CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Google Contacts sync

OP JapanLover

14th April 2010, 11:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Hi all,

any of you ever tried to sync only one (or more) specific contacts group?
I remember of such a function in Android 1.6, and it would be great to have it back on 2.1 too (maybe it's there and it's just me who cannot find it).
I don't like to have ALL the Google contacts sync'ed.

Thnx
14th April 2010, 12:44 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 32
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Can't be done. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=662949
14th April 2010, 12:54 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Thanks Cleargrey,

would you tell me if you ever tried to sync Outlook with the phone did you manage to do so? It seems my HTC sync won't sync, telling me no errors but no contacts sync'ed as well

I also tried to sync Outlook with Goole, and found a good prog to do so (Go contacts sync) since I don't want ot go over with CSV import/export, but it states it syncs pictures too, and it doesn't...
14th April 2010, 01:40 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Cleargrey, just a little info to better understand the following HTC answer:

A1. It is not possible to sync just 'My Contacts', it would always be 'Google Contacts, or 'All Contacts'.

what do they mean with "Google Contacts or All Contacts"? Is it just basically a different way of referring to the same "All Contacts" group?
I'm asking because I just checked on Google Accounts and I didn't see anything like "Google Contacts"
14th April 2010, 02:14 PM   |  #5  
JTHM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northants
Thanks Meter: 11
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2005
More
There does seem to be some confusion over the various contact lists/groups on the phone and on Google Contacts.

BTW, Google Contacts can be accessed through your Gmail account (left side menu -> Contacts) or directly at www.google.com/contacts.

Basically:

All [phone] = My Contacts [Google Contacts]
Favorites [phone] = Starred in Android [Google Contacts]
Co-workers [phone] = Collegues [Google Contacts]
Family, Friends [phone] = Family, Friends [Google Contacts] resp.
user created groups [phone] = user created groups [Google Contacts], and vice versa.

All Contacts [Google Contacts] is never sync'ed on the phone.

All the above get sync'ed together, you can't cherry pick.
14th April 2010, 02:29 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Sorry to correct you JT, but if I access Google Contacts on my desktop I find "All Contact" contains 643 contacts.
Now, doing the same on my phone (Contacts -> Menu btn -> view) I see "Google (643)".
Hence my phone sync'ed All Contacts.
It would be great if it would have sync'ed "My contacts" only, cuz even if it's not a subgroup, it only contains contacts I want to carry on the phone
14th April 2010, 02:34 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Two very quick questions I'd love some help with.

1. Whats the quickest way to type a new sms message? When I open the messages icon and choose "new message" it lists ALL of my contacts. Anyone I EVER emailed in my life. 1000s. I justwant to see my 100 or so SIM contacts as I want to write an SMS message. any way around this?


2. I clicked on new message (in the messages icon) and typed in an email address. The phone then sent the email as an attached MMS message via my phone service provider? I assumed it would use my gmail details to send it? Am I set up wrong?

Thanks, Got the desire yesterday. First time on android. bit lost really. not as intuitive as expected, but I'm sure I'll get the hang of it.
14th April 2010, 02:37 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
fastest way to send sms to a specific contact is to go to "Contacts", look for the person you wantto send the sms to, and then click not on the name but on the picture (or on the pic placeholder): some icons will show up so that you cna choose what you want to do. Click on message and you're good to go.

your problem is the same to me: I DO NOT want all my google contacts on my phone cuz everytime I have to do something with contcts (apart from phone, where I checked "show only contacts with tel number") it will fill my eyes with unwanted persons
14th April 2010, 02:53 PM   |  #9  
JTHM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northants
Thanks Meter: 11
 
226 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanLover

Sorry to correct you JT, but if I access Google Contacts on my desktop I find "All Contact" contains 643 contacts.
Now, doing the same on my phone (Contacts -> Menu btn -> view) I see "Google (643)".
Hence my phone sync'ed All Contacts.
It would be great if it would have sync'ed "My contacts" only, cuz even if it's not a subgroup, it only contains contacts I want to carry on the phone

Hmm, glad mine doesn't do that! Anyhow, go to your "All" contacts list on your phone, then MENU button -> View, un-check "Show auto Gmail contacts".

Seems I may have been wrong, Google Contacts' All Contacts do indeed seem to get sync'd in their entirety but this check box allows you to mask what you don't want to see.
14th April 2010, 03:09 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
checked that, and will test functionalities for some days, but going to "search contacts" still shows up all Google contacts.
This is something really pissing me off.
For real: I can't understand why 1.6 had the opportunity to select the groups and 2.1 does not!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes