Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,401 Members 38,554 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HD2 suddenly stopped connecting to wi-fi.

Tip us?
 
sarngate
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default HD2 suddenly stopped connecting to wi-fi.

I have no idea what caused it, but just tonight my phone stopped being able to connect to my home wifi. The wifi symbol in the status bar shows that it is connected, and the phone sees my router but when i try to activate skype it asks me if i would like to use a cellular connection as apparently my wifi does not exist.

Any ideas ?
 
samsamuel
Old
#2  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1047
Posts: 9,105
Join Date: Nov 2006
reboot your modem and router, turn off wifi on the phone until it is back up, then reenable the phones wifi, see if that helps.
ViperOneM8 VIPER4Android

O2 UK automated free sim unlock form.

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE
 
sarngate
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2009
No dice. I reset both, the symbol shows me as being connected on the phone but when i load up Opera and try to go to a web page it says 'Connection closed' and Skype also isn't working.
 
sarngate
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2009
Okay so that's strange. For some reason my HD2 set itself to a Static IP. I went into the Broadcom settings and changed to server assigned IP and it's working again.

Technology is a pain sometimes !
 
rexboy
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 272
Posts: 1,228
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarngate View Post
I have no idea what caused it, but just tonight my phone stopped being able to connect to my home wifi. The wifi symbol in the status bar shows that it is connected, and the phone sees my router but when i try to activate skype it asks me if i would like to use a cellular connection as apparently my wifi does not exist.

Any ideas ?
For some weird reason my does a similar thing about every 3-4 days. Nothing changes, it just decides to not connect however resetting the Netgear does the trick (not ideal but does the job).
Other dissapointing thing is often it cant pick up or has poor signal around the house in certain rooms but my wifes bloody Iphone picks up signal everywhere lol (i still convince her, the iphone is inferior)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes