FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

New Windows Mobile Bing App! Updated 04/14/2010 Cab Inside.

1,185 posts
Thanks Meter: 37
 
By acidbath5546, Senior Member on 14th April 2010, 06:39 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
New Windows mobile Bing app is here!
No clear changlog is out yet.

"It's almost difficult to say how many Windows Phone owners prefer to use Microsoft's own Bing app as opposed to Google's. Luckily for those users who happily rely on using the Bing app, there is an update that brings the app to version 5.1.2010. It's unfortunate that Verizon Windows Phone owners can't get in on this update – that's because it only is available to Windows Phones on AT&T, Sprint, and T-Mobile. It's not to say that it's a bad thing for those Verizon owners because it looks to be only a maintenance update and doesn't really offer anything exciting..........."

source: Twitter via WMExperts

I uploaded the Cab here so everyone can download...even us Verizon users that got left out
This cab is for Windows Mobile 6.1 or 6.5.

Cheers!
Attached Files
File Type: cab Bing.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (1.64 MB, 2098 views)
 
 
15th April 2010, 04:52 PM |#2  
sutt359's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag In WP Land
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
If its any help this is version

Bing Mobile 5.1.2010.3290

Previous was
5.0.11249.0

Its alot quicker than the previous version and they have moved the menus to the bottom. I cant see much change.
15th April 2010, 05:40 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 148
 
More
I still prefer the old Bing/Live Search layout and configuration.

Movie times used to be so easy to browse, with the new style it does a bing search instead of getting the data from a provider. I think MS decided to cheap out. It's now basically useless in my books.
15th April 2010, 09:24 PM |#4  
acidbath5546's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutt359

If its any help this is version

Bing Mobile 5.1.2010.3290

Previous was
5.0.11249.0

Its alot quicker than the previous version and they have moved the menus to the bottom. I cant see much change.

Thanks.




Quote:
Originally Posted by bobzero

I still prefer the old Bing/Live Search layout and configuration.

Movie times used to be so easy to browse, with the new style it does a bing search instead of getting the data from a provider. I think MS decided to cheap out. It's now basically useless in my books.

Yeah me as well...
If they could combine the Style/look of the new with the functionality of the older one...they would have a winner
15th April 2010, 11:05 PM |#5  
lohtse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Doesn't work on my kiaser states it is running on an unsopported device advises to install old version then closes!!
16th April 2010, 12:11 AM |#6  
acidbath5546's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lohtse

Doesn't work on my kiaser states it is running on an unsopported device advises to install old version then closes!!

Thats lame....but in all fairness it is time for you to get a newer phone! jke
16th April 2010, 04:25 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thanks! I didn't even know this was the new Bing app. Never tried it before since the cabs I tried a while ago never worked. Too bad we can't have both Bing apps...
16th April 2010, 04:49 PM |#8  
acidbath5546's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by segadc

Thanks! I didn't even know this was the new Bing app. Never tried it before since the cabs I tried a while ago never worked. Too bad we can't have both Bing apps...

no problem
16th April 2010, 06:57 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Using it on my Tmobile HD2 with Energy Rom. Working fine. I was using the previous version too and can't tell if there's any change. Wish it had a functional version of voice SMS like Microsoft TellMe.
16th April 2010, 09:10 PM |#10  
acidbath5546's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phenomenon

Using it on my Tmobile HD2 with Energy Rom. Working fine. I was using the previous version too and can't tell if there's any change. Wish it had a functional version of voice SMS like Microsoft TellMe.

That would be awesome!
1st May 2010, 12:06 AM |#11  
chibixzero's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag THOUSAND OAKS
Thanks Meter: 30
 
Donate to Me
More
Here are a few screenshots of the new look, and also searching by voice works now on my htc pure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot2[1].jpg
Views:	91
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	318623   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot3[1].jpg
Views:	81
Size:	19.8 KB
ID:	318624   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot4[1].jpg
Views:	80
Size:	23.5 KB
ID:	318625   Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot5[1].jpg
Views:	76
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	318626  

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes