Post Reply

[APP] Windows Phone 7 like notifications (experimental)

18th April 2010, 01:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 547
 
1,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hello! Here's an experimental application I've been working on as a side project. I'm not sure whether or not I'll continue it, but I thought I'd share what I have so far.

This application will display the Windows Phone 7 style notification using the top bar on the top coming down and displaying the notification. The current application you are using will be paused until you either ignore or view the notification.

To view the notification, click on the blue bar.
To ignore the notification, double-tap anywhere that is NOT the blue bar (grayed out screen).

Here's an example:

BEFORE:


AFTER:


To use it, simply install the CAB file below. Then run it from the start menu, and keep it running in the background.
Also, disable any "Display message on screen" options for your current notifications.

Currently the only supported notifications are New Email and New SMS.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2J8OfYfcP7Y
Download: http://windowsphonehacker.com/wp7_no..._6.5_ca85f.php
Last edited by Jaxbot; 18th April 2010 at 02:36 PM.
18th April 2010, 04:06 AM   |  #2  
bigfoune's Avatar
Senior Member
PARIS
Thanks Meter: 35
 
385 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
dd
hello jaxbot .. it's a good idea .. i like your job thx
18th April 2010, 05:15 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
498 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
to be honest the splash screen ruins it; i hope that's just because it's an early version. It also didn't distinguish between email and text when i tested... still said text when i got a new email. nice idea though... future version should auto-start with winmo imo.
18th April 2010, 09:41 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
If u add in the support for misscall as well, it would be perfect already
very nice app tho
18th April 2010, 12:50 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Not for 23544
This doesn't work on 6.5.3 (build 23544)
18th April 2010, 01:16 PM   |  #6  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 547
 
1,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdfamily

This doesn't work on 6.5.3 (build 23544)

It runs on 6.5.3 fine for me, not sure what build I have though.
18th April 2010, 01:18 PM   |  #7  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 547
 
1,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orlandojumpoff

to be honest the splash screen ruins it; i hope that's just because it's an early version. It also didn't distinguish between email and text when i tested... still said text when i got a new email. nice idea though... future version should auto-start with winmo imo.

It can auto-start with Winmo if you add a shortcut to your startup folder. And also, the splash screen is only there because it's not set to hide as soon as it runs. I'll see about removing it in later versions.

Also, I'm not sure about the text/email issue, I'll look into it.

-What other notifications should be added? Missed call is a good one I suppose, but what should it link to?
18th April 2010, 01:41 PM   |  #8  
teorouge's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Trento
Thanks Meter: 202
 
2,166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxbot

It can auto-start with Winmo if you add a shortcut to your startup folder. And also, the splash screen is only there because it's not set to hide as soon as it runs. I'll see about removing it in later versions.

Also, I'm not sure about the text/email issue, I'll look into it.

-What other notifications should be added? Missed call is a good one I suppose, but what should it link to?

Missed calls Sense tab!
18th April 2010, 01:45 PM   |  #9  
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 547
 
1,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teorouge

Missed calls Sense tab!

I can't do that, because not everybody has Sense. Also, I need an actual EXE file to link to. I'll do some looking around.
18th April 2010, 01:51 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
It runs
OK, it runs now (running the program at startup)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes