FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Block ads on your Android phone (2010-04-15)

107 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By phaelox, Senior Member on 15th April 2010, 10:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
20th April 2010, 01:55 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
what about non rooted phones? I just got myself a htc desire, I'm happy with it but would be happier if I wouldn't be required to see all those ads.
 
 
20th April 2010, 09:31 PM |#12  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Unfortunately root is required to remount /system as writable to be able to overwrite the hosts file.

Without root you could use another free app found in Market called "AdBlock", which functions as a localhost proxy. Just set localhost as proxy in APN/wifi settings. It doesn't come with a prefilled list of keywords to block though, but it works on a URL level, not FQDN, so you can specify a url or part of it to block.
21st April 2010, 02:47 PM |#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just one more quick concern about the Data Connectivity issues: Certain areas of my university require a redirect page login in order to connect to wifi. However, it seems that at certain locations, I get the Data Connectivity error pop up repeatedly and my phone never makes it to the redirect page.

Actually it seems my phone only likes the wifi in my dorm. As stepping outside (to a library or classroom) and attempting to connect to the same wifi produces the error.

Is this an issue with the hosts file or with the phone itself??

Thanks!
21st April 2010, 08:49 PM |#14  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
If you DO see the wifi redirect page at SOME locations, then the hosts file is not blocking it (wouldn't make sense as it's likely an intranet page anyway). Sounds like wifi reception is unstable on your phone.

This is getting off-topic, but..... Have you already updated your radio? (the part of the ROM that handles everything related to GSM/3G/WiFi/Bluetooth connections). If not, here for the latest radio update.zip - flash through recovery.
21st April 2010, 10:24 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phaelox

If you DO see the wifi redirect page at SOME locations, then the hosts file is not blocking it (wouldn't make sense as it's likely an intranet page anyway). Sounds like wifi reception is unstable on your phone.

This is getting off-topic, but..... Have you already updated your radio? (the part of the ROM that handles everything related to GSM/3G/WiFi/Bluetooth connections). If not, or the latest radio update.zip - flash through recovery.


I should note that I'm using a Motorola Cliq...Handler 1.5 ROM. There is a radio update available for the Motorola Cliq (I'm currently using 1.3.18 and 1.4.8 has been released) but there are some apk incompatibilities with it (particularly Swype which I love...since it's in closed beta right now, there are no accessible updates for it unfortunately).

Since I bought my phone off of ebay, I can't send it back for a new one. The essential things work but it is a bit frustrating that it has some problems.
Last edited by tmayne; 22nd April 2010 at 07:07 PM. Reason: EDIT: Reason for stalled "Starting download" is due to school's blockage of needed port
23rd April 2010, 03:34 PM |#16  
carbonyle's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmayne

I should note that I'm using a Motorola Cliq...Handler 1.5 ROM. There is a radio update available for the Motorola Cliq (I'm currently using 1.3.18 and 1.4.8 has been released) but there are some apk incompatibilities with it (particularly Swype which I love...since it's in closed beta right now, there are no accessible updates for it unfortunately).

Since I bought my phone off of ebay, I can't send it back for a new one. The essential things work but it is a bit frustrating that it has some problems.

I'm pretty sure that updating radio won't affect other softwares since "radio" is *just* the piece of code that can handle GSM/Wifi/BT/3G, ... signals
23rd April 2010, 07:27 PM |#17  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I'll always keep an open mind, but from what I know, I'm with carbonyle on this.

Back on topic:

if you come across an app that still displays ad, regardless of my hosts file, please reply in this topic with the app/version (and a logcat output would be nice if you know how) and I'll see if I can find the ad provider domain and update the hosts file.
24th April 2010, 08:02 PM |#18  
:No-Frost:'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santiago
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
I'm confused... This is for blocking apps adds???
24th April 2010, 09:39 PM |#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by :No-Frost:

I'm confused... This is for blocking apps adds???

Yes it is. See it like a firewall wich blocks mobile ads. Because the app wont recieve any response from the ad url it tries to reach, it'll simply not display the ad (like when you use the app without wifi or data connextion on)
25th April 2010, 06:47 PM |#20  
:No-Frost:'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santiago
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Wooooooo thanks... worked like a charm in glympse shazam and others =D...

PS: Air Control still have adds... Mmm how can we know what's the host for the add in the apps so we can contribute into blocking them???
Last edited by :No-Frost:; 25th April 2010 at 06:53 PM.
26th April 2010, 03:48 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carbonyle

Thanks for this How-TO!

So basicaly that mean we can restrict acces to certain websites from our phone?
eg: adding this line

Code:
127.0.0.1 forum.xda-developers.com
and I'll no longer be able to browse XDA from my phone?

Keep writing such How-To, like this one and the one to sign update.zip, I found this interessant and usefull

Yes, essentially.

*BRIEF EXPLANATION OF HOSTS FILE FOR Non-technical folks* aka HOSTS 101

You are basically telling your phone (same works on your computer, FYI), that for a specific address, go to a specific location. We point it to 127.0.0.1 (this is a standard computer setting that is commonly known as localhost - it's defined as the device itself) as it is the most simple but you can also point things elsewhere. 169.0.0.1 and 192.168.1.1 will both work as well. You can't just put 0, you have to put all 4 parts of the numerical (IP) address. as in xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx. (you know, like 192.168.1.1 or whatever your IP is at whatismyip.com).

You're not really defining a site though, you're more defining everything that connects to that address. So you're not really blocking an ad specifically, you're blocking where the ad is downloaded aka that specific website/server. The list is huge because there are tons of sites that post ads, and lots of them have multiple names. Meanwhile, since it's a just a text list having a huge list doesn't affect your performance at all unless you had about 10-50 times more sites than the current host file has, which is like 20 thousand. So with maybe 200 thousand to 5 million, it might affect it - but that's super unlikely to be necessary. Remember, you already have a host list, we're just modifying it. This affects any connections on your device, not just the browser. Applications that say "open this website" will basically check the hosts file first, as well. So that's how you can block admob, etc. Remember, sites pay money monthly to have an address that you can go to over the net, so these kinds of things don't change that often and adding another 1 or 2 is not a difficult matter.

*extra stuff*:
For those who want to, you can also make a specific word go to a location as well. You could add for example google = 72.14.204.99 . This would mean you don't need to add www or .com at the end, that merely typing google and pressing go would send the device to google.com. Considering we have bookmarks anyway, this is useless on a pc but probably more useful on a phone. When you do this without putting it in your host file, you get to google anyway, but it takes longer. Reason is that your phone does a search for the word/words you're looking for and then either takes you to the site or takes you to google search results for that word.
Last edited by designerfx; 26th April 2010 at 03:52 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hosts block filter ads
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes