How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

A virus of somekind.

OP Xitement

10th April 2010, 03:05 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Hi XDA,

I was browsing the web (On my mobile) and opened a page with a .gif
Then saved this .gif cause it was funny one.
But the moment i did that my browser crashed.. (Opera 8)
I did not think much of this at this time.

This same day i notice i keep having too re-input my passes..
Even just now on XDA i had to input my pass again twice..
First i thought maybe its the internet. But i checked all that..

Now im concerned it might be a virus. Maybe picked up from that .gif?


Greets,


Xitement
Last edited by Xitement; 10th April 2010 at 03:11 PM.
10th April 2010, 03:15 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xitement

Hi XDA,

I was browsing the web (On my mobile) and opened a page with a .gif
Then saved this .gif cause it was funny one.
But the moment i did that my browser crashed.. (Opera 8)
I did not think much of this at this time.

This same day i notice i keep having too re-input my passes..
Even just now on XDA i had to input my pass again twice..
First i thought maybe its the internet. But i checked all that..

Now im concerned it might be a virus. Maybe picked up from that .gif?


Greets,


Xitement

Maybe it's a cookies problem
check your browser's settings.
maybe clear all history and cookies.
10th April 2010, 04:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Thank you.
Checked all that. And yet i had to log in again..
The strange thing is it remembers my username/pass i just have to keep logging in again..
I also notice that im being logged out periodicly..
And the fact that i had to relog into my Gmail is starting to concern me.
I have never had to do that before..

If its hard to determen the cause, i would like to know if resetting my mobile
to its factory settings in the settings tab truly formats my whole mobile.
And removes any possible malware or viruses..
10th April 2010, 04:52 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xitement

Thank you.
Checked all that. And yet i had to log in again..
The strange thing is it remembers my username/pass i just have to keep logging in again..
I also notice that im being logged out periodicly..
And the fact that i had to relog into my Gmail is starting to concern me.
I have never had to do that before..

If its hard to determen the cause, i would like to know if resetting my mobile
to its factory settings in the settings tab truly formats my whole mobile.
And removes any possible malware or viruses..

Performing a hard-reset to factory settings,
would most likely remove any malware (assuming the malware has no way to write itself into the device ROM).

BUT -
if restore a backup you restore a backup - it might restore the malware as well (if the backup was created after the infection).
10th April 2010, 05:18 PM   |  #5  
header2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
145 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I don't think that someone made a .gif file which makes opera buggy. Maybe Opera crashed because it had problems showing the page. This could be the reason why Opera has problems.
Removing opera and installing it again could solve this error.
10th April 2010, 05:21 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
By hard-reset and back-up you mean two different things?
Factory reset looks like overwriting it with back-up could that backup be infected and contain the virus is what you mean?

Thank you very much for your quick responses Some03ne
Very much appreciate

Edit: Thank you too header2k
Thats also what i initially thought.
But still i have these passes errors which is suspicious..
Last edited by Xitement; 10th April 2010 at 05:25 PM.
10th April 2010, 06:52 PM   |  #7  
kilrah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
More
Opera is buggy indeed. I have a similar problem, on certain sites it will jsut ask me to log in everytime I visit. Don't think it's related with the gif thing.
11th April 2010, 12:07 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xitement

By hard-reset and back-up you mean two different things?
Factory reset looks like overwriting it with back-up could that backup be infected and contain the virus is what you mean?

Thank you very much for your quick responses Some03ne
Very much appreciate

Edit: Thank you too header2k
Thats also what i initially thought.
But still i have these passes errors which is suspicious..

Yes, Hard-Reset and backup are two different things.
Backup - is backing up your data and files, so it could be restored later.
Hard-Reset - deletes all data and leaves the device only with the programs/files that are included in the ROM/Factory settings.

If you perform Hard-Reset you would lose all your data.
If you perform a backup (before hard resetting) you have a copy of your data and can restore it after Hard-Reset.

But -
your situation now is problematic - if you perform backup now - you most likely will copy the problematic file, and it will get back on the device when you restore this backup.
11th April 2010, 12:10 AM   |  #9  
Finezt's Avatar
Member
Flag Paramaribo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
i've got that same thing just yesterday
all my passwords in opera are deleted
plus my wifi key is deleted

but i don't think it's a virus because my HD2 is still very stable

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes