Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,633 Members 38,311 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] Fennec (Firefox) for Android

Tip us?
 
grainysand
Old
(Last edited by grainysand; 30th March 2010 at 04:19 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 698
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default [APP] Fennec (Firefox) for Android

MartinSchirr over at Android Forums has compiled Fennec for Android, with a demo video and everything. I've tried it to no result on my N1 (hit launch, screen went black and my phone hung; I suspect it's because I'm using apps2sd), but I dunno, maybe you guys might have better luck. Guy's server seems a tad slow, so I slapped it on Sendspace here:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/g6kp6p

Update: okay, gave it another whirl. The person responsible for compiling this wasn't kidding about 41 MB; even with apps2sd, it still takes up roughly 33 MB of internal storage. Giant ouch. And here I thought Google Earth was big.

The initial launch results in a black screen and the OS hanging. Not sure why or what it is doing there, but as iSecks said, after rebooting it works. Sort of. I can't for the life of me type in a URL. Kept poking at the address bar and inputting random letters, but no go. This was compiled for use on the Droid, so it may very well not gel with an N1 (I've got Modaco Desire ROM, for what that's worth). If anyone's had better success on an N1, I'd like to hear about it. Still, I must say that it looks a lot more sophisticated than any other Android browser available right now.

Here are some screenshots.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device.jpg
Views:	1794
Size:	82.3 KB
ID:	301297   Click image for larger version

Name:	device2.jpg
Views:	1532
Size:	73.8 KB
ID:	301298   Click image for larger version

Name:	device3.jpg
Views:	1349
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	301299   Click image for larger version

Name:	device4.jpg
Views:	1291
Size:	79.9 KB
ID:	301300  
 
domenukk
Old
#2  
domenukk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 807
Join Date: Jan 2010
Not working on magic with cupcake rom...
its probably compiled for 2.x
But big news.
I wonder how it can be 40 megabytes when installed... largest app I have seen I think
 
iSecks
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2009
Installed it on my Droid, works. It's kinda slow, but it works. My phone hung the first time running it, but after a reboot it ran faster than I thought it would run [which was still slow for everyday use.] Nice interface though, I thought it would be harder to use than it actually was. What's nice is it has the popup for unresponsive javascript scripts that let you stop executing them.
 
grainysand
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 698
Join Date: Dec 2009
Huh, guess Mozilla meant it when they said it's just not optimized for Android yet. I should give it another go.
 
MartinSchirr
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2010
Hi,
here is Martin

Have a look at my site for further information and the videos (sorry for german )
schirrmacher.eu/fennec/

Sorry can't post a full link
Maybe a moderator can move the thread in another subforum

Martin
 
footboydog
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 219
Join Date: Jan 2009
I take it the name is "GeckoApp" in the Launcher. I tried it on my Nexus One and I get the big Launch button but then its just a black screen. I tried rebooting but got the same. Any idea how to fix it please?
Black HTC Dream with standard Donut (rooted).
Motorola Xoom 32Gb Wi-fi (UK) with US stock
Nexus 4 16gb stock
Nexus 7 16Gb stock
For the latest on my Google Reader Widget, SMS Bot Widget and Paperless List app (UK only): ubikapps.net
 
manup456
Old
#7  
manup456's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 366
Posts: 3,006
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Danbury

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah tried on my nexus as well and its not working same launch button. I think this is weird it has no drawable folders inside and looks just weird inside.
 
britoso
Old
#8  
britoso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 282
Posts: 2,725
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Orlando

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinSchirr View Post
Hi,
here is Martin

Have a look at my site for further information and the videos (sorry for german )
http://schirrmacher.eu/fennec/

Sorry can't post a full link
Maybe a moderator can move the thread in another subforum

Martin
Thanks for compiling this!
Chrome's translator plugin works wonders automatically on your site
Software Developer (Java/J2EE)
Phone: Nexus 5 32GB -> PA 4.4.2 + XPosed
Phone: Galaxy Nexus-> OmniMetal CM11
Phone: Nexus One (killed while replacing the digitizer)-> CM10.1 AOKP Unofficial Nightlies
Tablet
: Nook Color -> CM10.1 Nightlies
Tablet
: HP Touchpad -> CM10.1 -SCHIZOID
Stick: CX-919 RK3188/2GB (4.2.2 Finless 1.6b. FHD no-OC. Antutu 16753 Quadrant 4723)

Links:
»My Apps (ancient now) [CPUStatusLED] [MoreRecent]
»My Threads
»My Posts
»Transparent widgets
 
minogue
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 487
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Elizabeth
just tried it on the n1, typed google.com on he keybpard. press back button a few times and it loaded but doesnt seems to work though.. hmmm
 
Eddie1506
Old
#10  
Eddie1506's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 390
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Zagreb
Didn't even install on Hero with Kimera 1.5 ROM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more