Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

HTC IME Mod Keyboard with Voice Input (v27, June 08, 2010)

14th April 2010, 03:07 PM   |  #1  
gogol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
3,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
I do NOT create this app.
So, please do NOT contact me about it.
Because I have no idea how to edit or hack it to solve your problem.
Use it as it is posted here.


__________________________________________________ __________

If you updated with the official FroYo:

- Uninstall current HTC IME Mod version

- Download and install the below version:

http://www.hallerud.se/htc_ime_jonasl_hires22_27.zip

Good news everyone

Version v27, June 08, 2010

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=624416

It is now working with HTC Desire, no need to have root access!

Voice input is working !
Plus bunch of other cool features (gestures, smileys, etc.)

Question and Answer

Q: Do I need root access to install this keyboard?
A: No, you dont. Really, you don't need root access!

Q: How do I install this keyboard?
A: Download the "hires" version, unzip it and transfer the HTC_IME_hi.apk to the phone. Use app manager like EStrongs or ASTRO to install this .apk file

Q: Do I need to install the Clicker.apk?
A: No, you dont. You only need this if your phone does not use HTC Sense UI

Q: How do I activate this keyboard?
A: After you installed the keyboard, do long press on a text input field. Then choose HTC IME Mod as input method. You need to do this just once.

Q: Does pinch to zoom still work with this keyboard?
A: Yes, it does work.

Q: Does the phone need to be connected to the internet to use voice input?
A: Yes

Q: But, the voice input still does not work! I pressed the voice input button and nothing came up.
A: Make sure your "voice search" is functioning, press the "Search" hardware button. If you don't see voice search icon then install this:
http://code.google.com/p/voicesearch/
Install only the VoiceSearch 2.1

Q: How to upgrade from old release to new release?
A: Use app manager like EStrongs or ASTRO then choose upgrade

Create your own keyboard themes? Go here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=654179

It is very easy, you just choose colors and upload image, done!

Example:


Last edited by gogol; 1st June 2011 at 08:23 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to gogol For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th April 2010, 03:15 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
1,130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
let me get this clear, is this the default sense keyboard but with voice input button?
14th April 2010, 03:19 PM   |  #3  
gogol's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
3,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
This is a modification of the HTC Sense keyboard, yes you are correct.

The modification adds some more nice features + bug fixes of HTC code.

Which also enable voice input.

In the past, we cannot install this on HTC Desire because it requires root.
But now you can, jonasl made some more changes to make it works as "external 3rd party" keyboard like "Better Keyboard" for example.

When you install this, your current default original HTC Sense keyboard will not be replaced.

So, it is safe! You can choose

Quote:
Originally Posted by cez10

let me get this clear, is this the default sense keyboard but with voice input button?

14th April 2010, 03:24 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
1,130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
great so to install it i just need to install the low and high res files and guess reboot or ?
14th April 2010, 03:28 PM   |  #5  
blackfox888's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
can I install this beside the Verizon 2.1 Keyboard which is also installed on my phone? I prefer the stock keyboard to have mic input.
Last edited by blackfox888; 14th April 2010 at 03:32 PM.
14th April 2010, 03:31 PM   |  #6  
blackfox888's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cez10

great so to install it i just need to install the low and high res files and guess reboot or ?

I think you don't install both hires and lowres its one or the other depend on resolution of screen. in our case hires version. correct me if im wrong.
14th April 2010, 03:37 PM   |  #7  
blackfox888's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
I'm going to give this a try...

looking at the voice search included in verizon 2.1 keyboard, this is higher version than voicesearch_2.1.apk (v1.50 compare to v1.40). gonna try installing it beside verizon 2.1 keyboard.
14th April 2010, 03:44 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
works great, though struggles with the scottish accent
14th April 2010, 03:58 PM   |  #9  
blackfox888's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
works great. now I can select 3 different keyboard gonna stick with HTC IME Mod Keyboard. thanks
Last edited by blackfox888; 14th April 2010 at 04:10 PM.
14th April 2010, 03:59 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
1,130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
yeah also works for me and loving it now i only need a shortcut to change language

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes