How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HTC NaviPanel

OP MacCarron

30th April 2010, 03:16 PM   |  #1  
MacCarron's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Treviso
Thanks Meter: 145
 
518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Hi there, i extracted and signed the HTC Navigation Panel currently available on the Droid Incredible if anyone is interested. I tried it on my Desire and it works like a charm . Personally i find it more eye candy that the Nexus One CarDock application.

EDIT: I managed to mod the apk to run the hacked maps[brut] (of course you need to have them installed first ). See attachments



credits to: Brul.all for his great work on his hacked maps
Attached Files
File Type: apk HtcNaviPanel-signed.apk - [Click for QR Code] (447.3 KB, 7025 views)
File Type: apk HtcNaviPanel-mod-signed.apk - [Click for QR Code] (428.9 KB, 3883 views)
Last edited by MacCarron; 30th April 2010 at 08:50 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to MacCarron For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th April 2010, 03:22 PM   |  #2  
mojavaid36's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
looks Amazing.....
Droooooooooooooollllllllllll.....................
30th April 2010, 03:33 PM   |  #3  
endursa's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Linz
Thanks Meter: 260
 
828 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
which app is called on the navigate button?
30th April 2010, 03:35 PM   |  #4  
MacCarron's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Treviso
Thanks Meter: 145
 
518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by endursa

which app is called on the navigate button?

Google Maps, yeah i know . I'm working on calling the hacked maps[brut]:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=630887

Or possibly even other navigation apps, but my coding is pretty rusty so no guarantees . If anyone skilled enough cares to jump in he's nothing but welcome
30th April 2010, 04:11 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCarron

Google Maps, yeah i know . I'm working on calling the hacked maps[brut]:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=630887

Or possibly even other navigation apps, but my coding is pretty rusty so no guarantees . If anyone skilled enough cares to jump in he's nothing but welcome

Looks pretty good, would be nice if we could launch CoPilot or choose our own shortcuts. Footprints is of no use to me, but GPStatus would be
30th April 2010, 04:21 PM   |  #6  
MacCarron's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Treviso
Thanks Meter: 145
 
518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottland

Looks pretty good, would be nice if we could launch CoPilot or choose our own shortcuts. Footprints is of no use to me, but GPStatus would be

Updated with maps[brut] mod. At least now we can actually use a navigator regardless of where we live . I'm trying with Sygic now, but it doesn't quite look as straightforward...

Scottland you have pvt
30th April 2010, 04:32 PM   |  #7  
mojavaid36's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCarron

Updated with maps[brut] mod. At least now we can actually use a navigator regardless of where we live . I'm trying with Sygic now, but it doesn't quite look as straightforward...

Scottland you have pvt

Sweet. Good work man.
Regards
Mo
30th April 2010, 06:42 PM   |  #8  
ninja.rogue's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Modena
Thanks Meter: 8
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
My compliments, MacCarron
does voice search work here in Italy?
Sadly, I couldn't manage it to work...
Also, does the panel also work horizontally?
30th April 2010, 07:39 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Bournemouth
Thanks Meter: 0
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
This is awesome, thank you!

What other apps does the Incredible have that the Desire lacks?
30th April 2010, 08:44 PM   |  #10  
MacCarron's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Treviso
Thanks Meter: 145
 
518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja.rogue

does voice search work here in Italy?
Sadly, I couldn't manage it to work...
Also, does the panel also work horizontally?

The panel seems to work only in portrait mode..Voice search works if you have installed the proper apk, but it is configured to recognize the english language. So it can be very useful while surfing the internet on global websites, utterly useless as far a navigation is concerned unless you have set english as the phone main language . I'm attaching the voice search apk just in case.

@Ramedge

I think this is the only one, i haven't really looked deep into the firmware though.

I'm still working on editing the shortcuts, as i said my java is very rusty
Attached Files
File Type: apk VoiceSearch_2.1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (432.0 KB, 436 views)
Last edited by MacCarron; 30th April 2010 at 08:49 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes