FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Block ads on your Android phone (2010-04-15)

107 posts
Thanks Meter: 12
 
By phaelox, Senior Member on 15th April 2010, 10:52 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
3rd September 2011, 11:29 PM |#241  
VerizonKoolaid's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Question FireStarter for android??
Is there an android gui IPtables app? to block ads servers by ip address where FQDN is not an option

FireStarter for android??
http://www.fs-security.com/
 
 
30th September 2011, 06:07 AM |#242  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sorry for the dumb question, but I assume the program have to run to block the ads, right? If I turn it on, the ads coming back?
12th October 2011, 08:35 PM |#243  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Wow, thanks a lot for this. Works like a charm. I even tried putting adsense into a sample app with your hosts file. Blocks perfectly
15th October 2011, 12:31 PM |#244  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
worked!! thanks
19th October 2011, 08:27 PM |#245  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
adfree error
I keep getting this error, unable to locate a partition to remount to write the host file to. I don't know what to do. EVO 4G mikg 2.xx
22nd October 2011, 07:02 PM |#246  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,049
 
More
Hi, I'm using an SGS+ (i9001) and either Ad-Free nor the manual pushing of the hosts file is giving success in blocking adds. Host file is in /etc folder and >800kb.

Any ideas?

Thanks
26th October 2011, 10:03 AM |#247  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Question
Hi guys, this wonderful software using hosts file where someone place news website lenta.ru (russian website for news agency I read every day) with the last update. As far I'm completely newbie in android it took me about hour and half to find out why the website down, but working on my laptop. Finally I deleted the line with lenta.ru from hosts but I'm afraid it will be there with new update.

Is it possible to create some "white list" for the application to avoid editing hosts after every updates? I'd like to include in "white list" some other website, for instance gravatar.
6th November 2011, 01:08 AM |#248  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Hi, I would like to not used adfree anymore. What should I do ?

I'm already uninstalling the application but it still blocked my ads. I can't access some ads that I need.

Note : In the host file still had many blocked links.

*Problem Solved
Last edited by gyverd; 6th November 2011 at 01:27 AM.
9th November 2011, 04:05 AM |#249  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Thumbs up
Adfree improved my Angry Birds play on my sucky Spice to be a bit more tolerable, especially with Seasons.

Looking at some remaining ads I found that rovio1.appads.com also needs to be included in the hosts file, so it was not entirely perfect in blocking its ads. I added it manually to my hosts and the last bits of ads were gone.

In looking for this I also found that Angry Birds uses Burstly for its ads, which spews enough crap to plug up my logcat in a single run.

The good side is I only need to run it every so often to update the hosts file, then I can close it and leave it like that. Its built-in web server is entirely optional.

All in all, this is a must-have!
20th November 2011, 02:45 PM |#250  
Junior Member
Flag Skövde
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Nice thanks!
26th November 2011, 05:10 AM |#251  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Trying to register on the website so that I can whitelist a site that by default is blocked.

Keep getting "There was a problem creating your account, please try again. If you still have problems please contact support."

Thoughts?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hosts block filter ads
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes