Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] TouchResponse Fix for new ROM [5-18-2010]

OP zim2323

17th May 2010, 06:54 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
***Over the last 2 months, I have been through more issues with T-Mobile then just the issues from the software side. I have spent the majority of that time working with them to try and fix a data connectivity issue I was having. After hard resets, ROM update, and then a site survey, T-Mobile found that the area where I live does NOT have adequate enough coverage to competently supply data coverage to my phone. Notes from the tech said that towers were noted as needed but NO BUDGET was available to deploy a new tower in the area. Because of this, the account rep I spoke to immediately offered a full refund on my unsubsidized HD2 and a refund for all services rendered to-date, including accessories for the phone. As of last night, I left T-Mobile and joined AT&T with a 32gb iPhone in preperation for the upcoming 4G. I'll either trade it in if within 30 days, or give 3GS to wife and get a 4HD on a second line. I have been a Windows Mobile user for YEARS. I still love the HD2 and would never have gotten rid of it, except for the fact I know that AT&T's Edge bands are going away to make room for 3G, and I don't want issues of trying to run HD2 on AT&T's network. I want to stress how much I LOVED the HD2. To me, the phone had a lot of improvement needed, but for what MS and HTC had to work with, it was the best Windows Mobile phone to-date, IMHO. That being said, I have lots of friends with the iPhone, our company exclusively carries it, so I also got a nice discount. I've used one from a distance several times, but never really had one that was mine to really dig into. So far, I am REALLY happy with the phone. I'll jailbreak it and start tweaking it, just like I have my Windows Mobile phones for years, but it's something new for me to play with. =) So, with that being said, I am going to retire from this thread and anybody is more then welcome to take it over. Nibbley15 might be able to do this. I'm still need to get him setup with some software issues he was having, but baby and family haven't left me with a lot of time. Nibbley15, I haven't forgot about you, I just haven't been home to get things configured yet. I'll be in touch soon.

Thanks! ZIMMAY!***


Ok, I did a lot of playing with the registry this weekend to try and get the same TouchResponse in the new ROM as I had in the old. That has really been my only compaint about the ROM.


I have finished making a CAB. Use at your own risk. I played guine pig and did this myself with no ill effects.

Here are the reg keys that are changed:

Settings from HD2Tweak:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\TouchPanel]
"PressureThreshold"=dword:000162f2

This is the setting that seems to help the most with being able to click/touch items on screen, especially the corners:[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\Setting\TouchPanel]
"FingerThreshold"=dword:00000000

Settings from HD2Tweak:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\OEM\TFLOSettings]
"FingerPressure"=dword:000249F0
"SpeedHigh"=dword:00000000
"SpeedLow"=dword:0000000e


I am still curious what the other settings that Nibbley15 found and how they relate.


***Update 5/21: Added cab to enable Screen options in System Settings to do a screen calibration.
***UPdate 5/22: Reg entry for new CAB is as follows:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\ControlPanel\Pen]
"Hide"=dword:00000000
Last edited by zim2323; 4th June 2010 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Update first post and attach CAB file
17th May 2010, 07:12 PM   |  #2  
secano's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 103
 
1,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zim2323

Ok, I did a lot of playing with the registry this weekend to try and get the same TouchResponse in the new ROM as I had in the old. That has really been my only compaint about the ROM.

Below is what I found to work for me, better then anything I've tried so far. I will be the first to warn you that I have NO IDEA what I'm really doing in relation to TouchResponse, but I do have a good understanding of the registry. The values I've applied may really be nothing more then a happy thought in my head. Though I seem to be able to actually use the close/ok buttons in the upper right part of the screen.

I can make a CAB later, but these are the settings I adjusted my settings to.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\Setting\TouchPanel]
"FingerThreshold"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Software\OEM\TFLOSettings]
"FingerPressure"=dword:000249F0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Drivers\TouchPanel]
"PressureThreshold"=dword:000162F2

I'd like to see if others could test and post what your experience is. Even better, we may get some help from the chef's to confirm, deny, correct, extrapolate, etc, etc, to find a better fix.

***Edit: Forgot to mention. While the bottom 2 did help, the first FingerThreshold settings seemed to be what made the real difference for being able to competently hit buttons without feeling like I was jackhammering the phone. =)

Thanks!

I would have to say that there would be a way to adjust the touchscreen on 2.13 as 2.10 does not have those registries...Well I'll give it a try when I upgrade to 2.13.

Thanks
17th May 2010, 07:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by secano

I would have to say that there would be a way to adjust the touchscreen on 2.13 as 2.10 does not have those registries...Well I'll give it a try when I upgrade to 2.13.

Thanks

Thanks. Personally I'm running these exact reg and it's working a million times better. But like I said, could be in my head. The only other things I changed sensitivity wise is the scrolling affects that HD2Tweak has. I'll be adding those to whatever I CAB up for a complete fix. I used SKTracker to find out which reg entries changed.
17th May 2010, 11:51 PM   |  #4  
Nibbley15's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Yes,
Thanks! Please keep the ideas flowing here. Thanks to all that are working this!
Last edited by Nibbley15; 22nd May 2010 at 08:54 PM.
18th May 2010, 12:17 AM   |  #5  
Nibbley15's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I'm posting this reply for folks that are using the 2.13 STOCK ROM and you may want to know the original settings to revert back too or other places to look for you REG peeps to look at.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\Setting\TouchPanel]
"FingerThreshold"=dword:00000000
"FingerThreshold"=dword:00000031 STOCK SETTING

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Software\OEM\TFLOSettings]
"FingerPressure"=dword:000249F0
STOCK 2.13 version doesn't have this key

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Drivers\TouchPanel]
"PressureThreshold"=dword:000162F2
STOCK 2.13 version doesn't have this key

Did find these keys:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\CONFIG\TOUCH]
"BaseThreshold" = dword: 20
"FingerThreshold"=dword:31 (0X00001F) <- NOTE:
"NoiseThreshold" = dword: 20

NOTE: if you change the key[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\Setting\TouchPanel] to "FingerThreshold"=dword:0
then this value will change to 20, hmmmm.

Other notes: I think that BaseThreshold is where it starts?
I think that the Fingerthreshold here is where it all starts from after learning?
I think that the NoiseThreshold is the amount of "noise" from your fingertouch is allowed before it recognizes before it knows your finger is really touching the screen?


2nd half of post: I'm posting this for folks that may want to know what was in the 2.10.1 STOCK ROM:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\Setting\TouchPanel]
"FingerThreshold"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Software\OEM\TFLOSettings]
"FingerPressure"=dword:000249F0
STOCK 2.10.1 version doesn't have this key

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Drivers\TouchPanel]
"PressureThreshold"=dword:000162F2
STOCK 2.10.1 version doesn't have this key

Did find these keys:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\CONFIG\TOUCH]
"BaseThreshold" = dword: 0
"FingerThreshold"=dword: 20 (0X000014) <- NOTE: now this is interresting
"NoiseThreshold" = dword: 20

This is what I recommend folks to change their 2.13 Builds to match the 2.10.1 Build for Touch Response.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\Setting\TouchPanel]
"FingerThreshold"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\CONFIG\TOUCH]
"BaseThreshold" = dword: 0
"FingerThreshold"=dword: 20 (0X000014) <- NOTE: this may change automatically on you from the above change (Setting\TouchPanel)
"NoiseThreshold" = dword: 20
Last edited by Nibbley15; 26th May 2010 at 10:24 PM.
18th May 2010, 01:20 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
i'm a newbie!!!!
can anyone tell me how cani get to those registry or what kind of program that i need to see the registry? do i need to connect with the computer to see it and change it?
Last edited by ipsaa; 18th May 2010 at 01:32 AM.
18th May 2010, 02:36 AM   |  #7  
Nibbley15's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipsaa

i'm a newbie!!!!
can anyone tell me how cani get to those registry or what kind of program that i need to see the registry? do i need to connect with the computer to see it and change it?

Hello,
I will try to put this simply, please do not mess with your registry unless you know what you are doing it can crash your phone. When we finally find the fix for this, a cab file will follow shortly. The cab file will do the work for you and you don't have to worry about killing your phone.
If you really really really want to try then please search the threads and there you will find your answers.
18th May 2010, 02:54 AM   |  #8  
Nibbley15's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Please refer to post #5
Last edited by Nibbley15; 22nd May 2010 at 08:54 PM. Reason: add info
18th May 2010, 04:53 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Erie, CO
Thanks Meter: 2
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zim2323

Ok, I did a lot of playing with the registry this weekend to try and get the same TouchResponse in the new ROM as I had in the old. That has really been my only compaint about the ROM.

Below is what I found to work for me, better then anything I've tried so far. I will be the first to warn you that I have NO IDEA what I'm really doing in relation to TouchResponse, but I do have a good understanding of the registry. The values I've applied may really be nothing more then a happy thought in my head. Though I seem to be able to actually use the close/ok buttons in the upper right part of the screen.

I can make a CAB later, but these are the settings I adjusted my settings to.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\HARDWARE\Setting\TouchPanel]
"FingerThreshold"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Software\OEM\TFLOSettings]
"FingerPressure"=dword:000249F0

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\Drivers\TouchPanel]
"PressureThreshold"=dword:000162F2

I'd like to see if others could test and post what your experience is. Even better, we may get some help from the chef's to confirm, deny, correct, extrapolate, etc, etc, to find a better fix.

***Edit: Forgot to mention. While the bottom 2 did help, the first FingerThreshold settings seemed to be what made the real difference for being able to competently hit buttons without feeling like I was jackhammering the phone. =)

Thanks!

Did you have to add the last two? I am running the release leaked on HTC last week and do not see the last two.
18th May 2010, 04:56 AM   |  #10  
Nibbley15's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
229 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmeyer4663

Did you have to add the last two? I am running the release leaked on HTC last week and do not see the last two.

I just tweaked the ones that I posted (to a 21903 2.13 BASE build);
I did not add those other 2 registry keys and it is a great improvement;
still testing myself.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes