Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,988 Members 44,487 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] MSFT Employee HardSPL'd Device Messing Around

Tip us?
 
moitoius
Old
(Last edited by moitoius; 23rd March 2010 at 06:19 PM.) Reason: Adding [Q]
#1  
moitoius's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johannesburg, ZA
Default [Q] MSFT Employee HardSPL'd Device Messing Around

I have a device that used to belong to a MSFT employee. At Microsoft you can just hand in your device and they will put a new ROM on it for you. So first thing I did when I got it is to HardSPL (OliNex 1.90) it and load up a new ROM (the one on it was a couple of builds back, and GPS didn't work etc.).

The strange thing is that ROMS seem to be 'loosing' files (as far as I can tell - apps won't open etc.) after a few days of otherwise great operation. If the device is rebooted, it's almost like a hard-reset; although the installation takes next to no time: and it gets stuck on the splash. Hard resetting the device makes it work for a few days more. The device didn't have these problems with the MSFT ROM (which I stupidly didn't backup).

I have tried a few ROMs and they all seem to have the problem:
  • MagicROM_23541_Sense25_Mar01
  • TAELROM_v4.23541_SENSE_2.5_28FEB10_LD
  • Timolol_5100207TH (awesome ROM)

So my current plan:
  1. Flash stock ROM.
  2. Flash stock SPL.
  3. Flash stock ROM (hoping it will clear anything funny MSFT put on it).
  4. Hard SPL.
  5. Flash Timolol Stock-Like (seems to have the problems the soonest - 2 days max).

Does anyone have any other ideas?

Thanks guys.
Current Device: Samsung Galaxy S III (GT-I9300)
ROM: Stock.
Current Device: Galaxy Tab 10.1" 3G (GT-P7500)
ROM: AOKP

Remember to donate to the people who make S-OFF for your device. They brick devices so that you don't have to.
 
kwill
Old
#2  
kwill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 4,355
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
I assume since you posted in the Touch Pro2/Tilt 2 section, that you own one of those devices. The roms you have mentioned below are (I believe) for a touch pro/fuze device. That could be your problem. Although, I would assume that you have one as I'm sure a rom for a different device would even flash to the device period. If you have the right rom/device combo and its a touch pro, then you should post in the thread for the roms. More details such as network and device will help the most.
Lumia 920 - Dev Unlocked
Nokia Lumia 900 - Sold
HTC Titan - Sold
HTC HD7 - Fully Unlocked
 
moitoius
Old
#3  
moitoius's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johannesburg, ZA
Ah crap - the dangers of having too many tabs open. Can I move the thread myself?
Current Device: Samsung Galaxy S III (GT-I9300)
ROM: Stock.
Current Device: Galaxy Tab 10.1" 3G (GT-P7500)
ROM: AOKP

Remember to donate to the people who make S-OFF for your device. They brick devices so that you don't have to.
 
twopumpchump
Old
#4  
twopumpchump's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 353
Posts: 4,041
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kentucky

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by moitoius View Post
Ah crap - the dangers of having too many tabs open. Can I move the thread myself?
i moved it for you good luck at finding a solution
Skyrocket Rom Thread

Skyrocket Radio Thread


if you like my work and wanna buy me a beer....you can do it HERE
 
Farmer Ted
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 2,371
Join Date: Nov 2008
I don't think it's a hot idea to flash the stock spl. I'm not sure that it can be over-written with hard spl-you'll have to ask in the hard spl thread. If you do it, you might be stuck with the stock rom. Just try flashing the stock rom, then going to the custom one you want. That seems to work for a lot of people.
ROM: Retro ROM
Radio: 1.17.25.09
 
moitoius
Old
#6  
moitoius's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johannesburg, ZA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farmer Ted View Post
...Just try flashing the stock rom, then going to the custom one you want. That seems to work for a lot of people.
Thanks, that is significantly fewer steps . I will do that for now and report back in 2 or so days...
Current Device: Samsung Galaxy S III (GT-I9300)
ROM: Stock.
Current Device: Galaxy Tab 10.1" 3G (GT-P7500)
ROM: AOKP

Remember to donate to the people who make S-OFF for your device. They brick devices so that you don't have to.
 
moitoius
Old
#7  
moitoius's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johannesburg, ZA
Small update - just flashed the latest stock Fuze ROM. Just before the customization app come up I saw that device.exe crashed... In any case, I will see what happens with the custom ROM.
Current Device: Samsung Galaxy S III (GT-I9300)
ROM: Stock.
Current Device: Galaxy Tab 10.1" 3G (GT-P7500)
ROM: AOKP

Remember to donate to the people who make S-OFF for your device. They brick devices so that you don't have to.
 
Farmer Ted
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 2,371
Join Date: Nov 2008
You may need to reformat the memory of your phone. Having device.exe crash on a stock rom during bootup is kind of weird. I've never done it myself, but there are threads on it in the Leo forum. I wouldn't try the apps that they've put together, though. I guess you can search around for "Task 29" to find out how to do it properly.
ROM: Retro ROM
Radio: 1.17.25.09
 
stylez
Old
#9  
stylez's Avatar
Moderator Committee - Assistant Forum Admin
Thanks Meter 507
Posts: 9,828
Join Date: May 2008
Location: XDA Server Likes: The Art of War Hates: Cowards

 
DONATE TO ME
Moved as not ROM Development.

MAKO / GROUPER / XOOM / G1


 
hilaireg
Old
#10  
hilaireg's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 2,945
Join Date: Jan 2009
@OP:

If the device was flashed on a regular basis, it's possible that the device flash memory is near end-of-life.

You could try running Raphael Diagnostics on it to see if that sorts it out.

HTH,
Device 1 & 2: HTC Rhodium (aka TouchPRO2/Tilt2)
Device 3 & 4: Apple N89 (aka iPhone 4)



Donations | Forum Rules | Admins/Mods | WIKI | Chef Central | KB555375

Tags
hardspl, msft
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes