Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

Soft reset in htc desire

1st May 2010, 04:02 AM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Talking
Hi, I guess you want to reset HTC Desire without taking it a part.
Check this video on youtube on how to do it.
youtube.com/watch?v=L58SK9dhrVc
Add www, i couldn't post the link as i'm new user.
Hope tis helps.
2nd May 2010, 04:19 PM   |  #12  
D-fens's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Białystok
Thanks Meter: 0
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimsig

Hi, I guess you want to reset HTC Desire without taking it a part.
Check this video on youtube on how to do it.
youtube.com/watch?v=L58SK9dhrVc
Add www, i couldn't post the link as i'm new user.
Hope tis helps.

I think you didn't catch what we are talkin about. Soft reset doesn't meen we would like to erase all data and revert back to factory settings.

My phone is not able to shut down even after one hour after pressing: power botton for a moment -> power off. Any clues?
2nd May 2010, 05:16 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-fens

I think you didn't catch what we are talkin about. Soft reset doesn't meen we would like to erase all data and revert back to factory settings.

My phone is not able to shut down even after one hour after pressing: power botton for a moment -> power off. Any clues?

@ d-fens
Strange indeed soft reset works here fine but used it only a few times

Maybe a hard reset forces to reinstall the o/s correct and solves you're problem because it should work via the power button...

Do you get the pop-up menu with the different choices?
2nd May 2010, 09:27 PM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 23
 
916 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by awf

Strange indeed soft reset works here fine but used it only a few times

Maybe a hard reset forces to reinstall the o/s correct and solves you're problem because it should work via the power button...

Do you get the pop-up menu with the different choices?

what the hell are you people talking about?
a soft reset is a way to restart the phone using an option in the phone, perhaps an app

so when there's the option to POWER OFF the phone, there is the option to RESTART the phone
2nd May 2010, 10:07 PM   |  #15  
mojavaid36's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Re: Soft reset in htc desire
Quote:

Quote:

Strange indeed soft reset works here fine but used it only a few times



Maybe a hard reset forces to reinstall the o/s correct and solves you



what the hell are you people talking about?

a soft reset is a way to restart the phone using an option in the phone, perhaps an app



so when there's the option to POWER OFF the phone, there is the option to RESTART the phone

that's right.

Sent from my HTC Desire using the XDA mobile application powered by Tapatalk
2nd May 2010, 11:31 PM   |  #16  
D-fens's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Białystok
Thanks Meter: 0
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Re: Soft reset in htc desire
I got the popup menu when I press power button for a while but when I press first option to shut down the phone - it does not shut down. Shuting down message displays for ages and nothing happens.

Sent from my HTC Desire using the XDA mobile application powered by Tapatalk
3rd May 2010, 12:20 AM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Sorry, I think I got it wrong. D-fens - what you have done is fine, taking out the battery, judging by htc website
htc.com/europe/howto.aspx?id=721&type=1&p_id=312
but I don't know why wouldn't it shut down with power button, it works fine with my.
3rd May 2010, 01:27 AM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag Kent
Thanks Meter: 2
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
I think I know what your trying to get at, the problem is in your phone, unmount your SD card, I suspect its faulty. This will I suspect work. Try it and tell us how you get on. I'm assuming switching the phone off and on again is the same as rebooting or soft reset on Android.
3rd May 2010, 02:45 AM   |  #19  
OnlinePredator's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
461 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Lol mega fail answers. I think currently there is no way to soft reset your phone without going the long way of turning it off and turning it on again. Quite annoying I know, but you should not have to soft reset your phone much at all, if you do then there is a prob with software etc. I have only soft reset my phone maybe 2-3 times in the few weeks I have had it for.

But again I believe the question is:

Is there an app or some special way to soft reset the desire, without removing battery or without pressing and holding power button and selecting turn off, as both these methods simply turn the device off and are not actually resetting the device...
3rd May 2010, 03:00 AM   |  #20  
eViL D:'s Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,344
 
4,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Use quickboot or root boot. I personally use root boot. Works fine.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes