FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

Block ads on your Android phone (2010-04-15)

107 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By phaelox, Senior Member on 15th April 2010, 10:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
10th January 2011, 11:07 PM |#151  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Hello!
Had been using this on my Rooted Nook Color and seems it is no longer working. been getting a number of different errors, some of which come and go but generlaly don't persist, but regardless, ads keep showing up in apps that don't show ads on my DINC counyterpart.

Angry Birds
Wordfeud

The errors I get are:
java.io.EOFException
Failed to remove /system/etc hosts so it could be replaced

And one more I can't seem to recreate. I've had the error happen on 2 Nook Colors, one fresh out of box and rooted clean.

Thoughts?
at
 
 
13th January 2011, 03:15 PM |#152  
Bingley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Netherfield
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
I'm having similar problems: ads in Angry Birds etc; the AF app says it's installed, updated and working properly, but the file appears as 0.00B - empty. Any ideas?
17th January 2011, 01:38 PM |#153  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Works great thanks alot!
I am using this on my iPhone 4, perfect
18th January 2011, 02:18 PM |#154  
Bingley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Netherfield
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Update works, apart from Appbrain; thanks.
29th January 2011, 03:56 AM |#155  
Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatterBoy

The errors I get are:
java.io.EOFException
Failed to remove /system/etc hosts so it could be replaced

Looks like something is trying to delete your hosts file and create a new one/restore to default.
Maybe some app developers have cottoned-on to this and are trying to remove hosts file on install of their app, or Android updates are trying to do it?

Either way, ads in apps are bad, as phaelox has pointed out.


----

Where's our privacy gone?
10th February 2011, 05:23 PM |#156  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Impossible to get this to work on my Legend. adb just doesn't work. Get different errors depending on what commands I use.

Also root explorer way doesn't work because it keeps bitching about not having enough free space. Obviously that is total bull****.

Adfree just keeps rebooting my phone.

Any tips?
14th February 2011, 06:04 PM |#157  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Seriously, this just seems impossible.

There is no way adb or any other app allows me push or copy the damn hosts file. wget doesnt work. cp says not found. So I googled it. Need to install more stuff (why the **** isn't there a cp option by default?), install busybox, use the busybox adb, still same error.

Why why why???
15th February 2011, 06:21 AM |#158  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
hi there

is there an updated hosts file the one in the op says 2010?
16th February 2011, 10:47 AM |#159  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
**** me, I had it. Flashed a different rom to see if maybe this would allow me to edit the system folder but no. Should have known it though. How the **** anybody can write such a piece of disfunctional software is beyond me. Basically I get to rw mounting the system but that's it. Push commands? Not found. cp command? not found. Wget? not found. Same **** in Terminal ap. Or I get directory not empty errors which I can't solve either (posts in this topic don't help).

How much effort can it take to edit a ****ing hosts file? Have All OS I ever worked with this is about a 5 second job.
16th February 2011, 02:07 PM |#160  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Finally got it to work.

Now there is no way I got this working from terminal app, adb + phone booted or default recovery mode (traingle screen). However if you boot into clockwork recovery mode, manually mount system and sdcard and than use the commands from this topic it will work.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sjaak1234 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hosts block filter ads
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes