Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,867 Members 41,177 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Android on Omnia 2

Tip us?
 
blkcliostu
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 21
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Android on Omnia 2

All credit to 'Rufik'

Everything in it is prepared to boot Android straight from SD Card & internal memory - no need to make linux (ext2/3) partition at all. Quick guide:
1. unpack files and put haret.exe, zImage, initrd.cpio.gz, default.txt into root directory of your Omnia's SD Card (Storage Card)
2. put rootfs.img into root directory of your internal memory (My Storage)
3. run haret.exe and click "run"
4. you should see damn small haret's fonts, crc checking should pass with success, haret will jump into kernel
5. now kernel is booting, many messages and logo are visible. I've set a 10sec delay before mounting root filesystem, so you can see message that mmcblk has been found and partitions printed out
6. any failure within kernel booting ends up with kernel panic and phone restart after 30 seconds
7. successful booting results in some long-last message and "android" animation
8. in minute or two you will see desktop

rapidshare.com/files/381541433/andromnia2_alpha_pack.zip

modaco.com/content-page/298997/android-on-omnia-2/page/700/
 
fireburn
Old
#2  
fireburn's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 66
Join Date: Dec 2005
Just tested this ... booting very nice ... a very nice start but still need a lot of work but a very nice begining..


Keep up the good work
 
dac2009
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireburn View Post
Just tested this ... booting very nice ... a very nice start but still need a lot of work but a very nice begining..


Keep up the good work
do you have the usa version omnia 2. i just tried putting it on my i920 and got it to load up but that was bout it. only displayed in landscape mode and keep switching between linux boot up and android home screen... any help???
 
fireburn
Old
#4  
fireburn's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 66
Join Date: Dec 2005
nop european version (Portuguese).. it seems to work very well for an alpha version .. screen flicker and some programs that dont work ... but android is booting ...
 
Willis111
Old
#5  
Willis111's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 681
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by dac2009 View Post
do you have the usa version omnia 2. i just tried putting it on my i920 and got it to load up but that was bout it. only displayed in landscape mode and keep switching between linux boot up and android home screen... any help???
That's all that's working at the moment. Hopefully phone and data wont be too far away.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrapMaker View Post
I work for AMD, and that's exactly how it's done... You manufacture a large batch of silicon, and based on testing, you separate the chips based on highest stable speed. We simply clock them lower and label them with another model number. This has been done since the beginning...
 
hotosega
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2010
Could you upload to other website. it's getting stuck on 20% everytime
 
fireburn
Old
#7  
fireburn's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 66
Join Date: Dec 2005
try going to modaco .. theres more links there
 
devya
Old
#8  
devya's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Singapore
Very nice.. i have tried it.. very nice
Best Regards

Devy
 
Silent1990
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jul 2007
Omnia 2 is the same like samsung jet S8000?
 
fireburn
Old
#10  
fireburn's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 66
Join Date: Dec 2005
the samsung jet and the omnia2 have nothing in common they only seem a like...

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...