Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Install debian and use lxde or Icewm.. supports others

OP Jus10o

10th May 2010, 01:21 PM   |  #1  
Jus10o's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
YOUR PHONE WILL STILL WORK DOING THIS.. ITS ALMOST LIKE RUNNING AN APP ON YOUR PHONE
I got most of my information from this site here.. I only rewrote it and shared to get it working on our cdma hero.
http://www.androidfanatic.com/compon...d=1615&catid=9
I also use files from different sources and combined them to work with our phone.

As of right now this method seems to only work with DarchDroid aosp rom. Not any htc sense roms.
Also make a ext partition and dont use apps2sd, darchdroid is set by default not to use it, only if enabled in spare parts app
If you want to try and get both debian and apps2sd to work.. Try this guide here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=509943.

First download is the files you will need OTHER then the debian.img
The main files

This one will be a big download. It contains the most important part.
The debian.img from here

Once download, open it up and only take the "debian.img" out of it.


This will put a 1.4gb file on your sdcard used for running debian not including the other files it uses to install and run it (they are very small). If you have a small sdcard and want the image smaller or want to enlarge the .img for more room. Use this tutorial here.
TO CHANGE FILE SIZE OF debian.img


Im going to be using adb on the computer. Much easy then typing commands into the phone terminal.


Put the all the files into a folder on your sdcard named debian.
First downloaded files and the debian.img from the 2nd download.

/sdcard/debian


Next you will need to make the directory it uses. For some reason its not creating it on the install

Code:
adb shell
su
mkdir /data/local/mnt

Next you need to install the debian.

Code:
cd /sdcard/debian
sh installer.sh
reboot
Then it should work after this. When your phone boots back up you need to install this APK here. This is what will actually run the desktop "lxde" or whatever you choose to install after this.

*****vnc.apk*****

To install put it in your android-sdk/tools folder.. where ever it may be installed and type...
Code:
adb remount
adb push vnc.apk /system/app
Or put it on your sdcard and install it using Astro or any other app installing app

Then run the debian you just installed by doing this

Code:
adb shell
cd /sdcard/debian
sh bootdeb
Then you need to run this script only once.
It will look like this

localhost:/#

type

Code:
cd /scripts/
sh onetime.sh
When it ask for password. Just type "android"

Open the vnc app
Fill out the information like so...

connection: just dont touch
Nickname: can leave blank
Password: android
Address: LocalHost
Port: 5901
Color: I used 24-bit, you can pick whatever you want. Its changeable from within the running desktop

Then click on Connect at the top. And everything should work.

TO USE TOUCH SCREEN.. DO THIS

click our menu button on our phone.
then click "Scaling" and select 1.1..
Then push the trackball 1 time and touch screen mouse will work



To run without using your computer. Download a terminal from the market and type this...
Code:
su
cd /sdcard/debian
sh bootdeb
Then open up your vnc app and press connect.

To use icewm.. more simple looking desktop. Runs smoother

First you need icewm while running bootdeb

Code:
localhost:/# apt-get install icewm
Then to switch between ice and ldxe do this in terminal on your phone. This is actually easy do to using the trackball
Code:
localhost:/# nano /root/.vnc/xstartup
Scroll down to lxsession and delete it.. then type xterm
Save changes by pressing track ball once and the letter o. Then press enter. Exit out by pressing the track ball once again and type the letter x.

Then connect using VNC.apk and it will load the new desktop.
Delete xterm and type lxsession to change back.


Click image for larger version

Name:	snap20100510_041221.jpg
Views:	744
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	324109Click image for larger version

Name:	snap20100510_050701.png
Views:	673
Size:	8.6 KB
ID:	324110
Last edited by Jus10o; 27th May 2010 at 02:25 PM.
10th May 2010, 04:54 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
omfg thank you so much. I'll try this as soon as I get home <33333
edit: I assume this fixes the permission errors I was getting on the thread I created about running the full de on the hero.
10th May 2010, 05:06 PM   |  #3  
Vrekk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Centennial
Thanks Meter: 24
 
639 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Thanks dude, thats awesome! I will have to take a look at it when I get home as well
10th May 2010, 05:24 PM   |  #4  
ARoiD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Thumbs up Linux Rules!
good one jus debian on a hero classic
Last edited by ARoiD; 10th May 2010 at 05:31 PM.
10th May 2010, 06:14 PM   |  #5  
snip3rm00n's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Jus FTW! Now I wonder if we can start doing the same for other linux distros.
10th May 2010, 06:16 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Re: Install debian and use lxde
This is pretty geek-chic, I love it.
10th May 2010, 06:20 PM   |  #7  
snip3rm00n's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Actually, I do have a question about it. Anyway to boot and use Deb without VNC?
10th May 2010, 06:23 PM   |  #8  
mkhopper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
It sounds like it's an ARM compiled, headless Debian install running in the background, which is why you need VNC to access it, correct?

Is it network aware? How fast is it?
10th May 2010, 06:41 PM   |  #9  
chalan30's Avatar
Senior Member
AUSTIN, TX
Thanks Meter: 216
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
no way...RAD!!!
10th May 2010, 07:07 PM   |  #10  
beerock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
I have tried to install following instructions using terminal on he phone......seems like I get through the install.sh ok then after reboot try to run the bootdeb and it says not found.? also I get the vnc fails when trying to connect?

I am sure i am doing something wrong but not sure what.

any suggestions?

I forgot to say THANKS Jus!
Last edited by beerock; 10th May 2010 at 07:09 PM. Reason: ocd

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cdma, debian, hero, install, vncserver
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes