Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

[TESTED 100% WORKING] Quickest way to get MR2 for those of you who can't get it!

16th May 2010, 02:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Im going to try and change my generic_SG to generic_UK after hearing its better. Requesting the extracted files for easy of access for everyone to try to change their language roms.

So this is the steps Im going to try as SOON as somebody generous can upload the extracted UK cabs:

Complete R3A Generic_UK Cab pack : http://www.megaupload.com/?d=35LZ05OO thanks to rx.


NOTE: BEFORE you do ANY of the steps below, make sure to DELETE C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Update Service\db from my computer or you won't get MR2!

1) Do clean install of WM 6.5.2 using the soft-reset during SE customization bootscreen OR just simply clear phone memory located in settings -> system -> clear phone memory.

Detailed steps:

1 Open SEUS, start a new update. EVEN IF IT SAYS YOU HAVE LATEST VERS, UPDATE IT ANYWAY.

2 ONCE IT REBOOTS, CALIBRATION SCREEN APPEARS. RIGHT AFTER CLICKING ON THE CROSSES, IT WILL APPEAR THE SONY ERICSSON LOGO, AND IT WILL START APPLYING THE CABS. PUSH THE RESET RIGHT after it starts applying (hidden behind the stilus, opening the battery cover).

3 After rebooting, the Sony Logo will appear again asking to retry. Press NO.

Credits to dreamcrawler


4) Install ALL cabs to device, soft reset.
5) Update on SEUS, it will say latest firmware already, say YES to install anyway
6) Grats on Generic_UK and hello to MR2 =)

Comments: I AM NOW AN EXTREMELY PROUD OWNER OF THE X2 NOW! NO REGRETS, GOOD JOB SE, THIS IS THE WAY THE X2 SHOULD HAVE BEEN WHEN IT WAS FIRST RELEASED! =)
Last edited by royalbloodvi; 17th May 2010 at 11:10 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to royalbloodvi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2010, 02:08 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2004
I would strongly recommend deleting all the files in this folder:

C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Update Service\db

That is where any SEUS updates that have been previously downloaded are stored.
16th May 2010, 03:04 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Thanks for the tip, I am currently in the process of installing all the cabs.

Will post results as soon as im done =)
16th May 2010, 03:17 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalbloodvi

Thanks for the tip, I am currently in the process of installing all the cabs.

Will post results as soon as im done =)

i've also given up waiting for GENERIC_SG so am giving the above a try. i'm about half way through installing the cabs.

its good to see that they have supplied us with Opera so we can choose between Opera and IE
16th May 2010, 03:25 PM   |  #5  
lyteo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalbloodvi

Im going to try and change my generic_SG to generic_UK after hearing its better, but I am hoping someone can upload the extracted cabs. I KNOW ultra has posted how to do it, but thats why I am requesting the extracted files for easy of access for everyone to try to change their language roms.

So this is the steps Im going to try as SOON as somebody generous can upload the extracted UK cabs:

1) Do steps explained in first step up to the retry but and say NO
2) Download R3A UK rom
3) Extracted cabs from UK rom on SD card
4) On clean WM install ALL cabs? (Is this necessary?)
5) Update on SEUS again, say YES
6) Hopefully it will update it to generic UK

It works that way, I had GENERIC EN, I cleaned up the phone to bare Win Mo 6.5.2 (MR1 without SE cabs), downloaded R3a Firmware, extracted the cabs, installed them, upgraded the phone via seus (forced install since SEUS reads the phone and thinks it has MR2 install), and it installed the MR2

So I have a Generic UK phone now
16th May 2010, 03:32 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2004
Excellent news, well done for taking the time and effort to trial this method.
16th May 2010, 04:03 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
969 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Currently installed all cabs, took a pretty dam long while, but now it's updating by force at the moment, hope all goes well and grats to you guys =)
16th May 2010, 04:13 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by royalbloodvi

Im going to try and change my generic_SG to generic_UK after hearing its better. Requesting the extracted files for easy of access for everyone to try to change their language roms.

So this is the steps Im going to try as SOON as somebody generous can upload the extracted UK cabs:

DELETE C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Update Service\db from my computer.

1) Do clean install of WM 6.5.2 using the soft-reset during SE customization bootscreen. NO to retry.
2) Download R3A UK rom
3) Extracted cabs from UK rom onto SD card
4) Install ALL cabs to device
5) Update on SEUS, latest firmware already, say YES to install anyway
6) Grats on Generic_UK and hello to MR2 =)

i hve given a try both UK and SG Rom. SG is better the UK with auto rotate and all
16th May 2010, 04:32 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Can you please post a link with the extracted UK cabs ?

Thanks in advance!
16th May 2010, 05:31 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
1st It works with ANY generic_UK cabs pack, older or newer

2nd Its VERY important to delete DB folder before running Update Service

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes