Post Reply

Fastboot remote: Not Allowed

16th April 2010, 05:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Waconia, MN
Thanks Meter: 192
 
995 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Donate to Me
More
Ok so my N1 is unlocked and is running CM ROMs fine i just do not have adb. ADB worked great back when CM was in beta but not it isn't working anymore. What i wanted to do last night was to do a fastboot erase XXX. XXX being boot/system/data. Only thing is that every time i try to do that command i get a Fastboot remote: Not allowed. If i try and flash over something using fastboot i get a Fastboot remote: unknown Error. I know my phone is connected because fastboot devices shows my phone. I am just wondering what could be causing this and how i can go about fixing it. Thanks for any help.
16th April 2010, 05:51 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 0
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
The last time I saw that error was when my service provider pushed a locked SPL in an update that rendered fastboot unusable.

This can't be a problem in Nexus though. Are you sure you see a big pink "UNLOCKED" at the very top of your bootloader?
16th April 2010, 06:23 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Waconia, MN
Thanks Meter: 192
 
995 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Donate to Me
More
Oh its there, it says unlocked on top of the bootloader as well as having the lock on the boot screen. I was hoping that by erasing and flashing the system and boot would fix adb. I have had this problem ever since CM moved to the larger boot.img files. I just don't get what it is. The phone flashes every thing fine under recovery but fastboot just doesn't work and adb only works within recovery not in the Rom.
Last edited by Prod1702; 16th April 2010 at 06:25 PM.
17th April 2010, 05:48 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 0
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Well that's really weird. Have you tried uninstalling the phone drivers from your computer and installing SDK from scratch?
28th July 2010, 08:25 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag munich
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
have you found a solution? I have the same problem. remote not allowed. I also have a rootet n1 on the top a pink font with UNLOCKED.
28th August 2010, 05:41 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 7
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Unhappy fastboot erase system -w
Hello,

actually ive got the same problem. Coming from Nightly Build (27.08.2010) and want to flash the CM6.0 (Final).

Nexus is staying in a bootloop and a fullwipe with RA doesnt make it possible to boot the CM6.0.

So i forwarded the problem as an issue to the CM Dev. He recommended to clear the System with :

fastboot erase system -w

erasing 'system'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
finished. total time: 0.066s
29th August 2010, 02:09 AM   |  #7  
Jackasaur's Avatar
Senior Member
Rainy NW
Thanks Meter: 41
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
I have the same issue. I'm thinking maybe this is why I can't flash CM6 properly. I run adb logcat and I just get a loop. :P
31st August 2010, 12:33 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Umeň
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlusOne3k

Hello,

actually ive got the same problem. Coming from Nightly Build (27.08.2010) and want to flash the CM6.0 (Final).

Nexus is staying in a bootloop and a fullwipe with RA doesnt make it possible to boot the CM6.0.

So i forwarded the problem as an issue to the CM Dev. He recommended to clear the System with :

fastboot erase system -w

erasing 'system'... FAILED (remote: not allowed)
finished. total time: 0.066s

exactly the same problem here.. any ideas?
31st August 2010, 02:27 PM   |  #9  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Amsterdam, NL
Thanks Meter: 1,504
 
5,484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Did any of you use the One-Click root method (or Unrevoked)?

That installs a custom usb driver that may not work properly with fastboot.

If this is the case, remove that driver and replace it with the one from the SDK...

May work... ?
31st August 2010, 06:25 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 7
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
I unlocked the Nexus One with fastboot oem unlock.

Did not use the "one click" method, using the Android SDK USB Drivers.

Other Option : Tried to format the "System" with Clockwork Orange Recovery - still got the bootloop.

Quote:

D/AndroidRuntime( 198):
D/AndroidRuntime( 198): >>>>>>>>>>>>>> AndroidRuntime START <<<<<<<<<<<<<<
I/AndroidRuntime( 198): Heap size: -Xmx16m
D/AndroidRuntime( 198): CheckJNI is OFF
D/dalvikvm( 198): creating instr width table
D/dalvikvm( 198): DexOpt: incorrect opt magic number (0xff ff ff ff)
D/dalvikvm( 198): Stale deps in cache file; removing and retrying
W/dalvikvm( 198): Size mismatch on inflated file (1375125 vs 1376936)
E/dalvikvm( 198): Unable to extract+optimize DEX from '/system/framework/services.jar'
D/dalvikvm( 198): Unable to process classpath element '/system/framework/services.jar'
D/AndroidRuntime( 198): --- registering native functions ---
E/JNIHelp ( 198): Native registration unable to find class 'com/android/server/Watchdog'
E/AndroidRuntime( 198): Unable to register all android natives

Best regards, Alex.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes