Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Just got my HD2 - Tmobile US... Couple of questions

OP Nano3

25th March 2010, 08:03 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
This phone comes with a bunch of stuff that i dont need... transformer movie, barnes and noble reader... blockbuster crap. i have no need for that. Is there a way to get rid of all that pre packed stuff... Kinda reminds me of when i bought my laptop from Best Buy. All these trial software programs just take up space.

Also. I'm thinking of going with an official HTC rom. is this the correct page to do it from? http://www.htc.com/uk/SupportViewNew...04&news_id=434. if i do, do that... where can i find the official TMobile US ROM just in case if i decide to bring it back.

Another question... This one is mainly for Tmobile representatives. I was originally under a month to month contract without my social. In order to get the discount for the phone. i had to put the phone under my social. i didnt realize at the time but on my way back i noticed that i now have two lines... different accounts. i want my old phone number "the one without the social" to be my regular number. not the other one. how should i go about doing that?

thanks in advance for any help with all of my questions
25th March 2010, 08:05 PM   |  #2  
Retired Forum Mod / Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Sandy Springs, Georgia
Thanks Meter: 1
 
433 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nano3

This phone comes with a bunch of stuff that i dont need... transformer movie, barnes and noble reader... blockbuster crap. i have no need for that. Is there a way to get rid of all that pre packed stuff... Kinda reminds me of when i bought my laptop from Best Buy. All these trial software programs just take up space.

Also. I'm thinking of going with an official HTC rom. is this the correct page to do it from? http://www.htc.com/uk/SupportViewNew...04&news_id=434. if i do, do that... where can i find the official TMobile US ROM just in case if i decide to bring it back.

Another question... This one is mainly for Tmobile representatives. I was originally under a month to month contract without my social. In order to get the discount for the phone. i had to put the phone under my social. i didnt realize at the time but on my way back i noticed that i now have two lines... different accounts. i want my old phone number "the one without the social" to be my regular number. not the other one. how should i go about doing that?

thanks in advance for any help with all of my questions

Well...You can't flash yet. HSPL has not been released for T-Mobile branded HD2s so you have to wait.

They are working on it so, once its released you can flash any rom you want.
25th March 2010, 08:18 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
A quick question

I would assume current customized ROMs are for European model, which has 512 Mb ROM. These ROMs will also be compatible with t mobile hd2, which has 1G ROM ??

thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianb7590

Well...You can't flash yet. HSPL has not been released for T-Mobile branded HD2s so you have to wait.

They are working on it so, once its released you can flash any rom you want.

25th March 2010, 09:26 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
I just formatted my sd card through both my computer and the phones format option via menu... and all those applications are there? are you guys telling me that im stuck with a whole bunch of "Apps" That i do not want?
25th March 2010, 09:31 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Huntington Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 63
 
1,199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nano3

I just formatted my sd card through both my computer and the phones format option via menu... and all those applications are there? are you guys telling me that im stuck with a whole bunch of "Apps" That i do not want?

If you truly did format your sd card, then it should be wiped clean. whatever remnants that you still see on your phone are just shortcuts.
25th March 2010, 09:38 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
i did format... i went to the transformers video and to try to play it and its giving me a "Media file not found" error... wich is good... but how do i remove the shortcut?
25th March 2010, 09:40 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Huntington Beach, CA
Thanks Meter: 63
 
1,199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nano3

i did format... i went to the transformers video and to try to play it and its giving me a "Media file not found" error... wich is good... but how do i remove the shortcut?

on the home screen, press menu > remove quicklinks
25th March 2010, 09:50 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
2,119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
no for the start menu you must go to file explorer, windows/start menu/programs then delete them there
25th March 2010, 10:01 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
these methods just remove system files and some shortcuts... they do not uninstall them which is the right way to do it. anybody else? im getting frustrated
25th March 2010, 10:04 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
http://www.t-mobile-cellphones.com/tag/remove-apps/

apparently you cannot uninstall third party programs?

give me a break...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes