Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Block ads on your Android phone (2010-04-15)

OP phaelox

16th May 2010, 07:51 AM   |  #41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airbag888

A bit off topic, I have netcounter but sadly it only shows total data usage per period, I'm looking for an app that can tell me data usage PER application, cause not even browsing (only gmail sync, twitter sync (per 1hr), fb sync (per 3hrs) I get to about 90MB used per day. I want to know what app is using up my bw

SpareParts claims to do this but that is the one feature of it which has never worked for me on my gsm Hero running MCR 3.2. It does work for some people though, so probably relies on an OS or hardware feature I'm lacking.
16th May 2010, 09:15 AM   |  #42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 57
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
It's working on my N1 Thanks. It seems to have it under battery usage but when you pick details of every app listed (I dont see a lot) it the amount of bytes in and out so I suppose that's a start.
It also seems that there's a record of what app's been using the network prior to install, so I suspect there's a sort of log somewhere. I wonder if it'd be possible to know where and get an app that reads it to give details.
16th May 2010, 01:44 PM   |  #43  
petsasj's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
1,597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
I know this question might sound stupid, but i'll ask it anyway.

Does this effect persist through ROM changes (+wipes)?

I believe the answer is no (pretty sure it is), but what the heck

Thanks!
20th May 2010, 11:19 PM   |  #44  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
It might be worth while changing the default host from 127.0.0.1 to 0.0.0.0 (actually I think technically it's an 'any' address, but that only makes sense for binding a listening socket as you can connect to 'any' its dropped).

127.0.0.1 is the loopback address which means the browser will try to make a connection to the local system and waste some time. The latter is the null ip address which should just get nuked before any connection attempt.
Last edited by H3g3m0n; 20th May 2010 at 11:23 PM.
21st May 2010, 04:56 PM   |  #45  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by intronauta

Great!!

There is any possibility to apply the changes without rebooting?.
When adfree update the hosts file, reboot isn't necessary.

Well, what happens is same as with adfree: the hosts file is replaced. Just to be on the safe side, I said reboot. Very well possibly it will work straight off, without rebooting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by petsasj

I know this question might sound stupid, but i'll ask it anyway.

Does this effect persist through ROM changes (+wipes)?

I believe the answer is no (pretty sure it is), but what the heck

Thanks!

You are correct, it does not persist when factory resetting or flashing new rom. The /etc directory is part of the system volume which gets wiped.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3g3m0n

It might be worth while changing the default host from 127.0.0.1 to 0.0.0.0 (actually I think technically it's an 'any' address, but that only makes sense for binding a listening socket as you can connect to 'any' its dropped).

127.0.0.1 is the loopback address which means the browser will try to make a connection to the local system and waste some time. The latter is the null ip address which should just get nuked before any connection attempt.

As I understand it, 0.0.0.0 is a special address for interfaces that are down, and received packets sent from a (local) source not expecting a reply. Could work, but never seen anyone use it in a hosts file, which makes me wonder. No idea how TCP/IP stack would handle it. If you try it, let us know.
Last edited by phaelox; 21st May 2010 at 04:59 PM.
26th May 2010, 03:26 PM   |  #46  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 126
 
948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
will there be a new update soon
1st June 2010, 10:18 AM   |  #47  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilkPudding

It works SO well on those annoying ads. Thanks

Just in case anyone uses the terminal, the full command is as follow

Code:
su
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system 
cp hosts.for.mobile.txt /etc/hosts
mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system


it's working
i just change cp /sdcard/hosts.for.mobile.txt /etc/hosts
because i put txt on my sd card

thank you for the lecturing everyone
1st June 2010, 11:40 AM   |  #48  
Senior Member
Flag Milan
Thanks Meter: 46
 
461 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
sorry for my noobness...

using my rooted legend, with usb debug mode.
I enter the first ADB command (mount), it's ok, but the second one
adb push hosts.for.mobile.txt /etc/hosts
gives this error
failed to copy 'hosts.for.mobile.txt' to '/etc/hosts': Directory not empty

what can I do to copy this file?

btw the phone reboots itself after that error
2nd June 2010, 11:45 PM   |  #49  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
same here... any ideas?
5th June 2010, 04:46 AM   |  #50  
cryshop's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ho Chi Minh
Thanks Meter: 95
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stegg

sorry for my noobness...

using my rooted legend, with usb debug mode.
I enter the first ADB command (mount), it's ok, but the second one
adb push hosts.for.mobile.txt /etc/hosts
gives this error
failed to copy 'hosts.for.mobile.txt' to '/etc/hosts': Directory not empty

what can I do to copy this file?

btw the phone reboots itself after that error

I got this message also, failed

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
hosts block filter ads
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes