FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[APP] Fennec (Firefox) for Android

698 posts
Thanks Meter: 9
 
By grainysand, Senior Member on 30th March 2010, 09:45 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
MartinSchirr over at Android Forums has compiled Fennec for Android, with a demo video and everything. I've tried it to no result on my N1 (hit launch, screen went black and my phone hung; I suspect it's because I'm using apps2sd), but I dunno, maybe you guys might have better luck. Guy's server seems a tad slow, so I slapped it on Sendspace here:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/g6kp6p

Update: okay, gave it another whirl. The person responsible for compiling this wasn't kidding about 41 MB; even with apps2sd, it still takes up roughly 33 MB of internal storage. Giant ouch. And here I thought Google Earth was big.

The initial launch results in a black screen and the OS hanging. Not sure why or what it is doing there, but as iSecks said, after rebooting it works. Sort of. I can't for the life of me type in a URL. Kept poking at the address bar and inputting random letters, but no go. This was compiled for use on the Droid, so it may very well not gel with an N1 (I've got Modaco Desire ROM, for what that's worth). If anyone's had better success on an N1, I'd like to hear about it. Still, I must say that it looks a lot more sophisticated than any other Android browser available right now.

Here are some screenshots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device.jpg
Views:	1809
Size:	82.3 KB
ID:	301297   Click image for larger version

Name:	device2.jpg
Views:	1550
Size:	73.8 KB
ID:	301298   Click image for larger version

Name:	device3.jpg
Views:	1366
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	301299   Click image for larger version

Name:	device4.jpg
Views:	1306
Size:	79.9 KB
ID:	301300  
Last edited by grainysand; 30th March 2010 at 04:19 PM.
 
 
30th March 2010, 10:28 AM |#2  
domenukk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Not working on magic with cupcake rom...
its probably compiled for 2.x
But big news.
I wonder how it can be 40 megabytes when installed... largest app I have seen I think
30th March 2010, 10:29 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Installed it on my Droid, works. It's kinda slow, but it works. My phone hung the first time running it, but after a reboot it ran faster than I thought it would run [which was still slow for everyday use.] Nice interface though, I thought it would be harder to use than it actually was. What's nice is it has the popup for unresponsive javascript scripts that let you stop executing them.
30th March 2010, 10:53 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Huh, guess Mozilla meant it when they said it's just not optimized for Android yet. I should give it another go.
30th March 2010, 06:17 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,
here is Martin

Have a look at my site for further information and the videos (sorry for german )
schirrmacher.eu/fennec/

Sorry can't post a full link
Maybe a moderator can move the thread in another subforum

Martin
30th March 2010, 08:23 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
I take it the name is "GeckoApp" in the Launcher. I tried it on my Nexus One and I get the big Launch button but then its just a black screen. I tried rebooting but got the same. Any idea how to fix it please?
30th March 2010, 08:29 PM |#7  
manup456's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Danbury
Thanks Meter: 924
 
Donate to Me
More
Yeah tried on my nexus as well and its not working same launch button. I think this is weird it has no drawable folders inside and looks just weird inside.
30th March 2010, 08:29 PM |#8  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 291
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinSchirr

Hi,
here is Martin

Have a look at my site for further information and the videos (sorry for german )
http://schirrmacher.eu/fennec/

Sorry can't post a full link
Maybe a moderator can move the thread in another subforum

Martin

Thanks for compiling this!
Chrome's translator plugin works wonders automatically on your site
30th March 2010, 08:43 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Elizabeth
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
just tried it on the n1, typed google.com on he keybpard. press back button a few times and it loaded but doesnt seems to work though.. hmmm
30th March 2010, 09:00 PM |#10  
Eddie1506's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Zagreb
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Didn't even install on Hero with Kimera 1.5 ROM
30th March 2010, 09:01 PM |#11  
HSDarkT3k's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Tampa Bay
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinSchirr

Hi,
here is Martin

Have a look at my site for further information and the videos (sorry for german )
schirrmacher.eu/fennec/

Sorry can't post a full link
Maybe a moderator can move the thread in another subforum

Martin

Just kidding... found this on Android Forums...

Quote:

The Username and password are on the download page.
User: fennec
Password: android

Feel free to test it.

Thank for your reply.
Martin

Last edited by HSDarkT3k; 30th March 2010 at 09:12 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes