Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,501 Members 47,421 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Soft reset in htc desire

Tip us?
 
gimsig
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2010
Hi, I guess you want to reset HTC Desire without taking it a part.
Check this video on youtube on how to do it.
youtube.com/watch?v=L58SK9dhrVc
Add www, i couldn't post the link as i'm new user.
Hope tis helps.
 
D-fens
Old
#12  
D-fens's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 110
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Białystok
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimsig View Post
Hi, I guess you want to reset HTC Desire without taking it a part.
Check this video on youtube on how to do it.
youtube.com/watch?v=L58SK9dhrVc
Add www, i couldn't post the link as i'm new user.
Hope tis helps.
I think you didn't catch what we are talkin about. Soft reset doesn't meen we would like to erase all data and revert back to factory settings.

My phone is not able to shut down even after one hour after pressing: power botton for a moment -> power off. Any clues?
Samsung Galaxy SII - stock ICS with Nova Launcher
Samsung Galaxy Tab P1000 powered by AOKP #33
 
awf
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 384
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-fens View Post
I think you didn't catch what we are talkin about. Soft reset doesn't meen we would like to erase all data and revert back to factory settings.

My phone is not able to shut down even after one hour after pressing: power botton for a moment -> power off. Any clues?
@ d-fens
Strange indeed soft reset works here fine but used it only a few times

Maybe a hard reset forces to reinstall the o/s correct and solves you're problem because it should work via the power button...

Do you get the pop-up menu with the different choices?
 
cgrec92
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 916
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by awf View Post
Strange indeed soft reset works here fine but used it only a few times

Maybe a hard reset forces to reinstall the o/s correct and solves you're problem because it should work via the power button...

Do you get the pop-up menu with the different choices?
what the hell are you people talking about?
a soft reset is a way to restart the phone using an option in the phone, perhaps an app

so when there's the option to POWER OFF the phone, there is the option to RESTART the phone


If you like my work, then please consider a small donation


 
mojavaid36
Old
#15  
mojavaid36's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 56
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Re: Soft reset in htc desire

Quote:
Quote:
Strange indeed soft reset works here fine but used it only a few times



Maybe a hard reset forces to reinstall the o/s correct and solves you


what the hell are you people talking about?

a soft reset is a way to restart the phone using an option in the phone, perhaps an app



so when there's the option to POWER OFF the phone, there is the option to RESTART the phone
that's right.

Sent from my HTC Desire using the XDA mobile application powered by Tapatalk
MoJo
HTC Tytn II --> HTC Desire
Root Status: Rooted
Rom: Evil
 
D-fens
Old
#16  
D-fens's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 110
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Białystok
Default Re: Soft reset in htc desire

I got the popup menu when I press power button for a while but when I press first option to shut down the phone - it does not shut down. Shuting down message displays for ages and nothing happens.

Sent from my HTC Desire using the XDA mobile application powered by Tapatalk
Samsung Galaxy SII - stock ICS with Nova Launcher
Samsung Galaxy Tab P1000 powered by AOKP #33
 
gimsig
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2010
Sorry, I think I got it wrong. D-fens - what you have done is fine, taking out the battery, judging by htc website
htc.com/europe/howto.aspx?id=721&type=1&p_id=312
but I don't know why wouldn't it shut down with power button, it works fine with my.
 
Dunbad
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 303
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kent
I think I know what your trying to get at, the problem is in your phone, unmount your SD card, I suspect its faulty. This will I suspect work. Try it and tell us how you get on. I'm assuming switching the phone off and on again is the same as rebooting or soft reset on Android.
 
OnlinePredator
Old
#19  
OnlinePredator's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 453
Join Date: Feb 2009
Lol mega fail answers. I think currently there is no way to soft reset your phone without going the long way of turning it off and turning it on again. Quite annoying I know, but you should not have to soft reset your phone much at all, if you do then there is a prob with software etc. I have only soft reset my phone maybe 2-3 times in the few weeks I have had it for.

But again I believe the question is:

Is there an app or some special way to soft reset the desire, without removing battery or without pressing and holding power button and selecting turn off, as both these methods simply turn the device off and are not actually resetting the device...
Galaxy S4 I9505
ROM: PA Beta 4

Galaxy S3 I9300
ROM: Omega 4.3

Galaxy S2
ROM: JoelDroid S2
 
eViL D:
Old
#20  
eViL D:'s Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1344
Posts: 4,472
Join Date: Jun 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Use quickboot or root boot. I personally use root boot. Works fine.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...