZ4LIFE
Old
(Last edited by HERNANDEZ4LIFE; 20th March 2010 at 05:57 PM.)
#3  
HERNANDEZ4LIFE's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 82
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks. But I did that from the get go. Aside from flashing a kernal, but Im running Darchtrev2 on the fully functional Hero that I mentioned and thats got a custum kernal built into the rom. So thats what I started with on the second one using the exact same process without success. Does wiping from adb do more than wiping from recovery? Thats one other thing I didnt do after the initial install.... But do understand you correctly that you have seen this specific error before?
 
HERNANDEZ4LIFE
Old
#4  
HERNANDEZ4LIFE's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 82
Join Date: Aug 2009
Just bumpin the tread in hopes of finding a solution. I dont even mind gettin flamed for asking a stupid question if I could get linked up with a fix! lol I see its getting views, just no ideas I guess... It sucks cuz everything else works fine except the market. I get the list of my downloads, when I tap on one to install I the download button instead of the install button, so Ill tap on it and I get get the progress bar saying its downloading. When it gets to 100% I get the error and force close... Anyone?
 
wtphoto
Old
(Last edited by wtphoto; 21st March 2010 at 01:22 PM.)
#5  
wtphoto's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 1,035
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southfield, MI
I would try wiping again then flashing fresh 1.1 see if that boots and everything works ok then I would redownload the recovery and flash that still running fresh then reboot make sure everyhting is cool, then redownload whatever 2.1 rom you want and wipe and flash.

doing this serves 2 purposes

1. make sure that somewhere along the line none of the files corupted
2. if you still have the same problem then it will let you know where the problem is coming from.

just process of elimination

if you still have problems after that then I would say RUU, yes it is different than just wiping from recovery as it restores a completely stock image and gets rid of everything else. all a data wipe really does is get rid of user data.

just my opinion.

honestley thinnking about it I RUU'd my phone just for giggles then I re-rooted and then flashed DCv1 right from stock and I found that a lot of the little bugs that people where seeing I wasnt so it may not be a bad idea to ruu anyways.
 
HERNANDEZ4LIFE
Old
#6  
HERNANDEZ4LIFE's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 82
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks for the reply and for giving me something different to try. I hadnt thought about trying that. Frustration I guess! It makes sense though. Ill give it shot. Thanks!
 
willy900wonka
Old
#7  
willy900wonka's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 629
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penguinville
Why not see why it fc'd?
Adb with logcat of ...vending....
Find the syntax here: http://developer.android.com/search.html

Just an idea. It may or maynot give you the insight to fix the cause ( like a parameter ...vending... is null fetching on ).
 
HERNANDEZ4LIFE
Old
#8  
HERNANDEZ4LIFE's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 82
Join Date: Aug 2009
Yeah, Ive been thinking about RUU'n too just to see if making a fresh start would make any difference, but after all the time I spent getting the one Hero working like I want on 2.1 and the troubles Ive had with the second and what Ive read about people bricking trying to RUU or flash recovery Ive been kinda hesitant....
 
HERNANDEZ4LIFE
Old
#9  
HERNANDEZ4LIFE's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 82
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by willy900wonka View Post
Why not see why it fc'd?
Adb with logcat of ...vending....
Find the syntax here: http://developer.android.com/search.html

Just an idea. It may or maynot give you the insight to fix the cause ( like a parameter ...vending... is null fetching on ).
Thanks. I dont know that Im quite that knowledgable though. Im sure I could read a logcat... understanding what the hell I would be reading is something else again. Saving the url though in case I need to dig deeper. Thanks for the reply.
 
regaw_leinad
Old
#10  
regaw_leinad's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3574
Posts: 3,652
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtphoto View Post
honestley thinnking about it I RUU'd my phone just for giggles then I re-rooted and then flashed DCv1 right from stock and I found that a lot of the little bugs that people where seeing I wasnt so it may not be a bad idea to ruu anyways.
Sometimes it's just fun to RUU and do everything again
Device: HTC One (AT&T)
Recovery:TWRP 2.6.3.0 | Bootloader: S-OFF
ROM: Stock



My Development Threads

Watch my programming tutorials on YouTube - BetterCoder
I'm also a professional musician - YouTube - SoundCloud


Please don't post just to say "Thanks" - There's a button for that . Be sure to use it!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more