Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

android 2.1, Japanese support or not?

OP sjaak1234

30th April 2010, 09:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Hi there,

I've been trying to find a definitive answer for this some time now but I can't seem to find one.

Does android 2.1 support a japanese IME? If I use google it tells me this: http://developer.android.com/sdk/android-2.1.html

Which means that there is a Japanese IME. Atleast there is one for devs... But when I get my HTC Legend from Europe will it also come with the IME and keyboard installed? I know that in case its not there are some keyboards on the market but what I've seen on it they don't seem to be that good. Or could a app like more locale trick anroid into displaying the keyboard?
1st May 2010, 05:07 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
If I remember correctly the japanese IME from the Japanese Magic set is floating about.
Do a search for iWnnIME. (Note: no font replacement necessary, the Droid Fallback font has Japanese inside)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=526085
http://my.opera.com/wiz/blog/2009/06...ime-on-android (this seems to work on my unit, don't know about you...)

Note that this does NOT fix a bug that's been around since 1.6 that affects your music player. The Android Media Scanner software doesn't handle non-English characters correctly, and hasn't done so for, um, ever.
Last edited by Ultimate Chicken; 1st May 2010 at 05:22 AM.
2nd May 2010, 01:08 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Yes I found that site too. But it seemed I found a older article as the one I read before said you had to have a rooted device. Now the legend is also rooted but still... it wasnt when I first read it

I dont have my legend yet, it should be coming next week so I don't really understand what I have to do yet (I suppose I just have to boot the sdk app on the phone and type in the commands?) but I'm sure that will become more clear when I got the phone.
16th May 2010, 07:58 PM   |  #4  
eduncan911's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 23
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
*bump*

Before ordering the Sprint HTC EVO, I would like to know this too.
16th May 2010, 11:28 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
simeji
search the Market for an app called simeji, its a full IME with a bunch of options, my g/f loves it!
4th June 2010, 03:12 AM   |  #6  
eduncan911's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 23
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by djiandunn

search the Market for an app called simeji, its a full IME with a bunch of options, my g/f loves it!

Awesome! That worked perfectly! FYI, for those that find this thread later on, there are many apps that come up when you search on "Simeji". At the very top should be two exact matches:

Simeji
Simeji Classic

Both have a mushroom icon.

The "Classic" version is for Andriod 1.5. The non-Classic version is for Andriod 1.6 and later.

I installed it on Andriod 2.1 today, and it worked great! Has great instructions after you install it.
5th June 2010, 02:34 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Yes I installed it too and its pretty good. But sometimes the hauptic feedback doesnt work perfectly when typing and I don't like how there doesnt seem to be a option to hide the keyboard.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes