FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

Andro Shark - Public Beta - vMarch3rd

4,666 posts
Thanks Meter: 11,146
 
By jcase, Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor on 3rd May 2010, 08:35 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=725692 <- new dump app.


EXPIRED
Please hold on for next release, this one has expired.


Andro Shark is an android packet sniffing app. It dumps all (wifi and/or 3g) traffic into a standard pcap file in /sdcard/androshark. This file can be read with wireshark, or any other application able to read pcap files.

This is the March 3rd version. This is the first public beta, so expect bugs. I will not be held responsible for damage or loss due to any software. My standard license applies, http://www.andirc.net/2010/04/standa...agreement.html.

To use Andro Shark you must agree to the above license.

Feedback/feature requests appreciated.
Last edited by jcase; 22nd July 2010 at 06:13 PM.
 
 
3rd May 2010, 09:22 PM |#2  
mothy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase

Andro Shark is an android packet sniffing app. It dumps all (wifi and/or 3g) traffic into a standard pcap file in /sdcard/androshark. This file can be read with wireshark, or any other application able to read pcap files.

This is the March 3rd version. This is the first public beta, so expect bugs. I will not be held responsible for damage or loss due to any software. My standard license applies, http://www.andirc.net/2010/04/standa...agreement.html.

To use Andro Shark you must agree to the above license.

Feedback/feature requests appreciated.

Does it need root?
3rd May 2010, 11:55 PM |#3  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 11,146
 
Donate to Me
More
Sorry, yes requires root.
4th May 2010, 02:58 PM |#4  
mothy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
crap oh well, thanks. Hopefully they can root 2.1 leaks soon.
6th May 2010, 04:56 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
No root here so I can't test it, but just a few thoughts.

Is there a way to specify a capture filter in the program? Something ala libpcap's filters "IP 192.168.1.1".

Does it get killed by the task manager if left idle for a while?
7th May 2010, 12:15 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Any way to view the .pcap output on the device?
7th May 2010, 02:21 AM |#7  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 11,146
 
Donate to Me
More
nindoja, Its based on tcpdump, and if memory manager kills it tcpdump keeps running. Its a bug and I have fixed it. I just need to get it all packaged an uploaded sometime.\


Burko,

After i have the capture part done, I will look into that.
7th May 2010, 03:58 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
hmmm great potential, but i think something is broken with mine keeps stopping each time I try to get to the browser, maybe I'm doing something wrong
7th May 2010, 04:45 AM |#9  
jcase's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 11,146
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pk198105

hmmm great potential, but i think something is broken with mine keeps stopping each time I try to get to the browser, maybe I'm doing something wrong

Possibly, I will update it this weekend. Possibly ad the ability to browse packets, or filter packets. Depends on my time. Do you happen to have autokiller or any memory management app setup?

Please report your device, and ROM back to me.
Last edited by jcase; 7th May 2010 at 04:47 AM.
7th May 2010, 12:26 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Any OS version requierements? It always says that this app cannot be installed. I have root of course and a 1.6 version.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes