5,600,571 Members 33,412 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

no recovery after root 1 click! help!

Tip us?
 
Musenkishi
Old
(Last edited by Musenkishi; 21st April 2010 at 04:14 PM.) Reason: more accurate title
#1  
Musenkishi's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default no recovery after root 1 click! help!

Really need some help guys. I have no recovery at all...
So i used the root in 1 click option... seems like I have root on my tattoo as I see # in adb shell (id shows root uid 0)... but I think I saw some error when it installed the custom recovery image and I can't seem to get access to it.
When I try to reboot into recovery it just freezes on the Tattoo-logo.
If I try to install recovery again with RecoveryTattoo.bat it just says that the header is fine and won't overwrite.
I got ahold of a flash_image binary from mainfram3 that overwrites even though the header is fine but this is the results:
Code:
# cd /data/local/bin
# ./flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery1click.img (recovery.img from rtattoo\sdcard)
No luck there... I get the message:
Code:
mtd: erase failure at 0x001c0000 (Input/output error)
mtd: erase failure at 0x001c0000 (Input/output error)
mtd: skipping write block at 0x001c0000
Any help is appreciated. I have root but no recovery and I want that so I can put in a new ROM.
 
coolbits
Old
(Last edited by coolbits; 21st April 2010 at 12:28 PM.)
#2  
coolbits's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 268
Join Date: Jan 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Did you try to boot to recovery, what happens?

Try to flash the recovery image again...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=649276
Linux - BeRoot
Windows - ReBoot
 
Musenkishi
Old
#3  
Musenkishi's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbits View Post
Did you try to boot to recovery, what happens?

Try to flash the recovery image again...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=649276
When I try to boot to recovery the screen freezes at the Tattoo-logo (not HTC).
Same error with the recovery-RA-tattoo-v1.6.2.img...
 
Musenkishi
Old
#4  
Musenkishi's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2009
Seriously... I tried to re-flash it with RUU_Click_HTC_WWE_1.67.405.6_WWE_release_signed_No Driver.exe and it just got stuck on the htc-logo.
I cant get custom recovery and I can't restore to stock... I'm stuck with root and therefore no warranty... I need all the help I can get!
 
Musenkishi
Old
(Last edited by Musenkishi; 26th April 2010 at 01:14 AM.)
#5  
Musenkishi's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2009
Okay, I got one step further. The reason that it stopped at the htc-logo is that I had the wrong drivers for my Win 7 x64 (usb 171 error) but I changed the driver to My HTC on BOTH bootloader and phone.
Now I tried to flash with RUU again (with gold card of course) and surprise! it went beyond the htc-logo and REBOOTED less than a second later... nothing happened.
I'm STILL stuck with no recovery... any help is appreciated.

EDIT: Succesful RUU-flash. Don't know why but I tried a second time and then it worked. I hate when things change their mind on their own... but oh well, I'm back to stock at least. Giving root + recovery another try.

EDIT 2: Ok, back to first problem. It still get the erase failure at 0x001c0000 so i guess it's hardware related? I do get a regular reboot at every 3rd or 4th day if that matters...
 
doramon
Old
(Last edited by doramon; 4th April 2011 at 03:16 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
EDIT 2: Ok, back to first problem. It still get the erase failure at 0x001c0000 so i guess it's hardware related? I do get a regular reboot at every 3rd or 4th day if that matters...
Got same error at address 0x00260000...
Have you solved it?
 
LosLanges
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vienna
did you try to flash RUU via hboot ?

Power on your phone while holding down the Volume Down button and the pressing the trackpad.

and then double click the exe file on the desktop ? usb has to be attached of course
 
niruzz
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 101
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musenkishi View Post
Okay, I got one step further. The reason that it stopped at the htc-logo is that I had the wrong drivers for my Win 7 x64 (usb 171 error) but I changed the driver to My HTC on BOTH bootloader and phone.
Now I tried to flash with RUU again (with gold card of course) and surprise! it went beyond the htc-logo and REBOOTED less than a second later... nothing happened.
I'm STILL stuck with no recovery... any help is appreciated.

EDIT: Succesful RUU-flash. Don't know why but I tried a second time and then it worked. I hate when things change their mind on their own... but oh well, I'm back to stock at least. Giving root + recovery another try.

EDIT 2: Ok, back to first problem. It still get the erase failure at 0x001c0000 so i guess it's hardware related? I do get a regular reboot at every 3rd or 4th day if that matters...
that was exactly the problem I have. sometimes it loop at the logo sometimes it freeze at htc green robot. I just keep flashing again and again and it worked.
 
doramon
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by LosLanges View Post
did you try to flash RUU via hboot ?

Power on your phone while holding down the Volume Down button and the pressing the trackpad.

and then double click the exe file on the desktop ? usb has to be attached of course
yes...i've flashed official RUU in hboot putting CLICIMG.zip in sdcard cause a 170 error using .exe. but then when i ran 1click the same error appear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by niruzz View Post
that was exactly the problem I have. sometimes it loop at the logo sometimes it freeze at htc green robot. I just keep flashing again and again and it worked.
i've already tried several time but nothing...
Flashed correctly boot, i have # su grant but can't flash recovery
 
doramon
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by LosLanges View Post
did you try to flash RUU via hboot ?

Power on your phone while holding down the Volume Down button and the pressing the trackpad.

and then double click the exe file on the desktop ? usb has to be attached of course
yes...i've flashed official RUU in hboot putting CLICIMG.zip in sdcard cause a 170 error using .exe. but then when i ran 1click the same error appear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by niruzz View Post
that was exactly the problem I have. sometimes it loop at the logo sometimes it freeze at htc green robot. I just keep flashing again and again and it worked.
i've already tried several time but nothing...
Flashed correctly boot, i have # su grant but can't flash recovery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more