FORUMS

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

I/O Summary: Google Photos App

At I/O 2015, Google tackled the information problem in mobile once more, this time through … more

I/O Summary: Development, Play Store, The Next Billion

VP of Engineering Jen Fitzpatrick began talking about what Google is doing to … more

I/O Summary: Google Now on Tap

Google is all about organizing the world’s information to make it universally useful, and these … more

Block ads on your Android phone (2010-04-15)

Thanks Meter: 12
 
By phaelox, Senior Member on 15th April 2010, 10:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
29th October 2010, 10:32 AM |#121  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 713
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb474

Otherwise, I'm not sure I understand the value of this method.

This simply is the DIY method.

...some folks like to know what happens under the hood and discuss it

Regards,

scholbert
 
 
30th October 2010, 01:48 AM |#122  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scholbert

This simply is the DIY method.

...some folks like to know what happens under the hood and discuss it

Regards,

scholbert

Yes I like to know how things work under the hood too. But it did seem orignally this thread was providing a more complete hosts files than AdFree. I guess that's not the case anymore. Thanks for the explanation.
4th November 2010, 08:12 AM |#123  
nico1375's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Hello,

this makes me crazy. I tried to remount the filesystem rw, no output error so I guess it's ok.
But each time I try to copy the hosts file within the /etc, it gives me a "out of memory" error.

Anyone got a clue?


Thanks,
nico
4th November 2010, 01:23 PM |#124  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nico1375

Hello,

this makes me crazy. I tried to remount the filesystem rw, no output error so I guess it's ok.
But each time I try to copy the hosts file within the /etc, it gives me a "out of memory" error.

Anyone got a clue?


Thanks,
nico

Hi, I'm facing the 'Paste Failure: There was not enough free disk space to complete the paste operation. Please note that the free space displayed by Root Explorer (as reported by linux) is not always 100% accurate!' problem, i tried to delete the hosts file inside the system/etc but each time after i deleted and tried to paste the new hosts file, it said the hosts file already exist (the hosts file will auto generated no matter how many times i tried to delete), how weird... :|

any solution? thanks
Last edited by NetDevil2; 4th November 2010 at 01:27 PM.
4th November 2010, 01:40 PM |#125  
Val3r10's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hello. Isn't there any update for this huge /etc/hosts file ?
I realized many ads are escaping the localhost jail.
How could I track, catch & report them ?
Any netstat logger ?

Thank you very much
9th November 2010, 09:26 PM |#126  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Val3r10

Hello. Isn't there any update for this huge /etc/hosts file ?
I realized many ads are escaping the localhost jail.
How could I track, catch & report them ?
Any netstat logger ?

Thank you very much


Bump.

How do I monitor the traffic going though Android?
9th November 2010, 11:20 PM |#127  
tsheeley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Van Nuys, CA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krosenqu

Bump.

How do I monitor the traffic going though Android?

Read back a bit of posts... I asked the same thing, it's not an easy process.
23rd November 2010, 12:04 PM |#128  
Member
Flag Clacton-on-sea
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Is this still the best method for blocking ads? if so are their any upto date host lists?
23rd November 2010, 12:43 PM |#129  
Senior Member
Flag Central Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 1,156
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodsDead

Is this still the best method for blocking ads? if so are their any upto date host lists?

Hasn't changed. Either you push the hosts file yourself or install adfree as mentioned in the first post or so, it is on the market..

http://www.appbrain.com/app/adfree-a...android.adfree

You still have to have root.
27th November 2010, 09:45 AM |#130  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It's for root only?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hosts block filter ads
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes